We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gateway to Heaven”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gateway to Heaven

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leslieg77...
1 review
“Gateway to Heaven”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved the cabin.So clean and bright.Only 2 suggestions.Drapes at all bedroom windows.It is to bright without them.In the living room the top windows let in to much light to see T.V. until afternoon.Some shades would be nice there.Otherwise loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Dear leslieg772,

We appreciate you sharing your feedback on your stay with us. Please accept our apologies that the lack of shades caused some problems. We will follow up with the owner and see what can be done. It’s our hope you will stay with us again in the future!

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Dear sherry d,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at Gateway to Heaven. I have checked with our team and see that the jetted tub has been repaired and the headboard has been inspected and repaired. Your comments are very important to us. We always want to exceed your expectations and make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible and I am so very sorry that we fell short. We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again during a future visit to the Smokies so that you will see that your visit with us just now is not the norm for our guests.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Furniture needed updating
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every stay a pleasant one and genuinely appreciate you choosing us for your Smoky Mountain vacation. We look forward to the opportunity to have you with us again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michelle...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed September 19, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Refrigerator never did get our food or drinks cold after 3 days. Called and reported problem and a technician came and looked at it and said it would be getting cold soon but it never did. Was unimpressed with the low water pressure, lack of cooking utensils. In need of some repairs and updates especially on balcony and outdoor furniture. Inside was nice and clean. Beds were fairly comfortable. Driveway very steep and hard to get in and out of. We had a magnificent view from the balcony. Would not rent this cabin again though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
Dear MichelleLugo,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your stay. I am disappointed that you experienced issues during your visit and apologize that it impacted your stay. I have followed up with my team and they have informed me that most everything has since been addressed. It is important for us to ensure that the properties on our program are in their best possible condition for our guests. I apologize that we fell short on not having some of these issues identified and fixed prior to your stay. It is my sincerest hope that you will consider Wyndham Vacation Rentals for future vacation plans.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward M
1 review
“Mowton Family Vacation 2016”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cabin was in pretty good condition but didn't really represent the the pictures in the advertisement which we used to decide on this location. The most disappointing was the view from the upper deck...While the picture showed a great open view, it apparently was taken many years ago because no there are several trees that have grown and except for a small area in the middle, most of the view is no longer readily available. The foot board and seat in both the upper bedrooms were very loose and the the seat almost collapsed when my wife went to sit on it. The toilet downstairs in one of the bedrooms (the one without the Foosball) was clogged and we had to plunge it to get it working again. We heard water running on the lower deck and what we first thought was the AC condenser overflow, turned out to be the outside faucet running. We turned the handle fairly hard and got it to stop. It was a stream...not just a drip? The last thing missing was no WIFI...which wasn't a total negtive as it did afford us less time on our devices and more time to talk and interface :-) The cabin was nice other than the above and provided us a great place to hang after a long day seeing the sites and having fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool table and Foosball games
Liked least: The mountainview
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Dear Edward M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback from your stay. I am disappointed that you experienced so many issues during your visit and apologize that it impacted your stay. I will be following up in regards to them. It is important for us to ensure that the properties on our program are in their best possible condition for our guests and I apologize that we fell short on not having some of these issues identified and fixed prior to your stay. We appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizL3477
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not maintained, beautiful location ”
Reviewed May 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin was nice, but desperately in need of repair. The advertisement said fireplace, but the fireplace was not operational and has been intentionally made inoperable. The coffee pot took 3 hours to make a pot of coffee, and there was a note in the book that said it needed to be replaced from 3 years ago. The hot water heater was not large enough to fill the tub for even one person and this cabin is suppossed to sleep 8-10. The railing on the balcony was barely attached and dangerous. Someone had nailed a few nails in the bottom which means they knew it was broken. I doubt it would pass safety codes. There was a bee infestation around the hot tub. The linens were worn out and disgusting. I'm disappointed that Wyndham would rent a cabin in this level of direpair. We usually rent from Wyndham because we know they should be nice. This was not a "luxury" cabin. I feel the price was inflated and the listing misleading.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Dear LizL3477,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Gateway to Heaven. and I am sorry to hear about the issues that you found in the cabin. I will follow up with our maintenance department in regards to the railing and the hot water heater and our housekeeping department about the coffee pot. The fireplaces are turned off during the warmer months and I regret this affected your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to make a better impression when you come to stay with us directly at Legacy Mountain Resort the next time you are in the Smoky Mountains.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launcherm...
Merritt Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained and cramped, poor layout”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had 12 of us (less on some days) staying here for a week. The good - the cabin is nice with knotty pine throughout that is very attractive and nice bear-themed decorations throughout. When we called about problems, the response was very good and quick. It is in a very good location near the park. That is about it. There are a lot of small and not so small maintenance issues with this place as well as huge layout issues. First, at the bottom of the balcony as you look out into the trees, there are garden hoses, a wheelbarrow, trash, a rake and other maintenance items just laying on the ground which completely spoils the otherwise nice view. The upstairs master bathroom shower door does not close and leaks water all over the floor for each shower. The grill is rickety, broken and falling apart and we had to find a slope of ground to prop it up so it would not fall over during use. The coffee maker broke (we did get a replacement quickly) and the toaster knob kept falling off leaving exposed circuitry inside. The foosball table is complete trash - when I touched the scoring rack the first time it fell off of the table. The balls that go in the goal fall to the floor and roll wherever. Several of the players heads fall off or are missing. The pool table is badly stained and worn and the cues are garbage as well. The upstairs separate bathroom door handle only opens in one direction and my son got stuck inside briefly while we were thinking it was locked. Nope handle broke. The handles on the drawers throughout the entire cabin are loose and a couple just fell off in my hand when I tried to use them. Wasp nests were located under the balcony and under the eaves of the hot-tub (we bought some wasp spray). Now the bad part, the kitchen island is awkwardly positioned so that you can only open the refrigerator door about 45 degrees before you hit the island. You cannot open a drawer on the island with the fridge door open. Also the kitchen is ridiculously cramped for a cabin that sleeps 12. The living room looks sizable on the fish eye lens used to take the publicity shot but is equally crazy-small for a 12 person cabin. There are 2 couches in the living room and the door to the balcony hits a couch when opened unless you move the couches in front of the bedroom door. There is only a 6-person kitchen table and 2 seats at the counter for dining. Although, if people are at the counter, it becomes really cramped to walk around them or to use the counter for kitchen prep. The pullout couch is extremely uncomfortable so folks just slept on the couch itself. The beds are old and uncomfortable and make a lot of noise - the foot board in upstairs bedroom rocked back and forth as it was missing bolts to hold it on and seemed like it would fall off. The bedroom TVs were old, small CRT types that were awful. The one flat screen picture was not good either. Lastly, could not get the gas fireplace to work as well. Most of these problems are just the management company doing a poor job keeping up with this place but the layout is a joke for this cabin. I would look elsewhere in Wears Valley for nice rentals as it is a good location to the park and/or Pigeon Forge/Sevierville/Gatlinburg.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view (without the garbage and maintainance equip) and the location
Liked least: The lving area/kitchen was a joke and the property was poorly maintained
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2015
Dear Launcherman-

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your stay at Gateway to Heaven this summer. We appreciate your business and are sorry that your stay fell very short on a number of expectations. I am currently reviewing your comments with our team to try and figure out what happened. Our inspection process missed the mark, and I apologize that we failed to create a great first impression and overall comfortable stay.

We pride ourselves on our customer service and make every attempt to handle any issues in an efficient and timely manner. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Please know that your comments are very important to us. It is my sincerest hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you a much better experience on a future stay by considering Wyndham Vacation Rentals.

Thank you,
Sherri T
Assistant General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing