We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad weather day”

Fall Creek Falls State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Pikeville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fall Creek Falls State Park is Tennessee’s largest and most visited state park. The park encompasses more than 26,000 acres sprawled across the eastern top of the rugged Cumberland Plateau. Laced with cascades, gorges, waterfalls, streams and lush stands of virgin hardwood timber, the park beckons those who enjoy nature at her finest. Fall Creek Falls, at 256 feet, is one of the highest waterfalls in the eastern United States. Other waterfalls within the park include Piney Falls, Cane Creek Falls and Cane Creek Cascades. Fall Creek Falls features an inn with 145 hotel rooms, a restaurant and extensive meeting space. There are also 30 cabins and 222 campsites. Backcountry camping is also available with permit. The park is home to a variety of activities suitable for visitors of all ages and abilities. Hikers can opt for short or long walks around the lake and to the base of Fall Creek Falls. There are two long distance overnight trails for adventure-seeking visitors while the day-use trails are designed to accommodate recreational and educational activities for all ages. More than 34 miles of trails can be explored. The Nature Center at Fall Creek Falls offers hands-on environmental education through a variety of naturalist led programs. Additional programs include arts and crafts, movies, campfires, organized games and live musical entertainment. In addition to individual and family environmental education, the park offers extensive programming geared to school groups. Since 1996, the Environmental Education Center has been educating and facilitating environmental education through the parks vast natural resources by offering a low cost, high quality overnight field trip for school groups. The park serves as an excellent outdoor classroom with programs designed to relate to your school's required curriculum. For more information visit Environmental Education Center or call the park office. The Fall Creek Falls Golf Course is another popular attraction. The beautiful and challenging 18-hole golf course is one of the best courses in Tennessee. The park pro shop provides golfing supplies, lessons, rental clubs and carts. The park also has four playgrounds, five covered picnic pavilions and an Olympic-sized pool with a wading area which is open Memorial Day to Labor Day.
Kilgore, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bad weather day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

While on a short Tennessee trip, I went for a quick photo trip to the park. The weather was not friendly due to the fog in the area, but I did get to see a lot of wildlife including deer, squirrels, a chipmunk, and two wild turkeys. The Falls Creek Falls overlook was very nice with only a short walk and an unobstructed view of the falls. I was disappointed since the falls was barely flowing, but I am already planning another extended visit next spring.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Fufys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    131
    30
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo Ms
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hiking Fall Creek Fall's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We love hiking and Fall Creek Falls has some great hiking trails their are not that many miles 34 or so but the views are the best I have seen anywhere. If you start out at the Nature center in the park you can see 4 or 5 Waterfalls within 4 miles or so of hiking. Beside the Nature Center you have Paw Paw Trail which is a short hike with excellent views also you have The Cable Trail which is a short hike down to the bottom of Cane Creek Falls. Directly behind the Nature Center you can walk down wooden steps to the Cane Creek Cascades which you can actually climb on. Also behind the Nature Center take the Cane Creek Gorge Trail which takes you over the Cane Creek Cascades by a cable bridge then you hike to Fall Creek Falls down the Cane Creek Gorge Trail and their are several places on this trail to overlook the Gorge and some of the views are awesome take your time and explore the side trails you can sit out on rock overlooks which are 100 of feet in the air, Continue on the Cane Creek Gorge Trail to Fall Creek Falls where you can overlook the 275 foot falls from the top also their is a trail which takes you to the bottom of Fall Creek Fall's don't miss out on it although the trail is steep the short hike to the bottom is well worth it. Back at the Fall Creek Fall's Overlook you can take the Lower Loop trail or (overnight trail) to Piney Falls which has the greatest amount of water flow and is about is 75 foot high. continue down the Lower Loop or (Overnight Trail) to the cable bridge which is very high and is over Piney Creek Gorge.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank BigdawgTupeloMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Fisherman's Cabin October 27-30th 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our cabin was exceptionally clean. Downstairs is all tile with a nice full bath, living, dining and kitchen areas. The back wall is all glass, but there are curtains to completely cover if wanted. The kitchen had plenty of new looking pots, pans, dishes, cups, glasses and silverware. Counter space is limited, but plenty of empty cabinets to store any dry goods and a nice size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, and coffee maker. The dining table will seat a large group. The living area has a full size pull out couch and two chairs. Upstairs has 2 large bedrooms, each with large open closet and even dressing areas with full length mirrors. A half bath separates the bedrooms on one end. There are also large dressers in each bedroom and 2 queen beds in each. The flooring is a worn carpet but clean. The steps up to the bedrooms are quite steep so care is needed especially for elderly, disabled or children. The back porch hangs out over the water and is covered. There is a nice metal table with chairs on the back deck. You can fish, but to cast may need to go the either end of the deck.

We enjoyed our visit. The restaurant food was OK, but went right before closing time so it had been out awhile. There is a small grocery store in the park that has everything! Everyone was very helpful, especially the lady on the Inn desk Sunday night. There was a younger desk clerk, on the night shift Tuesday night, with light hair that was all business, sort of abrupt. She was not helpful or even trying to be on 2 occasions. We were able to use our cell phones in some places, but not good cell reception. The cabins do have phones that you can receive incoming calls from family if necessary.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I visited this waterfall on our way to Pigeon Forge. The overlook is beautiful but does not compare to the view from the bottom. The waterfall itself wasn't flowing very fast, but it may not have rained much recently. The hike down takes about 30 minutes. Hiking back up takes about the same, maybe less time. It is not for the faint of heart. I'm sort of active, but hiking back up it was out of breath :) It was very quiet in the park. We also stopped at George Hole which is on the way out of the park. Very nice place to picnic etc.

Helpful?
4 Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“BEST Waterfall I have ever seen--EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Maybe, it's because it is the first waterfall I have been about to hike all the way to the base. Excellent trail and most of it railed with benches along the way for resting. I went with my 9 & 10 year old and was surprised at the ages of some of my fellow hikers! Don't miss this--really beautiful in the fall. Don't miss the Swinging Bridge hike, too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon95GCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fall Creek Falls State Park also viewed

 
Fall Creek Falls State Park, TN
 

Been to Fall Creek Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing