We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal but not worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Inn
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2008

We recently returned from a four night stay in Pigeon Forge, TN where we stayed at the Best Western Plaza Inn. We booked online and decided on this hotel based on the price and the amenities advertised. At checkin, the desk clerks were very rude. If you stay here, request NOT to be in rooms 134 or 135. Room 134 had the loudest a/c that woke us every night. Room 135 was right beside laundry and housekeeping. Every morning by 7 AM they congregated around our room talking and prepping to clean rooms. The hotel was not full and I wish we would have requested another room - it is just a hassle to move adults, kids, etc.! Room was nice - very large, however, the beds were terrible. We had read this in reviews and it is correct! I was sore every morning.
The continental breakfast had a lot to be desired! Same thing every morning. Typically at Days Inns and other chain hotels, there is a meat, yogurt, fruit and waffle maker, etc. Donuts, toast, waffles to toast, peaches, boiled eggs were offered. Breakfast area is congested and poorly laid out.
Behind the front desk is one computer for Internet access. Alot of sites are blocked and when we inquired the desk clerk, again, was very rude.
The pools were very nice as were the hot tubs.
Overall, not a terrible place to stay. I would choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cruisers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,870 - 1,876 of 1,950 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed in a King Jacuzzi Suite on the 5th floor. Bed was comfortable.. Large room! We brought our pack and play for our 10 month old son and still had plenty of room. Loved the jacuzzi. We had a balcony by the river. Very peaceful. Great view of river and mountains. Our room had a fireplace but we did not need it being August and all. Wasn't crazy about the breakfast selections. The good thing is the hotel is around plenty of food choices. Didn't use the pools so no comment. Only negative thing was the tub wasn't clean when we came in.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank cdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Where do I start? We stayed here for 2 nights during our vacation in TN. What a disappointment this place was!!! The room was not very clean and the tub was black on the bottom!! The beds were horrible, we didn't sleep much because they were so uncomfortable. Our feet stuck to the carpet when we walked across the floor. We spilled some water on the counter and when we wiped it up the towel was black!!! When we came back to the room the second day, housekeeping had been there, but there was dirt all over the washroom floor and the coffee maker hadn't been wiped out or anything. I could go on but I think I got my point across. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jacquie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

After staying at this hotel I am utterly amazed by the reviews on Tripadvisor. I chose the hotel based on what other users had to say, and we were extremely disappointed. On a late checkin (after 11pm) we were greeted by front desk who ignored ringing phones and commented that "these people ought to know I'm busy if I don't answer right away" while checking us in. We were given a room w/ 2 double beds (me and my 2 children) in what was supposed to be a non-smoking room. Upon entering the room we were bowled over by the smell of stale cigarette smoke - it smelled like a nightclub the morning after a big show. Knowing full well the desk lady wouldn't answer the phone (busy and all) I walked over to the front desk (2 bldgs away) and asked for another room. None available - but she did helpfully send a night maintenance man with a can of lysol. Not much help there. The ice machine and the coke machines were empty, so no drinks for us. "Free Continental Breakfast" the following morning was all starch... biscuits, waffles, bagles, toast... no fruit, eggs, yogurt, meat of any kind. The room was relatively clean although the property was not quiet at all, with pools full of kids until midnight each night. For the price I paid I would've expected a much better property. They do not need to advertise non-smoking rooms unless they are NOT smoked in. Couldn't get out fast enough and would not return - for the price I'd stay at a Marriott property in Gatlinburg. Location is good on the Parkway with close proximity to the park entrance and to dollywood if that's your thing.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank savtrav22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Went to Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg for a mini-vacation with family. Chose the Best Western due to other members reviews. The lobby was beautiful and staff friendly. Had made a reservation before arriving and, at check-in, they informed us we would be put in the "new section". We had a room on the 5th floor and, even after getting off the elevator, the hallway had an awful smell to it. Even before we opened the door to the room, my husband commented that this was a smoking room, even though it clearly stated on the outside of the room that it was not. After staying in the room for a couple of hours, the smell was unbearable and we ended up calling another hotel and going elsewhere. The room smelled like it had been a smoking room that was remodeled and made into a non-smoking room. We even went and bought an air freshener to try to help the smell but it didn't work. Also, the website states that a mountain view room includes a private balcony. IT DOES NOT!!! - You are sitting literally right next to the person in the next room so don't expect to have a private conversation sitting on this balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieq86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

This hotel was renovated recently. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel and the grounds are kept very clean. We stayed on the 5th floor with a balcony and had a very nice view of the mountains! The pool and the hot tub were kept very clean. The hotel had a slight odor to it. It could be from age - even though it was renovated. The staff was VERY friendly and accomodating to all our needs. The ONLY thing that could really use improvement was the continental breakfast. Some items were still frozen - and the selection never changed. It could have used some yogert, and some fresh fruit. If they could not afford fresh fruit - change the canned fruit on occasion would have been nice. The fresh biscuits were wonderful! There is a trolley stop right outside the hotel - but we never used it. Dixieland Stampede is right next door. Convienent to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We stayed 3 days.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine_yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Lets get some small things out of the way....The breakfast needs help, not much as far as variety, but then, there were lots of other places to choose from. Its not like I chose this hotel due to a free meal. Next, we had a smoke free room that smelled like an ash tray. When we brought it to the front desks attention, maintenance was there immediately to try to help with the problem. Although the deoderant spray was only temporary, I liked the fact that we didnt have to wait an entire day for someone to come check it out. Now....the grounds are kept in immaculate shape, and the staff was extremely friendly. The 2 pools we used were very clean and well maintained. The hotel is somewhat central in Pigeon Forge and with lots to do, you can walk to your destination or take the trolley. We are planning to return to the area and I will definately book Best Western Plaza for our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadji2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
2.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites at Dollywood Lane
2.6 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#23 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,959 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
1.8 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Inn

Address: 3755 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3813 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Plaza Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#14 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: $68 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel Pigeon Forge
Best Western Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing