We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Sunrise Ridge Resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pigeon Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunrise Ridge Resort
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Christmas at Sunrise Ridge Resort”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We rented 5 of the pedestal cottages for a family Christmas vacation. The resort was not full so the property was very quiet & peaceful. All of the staff that we encountered was friendly and helpful. The front office staff was especially helpful in getting discount tickets to a couple of events and shows in town. Our kids really enjoyed the indoor pool. We rented the banquet room for our Christmas diner and it was great. The room had a full kitchen, lots of tables and chairs, clean bathrooms, charcoal grill and a flat screen TV. The view of the area mountains was beautiful.

The floor plans of the cottages were comfortable and practical but the furniture and decor could use a little updating. They were generally clean however there were spider webs in all of the ceiling corners. We did experience some serious maintenance problems. The roof leaked in the bedroom of one cottage and it rained on the heads of our grandparents. They had to repack their things and move to another building which was a major hassle. The maintenance guys were helpful in moving their stuff. A couple of days later the plumbing in another cottage backed up and required an all day repair job.

One of the burners didn't work on our stove, and we had to run each dryer load twice in order to get the clothes completely dry. All of the other appliances worked well but are beginning to show signs of wear and tear. The mattress was just okay - not the best but not the worst.

Generally, after we got through the roof leak and plumbing issues, the accommodations, though not luxurious, were sufficient, clean, comfortable and a good value for a family vacation.

I would recommend Sunrise Ridge to anyone looking for basic, clean and affordable accommodations. If you are looking for luxury, you probably need to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are bedrooms on the upper and lower levels. and the staircase is very long. So, if you have kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    67
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
107
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This resort was very comfortable and the staff was very congenal.The town itself was circus like but the restraurants were excellent.Our trip was the end of august and some of the parks were closing for the year but there was still many things to see

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My sister and her husband invited me on a car trip to the Smokey Mountains and we stayed at the Sunrise Ridge Resort for a week. We arrived at night in the pitch dark and our GPS was not directing us to where we thought we should go. After much ,we finally got ahold of someone at the resort to give us instructions.
Even with the best instruction at night in the dark on a winding, steep road, up a mountainside is difficult at the best. I suggest to make sure you arrive during daylight to avoid the difficulty of finding this resort in the dark. Our nerves were frayed from the long trip as it was.

Fortunately after a couple phone calls for additional instruction we found the resort. The front desk was waiting for us and we were able to get unpacked. The 2 bedroom condo was spacious and well kept. We decided to call it a night and get a good rest.

In the morning we were greeted with a glorious, beautiful, and a dazzling surprise!. The Smokey Mountains decked in yellows, oranges of every fall color you can imagine. Although we were just a street or two above the downtown area of Pigeon Forge, we felt we were truly isolated up on a mountain top. It turned out to be a blessing to be able to get to town for groceries, shopping, and restuarants. We decided it had been a wonderful choice after all.
We were able to take day trips into the mountains, and places of interest. It was a lovely, pleasant stay. Even though they had a well maintained outside pool and inside pool, we were to busy to take advantage of it.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and the view was spectacular from our spacious balcony. All rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarilynG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The resort was comfortable but the bed in our unit (2308) should be replaced because it wasn't the most comfortable we have slept in. Did show signs of age.

Staff were not overly friendly and very seldom did we see a smile or hear a greeting in the morning from anybody working around the units. They were accommodating though with regard to a couple important items we had shipped there and the front desk staff were agreeable to watch out for them.

The choice of pools was wonderful and we made sure to try all of them especially the indoor which was often quiet because guests were at the outside pools. The indoor pool was warm as bath water and fantastic.

The view from our balcony was wonderful and a great way to start the day with a cup of coffee. The resort was quiet and we will return again on another of our many trips to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gisele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We travelled with another couple to see the Smoky Mountains. This resort was excellent. The condo was quite comfortable, nice pool and hot tub near our room, wifi was just fine and we had an amazing view of sunrise over the Smoky Mountains. We really enjoyed ourselves. Comfortable beds, condo fairly well appointed for a timeshare. Don't think e ever had any housekeeping, however.

Room Tip: We had a room in bldg 3 third floor. Great view and solid wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mokigrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the last week of August. It was very peaceful and relaxing. We had a one bedroom unit with a king bed. Aside from the large bathroom with stacked washer -dryer and jacuzzi tub, the other room was open and had a fireplace, kitchen area, small pedestal dining table for 4, pull out leather sleep sofa, leather recliner, coffee and end tables. It opened onto a balcony with great views of the mountains. It was perfect for us - quiet and a nice size. My husband had to do some work and logged onto his laptop and was able to work either inside or on the balcony while enjoying the quiet beauty of the mountains. The area has many diverse activities from hiking in the park to shopping at local artisans shops. I would recommend this resort for families also side Dollywood is close by and the resort had 3 pools.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elvis422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week here with our two young grandchildren. The resort is definitely serviceable and our interactions with the staff were pleasant. But the resort is definitely showing signs of aging and needs refurbishing in many areas. There are three pools that we visited, two outdoor and one indoor. The indoor pool also had a sauna. All the pools had spas and kiddy pools. It's location is off the main parkway (which is good), but within just a few minutes off all the attractions etc. you would want. Wi-Fi was spotty and slow!

Room Tip: Previous reviews said Wi-Fi was good on the upper levels but we were on the 3rd of 4 floors in Bldg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.9 mi away
Black Fox Lodge
Black Fox Lodge
#17 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
RiverGate Mountain Lodge & Wedding Chapel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#9 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,308 reviews
1.4 mi away
All Season Suites
All Season Suites
#35 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
766 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Ridge Resort

Property: Sunrise Ridge Resort
Address: 2301 Ridge Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#19 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Ridge Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Also Known As:
Sunrise Ridge Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing