We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Deb from Illinois”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Sweet Surrender

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Timmyh600...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing, needs attention to details.”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nice place, but the DVD player wasn't connected, hot tub turned off, WiFi password wasn't readily available. Lacks storage for food in kitchen. No list of available cable stations. NEEDS USER MANUAL FOR SURE. A/C did not work upon arrival, call 1, WiFi password was not communicated on reservation, call 2, hot tub was on sleep mode,(technician walked me through the steps over the phone) call 3. Door knob to deck was falling off, put DVD in player, to realise it is not hooked up to TV (did it myself), another disappointment!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2017
Dear Timmyh60002,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Sweet Surrender. We regret that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our maintenance department is taking your feedback seriously. The maintenance department reports that the A/C has been repaired, the hot tub has been serviced, and the door knob will be replaced or repaired before the next guest checks in. We are grateful that you chose to spend your vacation with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back to provide you with an exceptional level of service on your next trip to the Smoky Mountains.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2017
Dear Deb from Illinois,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at Sweet Surrender. We are happy we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed your time with us. We strive to make every stay a pleasant one and genuinely appreciate you choosing us for your Smoky Mountain vacation. We look forward to the opportunity to have you with us again in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LBryant79...
1 review
“Beautiful, stunning views, overall clean cabin.”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cabin was beautiful as was 90% of the view (cabins are closely stacked). Wyndham made it effortless to just show up to the cabin and walk in. I am disappointed I didn't get to use my "repeat customer discount" I would have gotten had Sugar Maple Cabins still been the controlling owner, so I think the price was a tad high. Also, while the cabin was rustic and beautiful, there was a stink bug on the upstairs bedroom pillow when we pulled back the covers, so kinda freaked us out a bit. I will however say, I will continue to rent from Wyndham/Sugar Maple again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kpad2015
Dallas, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost Picture Perfect”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I will have to agree that the pictures shown of the cabin are true depictions with some changes and/or upgrades to decor and amenities. The pictures were taken at angles that obscure the viewers perception of where and how these cabins are situated but let me be clear, this is a subdivision of cabins closely built next to each other. If you are looking for a cabin that is well maintained, clean, with great views, easy drive to local attractions, then this is the cabin for you. If you are looking for secluded or semi-secluded then this is not the cabin for you.

Management was excellent during the entire booking process however; it is disappointing to find that companies are now adding more charges to your stay in order to make more of a profit. Check-in instructions were given prior to our arrival which allowed us to to go directly to our cabin instead of checking in at the local office. I also received a call on day of check in to ensure we had travel directions and code for front door.

Overall....nice romantic getaway but would have loved to have had more privacy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The clean interior and views
Liked least: Closeness of other cabins
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panadero3...
1 review
“Enjoyable place to stay”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Sweet surrender was a great place to stay. The cabin was very clean. The views were stunning.
The only issues we had were that the dishwasher was falling out of the cabinet when we arrived and the wifi didn't work. We called the office the next morning and they promptly sent someone. He fixed the dishwasher but was unable to get the wifi working again. We weren't too worried about it and he was very friendly.

Regarding the pictures on the website- they don't really show you how close the other cabins are. It would be nice if the pictures weren't always at the perfect angle, but gave you an accurate depiction if what you are paying for.

All in all, this was a nice place to stay. We would stay here again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing