We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel stay in many years...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Ranked #75 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Altoona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Worst hotel stay in many years...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

I am a priority club member so booked the room from the Holiday Inn website. Spent the previous night at Holiday Inn Express in Flat Rock, NC. This Holiday Inn in Pigeon Forge looks old from the outside. There is a good sized addition going on for conference rooms I think.

I could deal with the remodel...concrete floor in the lobby, etc, but our room on the first floor was atrocious. Very out dated, smelly, old bedding, globs of plaster on the walls in the bathroom. A "Non-smoking room" that someone smoked in, probably years ago, it was stale and awful. We checked in late so just dealt with it and left in the early morning.

We spent about half the day in the Smokey Mountain NP then headed for home. This was the tail end of a 10-day family vacation to FL, GA, SC, NC, TN...

We were so unhappy after that night, that we drove 14 hrs back to Wisconsin. I'll be contacting Holiday Inn directly as well as the owners in Pigeon Forge. If they don't comp me a night, I'll never stay at Holiday Inn again...and they can have my Priority Club card back, too.

The fitness center was poor, a couple of old treadmills and a couple other machine. The pool looked OK, but we didn't use it.

We had the breakfast included (for an extra charge) with our reservation, which was supposed to be worth $20 on anything on the menu (per the website ad) but we were only allowed to have the buffet, which, in all fairness, wasn't bad...but just not what was promised.

The staff was friendly...it's not their fault.

Renovation is supposed to be complete by October 2008. Hold off until then. We paid $110 for the room plus breakfast.

  • Liked — I would have said location, but there were clearly better choices.
  • Disliked — The old, smelly room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WIstoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementStaff, Manager at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, responded to this review, April 3, 2009
We appreciate your comments and thank you for being our guest despite the on-going renovations. We would like to announce that our renovations are now complete, and we would like to invite you back to stay with us so that you may truly relax and enjoy your vacation in a beautiful, luxurious atmosphere. We look forward to catering to all of your needs and being your home away from home in the near future.
Thank you,
Management Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    133
    141
    90
    67
See reviews for
195
153
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kosciusko, ms
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

Booked through hotwire, did not state when booking that hotel was under massive renovation, once booked and notified of hotel name, found on tripadvisor and found several reviews about renovation, due to not being able to cancel, Hotwire policy, I called hotwire anyway and was told that once family got to hotel to call and notify them if any problems.

Family arrived at hotel on 06/13/2008 to check in, well it is under massive renovation, walked in and there is no carpet, tile or anything on front entry just dusty concrete, went to the front desk where the persons working there were very nice and helpful, gave kids plastic construction hats, assigned us room 410, rode elevator to 4th floor, exited elevator to discover entire hallway full of new furniture boxes, very dusty and smelled of fresh carpet glue, carpet dusty, went to room after navigating boxes, went into room 410 where it appeared to have been renovated, strong odor of carpet, wallpaper glue, bedspread had rips in it, holes in wall, and the great sound of construction workers on the outside cutting holes in the new marble sink tops. Wife began to get a headache from odor, I phoned hotwire and notified them of situation, the customer service person was very helpful, cancled out stay at holiday inn and I rebooked with deer ridge resort for a one bedroom condo with loft for only 10 dollars more a night, which hotwire covered.

I would stay clear of this Holiday Inn until after renovation, it is not worth what they are charging, and just a side note, when we went to check in, there was only 10 vehicles in the main parking lot, which a few of those belonged to the construction workers.

Thank you Hotwire for making this right.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank petebelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pigeon Forge hotels

Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

I reserved a room at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge for a quick escape from reality before my last year at college. The property was fantastic. Check In was quick and easy, and having Priority Rewards was an excellent thing to have at this property.

I had a room on the concierge level which is where the pet rooms were. I loved my room on the concierge level and the key access. I went to the pool but forgot my swim trunks, but the pool looked nice.

Overall I would stay at the property again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joshinnorthGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

I booked one niight via hotwire but wished I hadnt.
I paid $70 with tax .
The hotel is in a great location two lights from Dollywood on the main parkway. However it is undergoing a major refit at present and the lobby is like a building site.
the rooms were Ok but we had a power cut all evening- I do not know if it was local to the hotel or to a wider area but on top of the shabby room was the last straw.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spendingpension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

I booked our room very far in advance and read the reviews at the time of the booking. Unfortunately for us a major remodel commenced about two weeks before we arrived. This hotel is in complete remodel mode, complete with large dumpsters parked outside and ripped up parts of the hotel. You know the ad on TV where the couple finds themselves at a hotel with a jack hammer? This is it! Our room is ok, very worn out but ok. The price was so cheap I should have been alerted something was up -- so the upside is that we paid practically nothing for the room. This made our trip to Dollywood very, very affordable. If you are on a budget and plan to be at Dollywood all day then this hotel might be a good value. But if you are expecting one of the nice new Holiday Inns (we have stayed in some good Holiday Inns all over America) then back off from reserving a room here. Also, I cannot imagine this place is ever going to look really sharp even with this remodel. The building is essentially worn out and new carpet and a little paint isn't going to fix that.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank NWBallardTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2008

My church did a couples retreat for the weekend and so we came down excited! I had read "decent" reviews about this hotels but this was far below my expectations. There is some remodeling going on but this hotel has that "cheap" feel to it. The carpet was extremely dirty and looked water damage in the halls and in the room. The whole hotel had a smell to it and wall paper seemed to be peeling off everywhere. The Beds were as hard as rock and the exhaust in the bathroom didn't work. On top of that the air conditioning only worked 1/2 the time. The cost was not bad at 70.00 a night but I can go much nicer hotels in the pigeon forge area for less. I went here for a retreat but I will not be back under any circumstances. I'm not that picky but this hotel was nasty. Look Elsewhere for a good time in the mountians.

  • Liked — In the middle of everything!
  • Disliked — Cheap, Cheap, Cheap
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrandonHeel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caroilna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2008

My wife and I have stayed in the hotel on 3 different occasions. Every time the rooms have been clean, staff went above and beyond. Two of the times has been with our Annual Church Marriage Retreat. We come in on Friday and check out Sunday afternoon. The conference room has always been great. The inhouse resturant had good food for a hotel. LOL The breakfast buffet has a plenty of choices. This year we had 37 couples. I have not heard any complaints.
The indoor pool and whirlpool has been very nice also.

They are under construction this year. Building a new conference center which this town does need.

Two thumbs up.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank ebroachnNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#8 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge - Parkway
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Dollywood Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge On The Parkway
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pigeon Forge
0.3 mi away
Black Fox Lodge
Black Fox Lodge
#25 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge

Property: Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Address: 3230 Parkway, PO Box 1383, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the time you enter our lodge-style lobby, you will feel right at home at the Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge. We are a completely non-smoking full service hotel in the center of all that Pigeon Forge, TN has to offer. Our knowledgeable guest services team is here to help you with your questions about The Great Smoky Mountains National Park or your favorite local attraction. We will make sure you are ready to get your adventure started in the right direction. Each guest room is equipped with a 42 inch LCD-TV, microwave, refrigerator, and FREE wireless internet. As the only Full-Service Hotel in Pigeon Forge, you will be able to eat, sleep, relax, and play all under one room. We offer over 11,000 sq ft of meeting/banquet space with state of the art audio visual equipment that is perfect for seminars, dinner banquets, weddings, reunions, etc. Our on-site Sales and Catering team is here to ease the stress of planning your event. Whether you are here attending an event, enjoying a meal at our on-site restaurant, or in need of a getaway, we provide you with the level of service that you deserve Enjoy total comfort and convenience in Pigeon Forge with the most trusted name in travel and we will make your stay a memorable one. We are planning for your arrival and waiting to say Welcome Home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing