We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great views”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Big Timber Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 32
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hdahat
Nanticoke
1 review
“Great views”
Reviewed May 31, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Cabin is close to everything, Just a short drive from wherever we wanted to go. Just a few minor hiccups but all in all it's a nice place and we'd stay there again if we traveled to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2018
Dear hdahat,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at Big Timber Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back to stay with us again. We hope to have you back with us soon.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed the view and I am sorry to hear about the issues that you found in the cabin, Big Timber Lodge. I will follow up with our maintenance department in regards to the coffee table. Guest feedback is the most important tool that we can use to improve our cabins and I wish to thank you again for taking the time to let us know. We genuinely appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2017
Dear TripAdvisor member,

On behalf of the staff, management, and myself, please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay with us at Big Timber Lodge. We wish to assure you that this is certainly not our typical guests’ experience. Your comments are very important to us. We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We hope that you give us the opportunity to show you a much better experience on a future stay.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
deganmich...
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view with a great space!”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Big Timber Lodge was close to perfect for our out-of-town wedding weekend. We had ourselves, my parents, and many out of town friends stay in the lodge, and everyone was extremely happy with the building, the location, and the view. The patios on each level overlooking the Smokies were fabulous.
Our only negative would be the lack of wifi for this specific cabin. In 2016 that just seemed bizarre and a major downer which would really be an easy fix and make the stay much better. It was the difference between four and five stars to me.
Also, our one hot tub was functional but a little messed up too. It wanted to spray water out weirdly, and an undated hot tub would have also made a big difference.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2016
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! We appreciate you sharing your feedback on your stay with us at Big Timber Lodge. Please accept our apologies that the hot tub had some difficulties. We will follow up with maintenance and make sure the hot tub is serviced and operating correctly. We are working to get Wi-Fi in all our units but it can be difficult in mountainous areas. We are very glad to hear that the view from the house was enjoyable. It’s our hope you will stay with us again in the future! Maybe an anniversary trip?

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gene F
1 review
“Facility needs updating, but associates were great to work with.”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The facility had plenty of room for our large family (16 people) and view from the decks was magnificent. However, the game room equipment was in need of serious repair/replacement. The Audio visual remotes did not work on most equipment. (probably dead batteries) While the bedrooms were sufficient to meet our needs, the kitchen equipment could use some help. We cook and eat in most days and the capacity of the refrigerator was meager; certainly below what a cabin that sleeps 32 should have. WiFi would have been nice. Again, overall we had a good experience, just disappointed with a few details.

The one major issue was the drains backed up in the bathrooms, soaking the floors in the lower rooms. Associates sent help, the line got cleared, and we were provided alternate accommodations for the 4 people who could not stay in those bedrooms due to soaked carpets. Fantastic customer service by all involved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was spectacular, and the spaciousness of the cabin was very good.
Liked least: The facility and amenities were a bit worn. Could use some updating.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2016
Dear Gene F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We regret that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. We have passed your post on to the owner of the cabin for review in regards to possible updates. Thank you for your kind words in regards to our customer service. We pride ourselves on our customer service and make every attempt to handle any issues in an efficient and timely manner. We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay a comfortable and relaxing as possible. We hope that you give us the opportunity to show you a much better experience on a future stay.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameskN85...
1 review
“Needs some updating”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Overall, plenty of room for our family group of 16, 8 adults 8 children. An update of televisions to flatscreens would be nice. Some of the bedding was old and ripped and the sheets didn't fit too well, The sofa and chair on the main floor are dirty and worn out. The bathrooms were fine. We had an ice maker that didn't work, a loose wall switch and a leaking toilet all of which were almost immediately taken care of. Appreciated that. A very nice place that could use a little TLC and updating. WIFI would be nice, too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Dear jameskN8524CJ,

What a pleasure it was having you stay at Big Timber Lodge! Thank you so much for the review. Our cabins are very comfortable and afford everything you need for a perfect family gathering. We are happy our housekeeping and maintenance department responded in a timely manner and fulfilled your requests. We have been in contact with the owner in regards to the furniture and WiFi. Thank you for choosing Wyndham Vacation Rentals and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockvale, Tennessee
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Dear robelrod,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed yourselves and I am sorry to hear about the issues that you found in the cabin. I will let the maintenance department know about your comments regarding the uncomfortable bed situation. Housekeeping has brought out new can openers. Guest feedback is the most important tool that we can use to improve our cabins and I wish to thank you again for taking the time to let us know. We genuinely appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing