We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Big Sky

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
E9937KCme...
1 review
“Big Sky - The Preserve Resort”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cabin was worn, with a broken door frame in the bedroom (which was repaired the same day as reported) with worn/broken furniture. There was a Christmas tree up in June, and we were supposed to have access to a pool, which we did not have when we arrived. It took 3 days of working on it (calling Wyndham and going into the pool office all while we were on vacation) to gain access... which we finally got the day before we were leaving. The pool was a major issue for us as we have 2 small children that only wanted to swim. We would not recommend this cabin, or booking thru Wyndham. The ladies we spoke to were all very nice, and understood our frustration, but could not do anything to help us until the owners took care of the problem. I believe that since it was shown on their website as this cabin having pool access, we should have been given the access code while they worked on the issues internally.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Dear E9937KCmelissaf,

On behalf of the staff, management and myself, please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay with us! We wish to assure you that this is certainly not our typical guests’ experience. . We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay a comfortable and relaxing as possible. We hope that you give us the opportunity to show you a much better experience on a future stay.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharlonl
1 review
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I absolutely loved it!!!.It was so relaxing and breath taking.It was like something out of a magazine.It was only me and my husband for our anniversary.We had so much space.Our only problem is that the air wasn't working on the top entrance and our fireplace did not work.We only got 50.00 reimburse back wish should have been more.I loved it and will be booking again for more vacation.Hopefully the air and fireplace will work.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Dear sharlonl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate your comments on the cabin and its views- we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for what is certainly not indicative of the service levels that we pride ourselves on providing. Both the AC and the fireplace have been seen to at the time of this review. We appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeRoy_far
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good potential with several challenges....”
Reviewed September 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Pros
- Property is visually pleasing and well furnished. Gives you the log cabin feel.
- Overall the entire property was clean and well kept. The chapel, pavilion, and pool were well maintained
- Beautiful views of the valleys and mountains
- Very spacious, especially considering it sleeps 4
- Two maintenance concerns were dealt with quickly
- Hot tub, toilets, sinks were all clean and in good working condition

Cons
- Cabin is starting to show general wear and tear. On closer inspection the carpet and furniture could use deep cleaning and/or replacing
- The inside of the master shower doors were covered in mold and mildew and did not appear to have been cleaned for some time. First floor bathroom had a similar problem, although not to the same extent
- As you might expect in the woods, there were some bugs in the cabin. Not a big deal. But we did find four dead and one live scorpion. Dead scorpions indicate that they are trying to treat the problem. The fact that there were five in total proves the treatment is not quite good enough.
- Microwave was not operational, but after one call to maintenance, it was replaced within 24 hours.
- The rotten eggs smell of the water, particularly in the showers needs to be addressed. For a property at this price point, usable water is a basic expectation.
- No wireless internet, again this is becoming a basic expectation at this price point
- Property description and photos on web site do not accurately reflect the spacing of the cabins. There are approximately 15- 20 cabins within a few hundred yards of one another. If you are looking for seclusion, this is not it.
- While the pavilion and the chapel are a main attraction for this area, music from a wedding reception went on well into the night and could be heard easily in our cabin
- Received a visit from a bear on multiple occasions. While this is exciting and a once in a lifetime opportunity, it was prompted by the bear proof garbage cans being in poor repair. This results in the bear making his rounds in the morning and evening looking for food in the broken garbage cans. Bear took our garbage and neighbor's garbage into the woods and ate it. Again, while exciting, trash receptacles put the bear and the residents at great risk.
- The sink drain in the master bathroom was very slow to drain.
- Exterior of all cabins at this location need restained or refinished all the way around, rather than just on the front side
- Called property management staff prior to arrival specifically to ask about charcoal grill. They checked and called back to report that there were none on site and no loaners available. On arrival at the property, discovered that each cabin had at least one charcoal grill right next to it. While this is not a big deal, it did alter our meal plans.

Initially the property is very impressive, looks nice and is well maintained. On deeper inspection it appears maintenance and cleanliness is not as high of a priority as it should be. We spent five nights and four days for a total of just over $1000 in mid September. With a few improvements, this could be a great location if close neighbors aren't a concern or if planning a large event with multiple families or needed multiple cabins.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, proximity to the park, location
Liked least: Dirt, the scorpions, the neighbors
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2015
Dear LeRoy_far from Dallas, Texas,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your stay In Big Sky. I am disappointed that you experienced issues and apologize that it may have impacted your stay. I will follow up with my team and ensure that these items have been resolved.

Your comments are very important to us. We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay a comfortable and relaxing as possible and hope you will return in the future so that we can make sure this happens on your next stay.

Sincerely,
Sherri T
Assistant General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jb419am
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Make sure it's clean”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay except for one thing. We went to use whirlpool tub in the bathroom and noticed some bubbles. Knowing it wasn't clean we shut off the tub and noticed black bits floating in the water and a large clump of black hair. Since the tub had obviously not been cleaned we called to have it taken care of. After several calls to the help desk and no one coming to take care of it we have up on the second day.

Date of stay: October 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing