We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calhoun's Ribs”
Review of Calhoun's

Calhoun's
Ranked #27 of 173 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Calhoun's Ribs”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very good service, nice atmosphere, and good food.

The bread selection provided was different in a good way. The bring a baguette dipped in balsamic / olive oil, a muffin type cornbread, and a biscuit. All 3 were pretty good.

Baby back ribs (Best in America per Calhouns) are NC style with a nice BBQ glaze that is a trace spicy - which I haven't usually encountered in my travels and eating "local" BBQ. Definitely worth doing again on many occasions in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    377
    197
    72
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Destination Wedding Supper”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I cannot say enough about the OUTSTANDING service Calhouns provided for our son's and new daughter's wedding celebration! Long distance planning was expertly handled by each manager I contacted. Our family is still RAVING about the excellent ribs, steak, and everything ordered on the menu, plus the room was beyond what we imagined! We are so thankful for our server-he was so helpful and attentive, as was the entire staff! Wonderful bar, champagne, and perfect atmosphere! A magical evening enjoyed by all!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“seems lackluster”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I've been eating in Calhoun's for 15 years now and the last few times I haven't been impressed. It used to be on my "must do" list when I was in town but I think I'll skip it next time. There wasn't anything wrong with the food or service. It just isn't anything to write home about. And for the high price (family of 4 at lunch was over $50) it doesn't seem worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcuzzort1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do Not Order Shrimp!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband, a couple friends and I went to Calhoun's Thursday night for his birthday. My steak was over cooked and my shrimp skewer was grilled with the shells still on! What idiot grills shrimp with the shell on? I asked the waitress about it and she said that it's just the way they cook them there. Not very edible if you ask me. I will say that the server was very sweet and prompt. The spinach dip was awesome! It has a good kick to it. My husband and friends got the ribs. Everyone thought they were just ok. Next time we will find somewhere else.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LDM999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Great Local Restaurant”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

For most of us who live in East TN, eating at a great restaurant in this tourist area is not a destination but Calhoun's is an exception. The food here is always prepared well. They are known for their ribs but we also love the ale steak and ale pork chop! This week, they offered fried okra which was fantastic. Their beers, Smokey Mtn. Brews, are all good. My favorite is the Helles. Also try the Spinach Maria. They have some good desserts, I'm just always too full to eat it. You can' t go wrong by choosing this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rscoapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calhoun's also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Calhoun's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing