We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A State Park That Goes On And On And On. Huge Park.”

Fall Creek Falls State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Pikeville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fall Creek Falls State Park is Tennessee’s largest and most visited state park. The park encompasses more than 26,000 acres sprawled across the eastern top of the rugged Cumberland Plateau. Laced with cascades, gorges, waterfalls, streams and lush stands of virgin hardwood timber, the park beckons those who enjoy nature at her finest. Fall Creek Falls, at 256 feet, is one of the highest waterfalls in the eastern United States. Other waterfalls within the park include Piney Falls, Cane Creek Falls and Cane Creek Cascades. Fall Creek Falls features an inn with 145 hotel rooms, a restaurant and extensive meeting space. There are also 30 cabins and 222 campsites. Backcountry camping is also available with permit. The park is home to a variety of activities suitable for visitors of all ages and abilities. Hikers can opt for short or long walks around the lake and to the base of Fall Creek Falls. There are two long distance overnight trails for adventure-seeking visitors while the day-use trails are designed to accommodate recreational and educational activities for all ages. More than 34 miles of trails can be explored. The Nature Center at Fall Creek Falls offers hands-on environmental education through a variety of naturalist led programs. Additional programs include arts and crafts, movies, campfires, organized games and live musical entertainment. In addition to individual and family environmental education, the park offers extensive programming geared to school groups. Since 1996, the Environmental Education Center has been educating and facilitating environmental education through the parks vast natural resources by offering a low cost, high quality overnight field trip for school groups. The park serves as an excellent outdoor classroom with programs designed to relate to your school's required curriculum. For more information visit Environmental Education Center or call the park office. The Fall Creek Falls Golf Course is another popular attraction. The beautiful and challenging 18-hole golf course is one of the best courses in Tennessee. The park pro shop provides golfing supplies, lessons, rental clubs and carts. The park also has four playgrounds, five covered picnic pavilions and an Olympic-sized pool with a wading area which is open Memorial Day to Labor Day.
maitland, florida
Level Contributor
305 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“A State Park That Goes On And On And On. Huge Park.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I went exploring waterfalls and this was one of my picks. The Park was so big and spread out. It had a lot of neat little areas to explore. One was the Gorge Hole which had a swinging bridge that a bunch of kids were jumping off of. There was all sorts of swimming activities and a golf course. This is definitely a destination place for the whole family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpeacock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    131
    30
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average Camping/ Awesome Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I gave FCF 4 instead of 5 based on crowded camping conditions. Many sites are right on top of each other. I recommend reserving a site online. This not only secured our site, but we were able to see photos and get an idea of the site layout. We picked a semi- private site backed to the woods. The park itself should keep you busy for quite awhile. One reviewer stated that once you see the waterfalls, there is nothing more to do. I disagree. If 6 waterfalls in a large state park doesn't satisfy you, I doubt anything will. There is swimming at George Hole, swimming at the pool, hiking everywhere, fishing in the creeks, fishing in the lake (where I caught 2 nice catfish), renting boats on the lake, playing games at the rec center, basketball, tennis, golf, visiting the nature center, or eating in the restaurant. If you don't prefer camping, you can stay at the inn or one of the cabins. I highly recommend this park, but only through online reservations.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CRAIG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Camping, RV, Cottage, Inn, Pool & Falls...The Park has it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Camped in the "C" camping area which was mostly tents with a few pop-ups. Reservations were done on-line through the State Park system and check in was easy. Drove around and checked out all other available lodging and all looked inviting. Olympic sized pool with 2 diving boards! ($4pp or 1/2 off if you show a reciept for camping) Waterfalls were all great and scenic drive offered nice vistas and photo ops. Trail down to Fall Creek Falls is very steep and rocky but work the effort. You can buy a nice walking stick at the General Store for a reasonable price. Walk to Cane Creek Falls Overlook and Cascade Falls from the Nature Center was very easy. Just up the road from the Nature Center is George Hole which is very popular for swimming and looked very inviting. There was significant rain the previous week so swimming at some fall areas was not possible but the flow of water was spectacular. At the bottom of the Fall Creek Falls it was like I was in a hurricane. Easy to find your way around the park and we will go back. Freinds say the frozen falls in winter is worth the trip as well. Will attach some pictures.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PopPop-Nee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved all of the falls and scenery here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Clean and beautiful park with plenty of views, great hiking trails too. Best hiking trip I've been on so far!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adambomb95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hiking and Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had the good fortune of visiting Fall Creek Falls on a rare cool weekend in early-May, after heavy rains. It was truly impressive. All the short hikes in the center of the park are definitely worth doing, and there are 6 waterfalls and lots of overlooks to keep your interest, as well as a couple of swinging bridges. Fall Creek Falls (one of many waterfalls claimed to be the "tallest in the east") is beautiful, but it's the smaller Cane Creek and Rockhouse Falls that really take the cake. If you can hack it, the short but difficult Cable Trail is absolutely worth the long climb down to the base of the falls.

My main suggestions are to go as soon after a rain as possible (several of the smaller falls are low flow), and avoid camping if there is any chance of thunderstorms (the campground is on a hill). The only negative for us was that we saw tons of poison ivy along the Paw-Paw Trail, so watch out there, especially if you have children. I camped out so I can't speak for the Inn or Golf Course, but the natural part of the park was fantastic.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alec N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fall Creek Falls State Park also viewed

 
Fall Creek Falls State Park, TN
 

Been to Fall Creek Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing