We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always fresh sushi!”

Kinkaku Japanese Steak House
Ranked #77 of 172 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always fresh sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I am local and have been eating here for years. I don't know how they do it, but the sushi is ALWAYS fresh and well prepared. If you ask VERY nicely, you might talk them into preparing you an "off-menu" item. If you can pull it off, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmokyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    82
    41
    12
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Save your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was the worst hibachi style restaurant Ive eaten in. They're sauce (one) is terrible and the vegetables weren't cooked well. It was a terrific disappointment. Even the ginger salad dressing was awful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmg334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
406 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Ask for Yung!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This place is almost always a must stop for us. We always request Yung to cook for us as he is hilarious. Where else can you get Hibachi cooked by a welder? The food is always perfect and the service is great. Food is quick and delicious. Going back in a few weeks and we definitely plan to eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwightd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was all right.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hibachi chef was absolutely hilarious and did a great job keeping us entertained. He managed to overcook several of our entrees, not by a lot but by enough. Some of the sushi was good, and some of it was just ok. The staff was attentive and our server did a fantastic job keeping up with us. Not the worst Japanese place I've ever been to, but not the best either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was fun! The service and food were great! The interaction between the hibachi chef and my teenage son was hilarious! My main fear was in this kind of setting, you can't pick and choose your table mates. At 6:00 on the Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend, we went in with absolutely no wait and sat as a family alone. We had all of the attention of the chef and the food was really good and bountiful! Good Time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliciaBen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinkaku Japanese Steak House also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Kinkaku Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing