We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinky, run-down hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge
Ranked #75 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel smells bad, looks bad and some of the staff are less than accommodating. The elevators reek of moth balls and cigarette smoke, the hallways smell like a nursing home at lunch time and if you would like to enjoy a fresh cup of coffee anytime other than the morning, forget it! The beds are very outdated and the pillows on the beds were the size of little square pillows. Not comfortable at all!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimberly815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Dear kimberly815,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Your comments are very important to us. We strive to be the best in our industry however, it seems that we failed to do so during your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience the situation may have caused you. I have taken note of your comments and will make sure that your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and be reviewed. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 580 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really liked this hotel, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Had a wonderful and hot tub. The room was very nice and comfortable. The only reason I did not rate this as excellent is because the bathroom had a smell. Every thing was very clean but there was a urine/bathroom smell and is was not a strong smell, only a person who is picky about bathrooms would notice, but I am one of those picky people but with that said I would still stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I checked into this property that I have stayed at before. Joan provided a quick, friendly checkin around 2:30 pm. I got a first floor room, which was great. I work for the same corporate brand as this hotel and felt that I would be satisfied with my stay, as I had a wonderful experience before. When I checked in with my family, I immediately noticed that the room had a musty odor. I always check the beds first so I went and uncovered the mattress pads to see what the mattress looked like. Both mattresses were stained with urine and that must have been where the initial odor came from. Also saw specks on the sheets and had thoughts that they were either dead fleas or possible bedbugs. I went to the desk immediately and asked Joan if I could switch rooms and I told her why. She immediately changed my room number a few doors down. Her response was quick and she did not question my complaint. Professional service. I had no noise complaints on a first floor rooms, nor did I have any other issue at this location during my three night stay. The room service was quick and enjoyable. I would go to this location again. The hotel rooms are a bit worn, but I am sure this is a busy area and a busy time of year for them.

Room Tip: As soon as you have checked in, make sure you are getting the room type and location that you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peepadoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Everything was nice, but average. Well kept, nice people but just standard everything. Except the beds, which proved to be very uncomfortable. Not much within walking distance. The pool was okay, nice flat screen televisions, rooms clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAPauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

While the rooms were fine. The food in the restaurant was so bad that it negated any stars I would give the hotel for overall rating. .
Stay away from the restaurant and room service. Restaurant was near empty and it took and hour to get the food. Salad was insipid and had a funny odor to it. Fried shrimp has all the taste of deep fried sawdust. Cole slaw had a chemical smell and a simple bite didn't hit my palate has being from the food family but more like shredded paper mixed with mayo. Ugh!!! After the main course was served and finished the server brought the bread, which was burnt.

To salvage the meal, I got a bottle of Samuel Adams, figuring you can't ruin a bottle of beer. After I drunk the beer it dawned on me to check the drink by date on the side of the bottle. It was 3 months past its drink by date.

Other people in my party also thought this was some of the worst food they had ever eaten.

The hotel needs to shut down the restaurant immediately.

If you need to eat at this hotel use the vending machines. The food is much better and service much quicker.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DKnight54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

As a frequent guest of Holiday in (family memberis employee) I was not impressed. While Holiday Inn has certainly come in and decorated and provided upgrades they have missed several key area's: Old doors, old bathrooms, crazy noise with the neighbors plumbing. I would certainly pay attention to the details if this were my business. I will say that cleanliness was not an issue! Comfy beds and bath and body toiletries were nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacasa99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This Holiday Inn was not only the best Hotel in Pigeon Forge, but one of the best in the Holiday Inn Group. The initiall view is fantastic, it ticks all the boxes for a really good hotel. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. The reception area was very warm and cosy. Our room was enormous, with fridge, safe a huge bed and a large bathroom. We also overlooked the entrance which in fact was very nice and not noisy as the hotel is set well back off the road. We went out for diner, but had breakfast in the hotel. This was not quite as good as it could have been, but hey you pay for what you get and we do not like huge breakfasts, so we did OK.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms over look the strip in Pigeon Forge which is like a mini Las Vegas. Lots of cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Dollywood Lane
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pigeon Forge
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pigeon Forge
Hilton Garden Inn Pigeon Forge
#12 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#10 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
673 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
#9 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#23 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge

Address: 3230 Parkway, PO Box 1383, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: $79 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the time you enter our lodge-style lobby, you will feel right at home at the Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge. We are a completely non-smoking full service hotel in the center of all that Pigeon Forge, TN has to offer. Our knowledgeable guest services team is here to help you with your questions about The Great Smoky Mountains National Park or your favorite local attraction. We will make sure you are ready to get your adventure started in the right direction. Each guest room is equipped with a 42 inch LCD-TV, microwave, refrigerator, and FREE wireless internet. As the only Full-Service Hotel in Pigeon Forge, you will be able to eat, sleep, relax, and play all under one room. We offer over 11,000 sq ft of meeting/banquet space with state of the art audio visual equipment that is perfect for seminars, dinner banquets, weddings, reunions, etc. Our on-site Sales and Catering team is here to ease the stress of planning your event. Whether you are here attending an event, enjoying a meal at our on-site restaurant, or in need of a getaway, we provide you with the level of service that you deserve Enjoy total comfort and convenience in Pigeon Forge with the most trusted name in travel and we will make your stay a memorable one. We are planning for your arrival and waiting to say Welcome Home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing