We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Entertaining show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Smoky Mountain Murder Mystery Dinner Show

Great Smoky Mountain Murder Mystery Dinner Show
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For over 10 years The Great Smoky Mountain Murder Mystery Dinner Show has been entertaining Pigeon Forge with its unique brand of murder, mayhem, and mystery. Loyal followers including returning tourists and local residents keep coming back for first class entertainment, good food, and "whodunit"! "You'll laugh 'til you die!" The Great Smoky Mountain Murder Mystery Dinner Show is a small and intimate theater, which proves perfect for the up close and interactive show it provides. The mystery plays out all over the dining room, so every seat is the perfect seat. There are three sidesplitting, parody style shows played in repertory each week. Guests will be given the opportunity to participate in the mystery, either by becoming an audience actor or by solving the murder using the clue packet provided at each seat. Your ticket includes our "laugh 'til you die" murder mystery show with a Prize Package for the Top Sleuth of the night, as well as a three-course dinner with choice of soup and desert topping.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food, Entertaining show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This dinner theater had delicious food and an entertaining show. The tables were a bit rickety and covered in something like butcher paper that crinkled everytime you touched it or sat your glass down, but those are the only real downsides. The staff and cast were great and had great senses of humor. I would definitely recommend this family friendly dinner show.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chazneeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    187
    94
    52
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A lot of fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to the Great Smoky Mountain Murder Mystery Dinner Theater for my husband's birthday. There were 6 of us ranging in age from 6-80. The show was "The Bradley Bunch". We were seated within 15 minutes of arrival and were surprised with a table right next to the action. Our waiter, Gregory, was at the table right away taking our drink orders. We were served our drinks and creamy vegetable soup and handed a program. It explained a bit about the show and gave you 3 puzzles that were clues to the mystery. The back was where, at the proper time, you made your selections for why, how and why to solve the murder mystery. We all enjoyed our soup, worked our puzzles and the show began. There was a first act and it was a lot of fun. My daughter and son-in-law were chosen to participate in the show. It is a bit cheesy but that is part of the fun. It was hysterical! After the first act we were served our main course which was baked chicken, pork loin, mashed potatoes, green beans and a roll. We had 30 minutes to enjoy before the second act of the play. More story, songs and laughs! Then another break where we were served cheesecake and made our determinations of who we thought committed the murder, how they did it and why. At the finale of the show the mystery is solved and one diner who guessed correctly is awarded a prize. Everyone in our party had a great time, enjoyed the show, the food and the service and will definitely go again. Since the play was loosely based on the old Brady Bunch television show I wondered if my 6-year-old granddaughter could relate. She was mesmerized and loved the action, singing and laughs! If you are looking for Broadway this show is not for you. If you are looking for a great time and lots of fun - it definitely IS for you!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank smileycruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Moonshine Murders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We really enjoyed this show. We made reservations and were able to get good seats. No, there is no set stage, but we enjoyed that because there is no "good" or "bad" seats. The food wasn't the best, but it was pretty decent. The actors were funny and very friendly. The waitress we had, Miss Kitty, was a very nice and awesome woman. She continuously checked up on us and kept conversations going with us. We had a lot of fun that night. We didn't think it was AMAZING, but it wasn't HORRIBLE either.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kocochran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Kind of cheesy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We saw the Moonshine Murder Mystery. The acting was mediocre community theatre acting at best. That being said it was entertaining enough. As long as you don't go in expecting great theatre (which it's not) it was ok. However I don't think anyone in our group would choose to go back. It just seems like it could have been much better. The storyline they had was just ok. I guess we were all expecting it to be a little better than it was. They had several people from the audience participate in the show and that was kind of fun. Some of the audience participants really did great. The dinner was surprisingly tasty. All in all just an ok experience that I wouldn't repeat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptonville, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My mom and I attended The Moonshine Murders on a Thursday evening. The positives: the servers are very good. They keep refilling your beverage. The actors were decent although the show itself was more silly than funny.
Negatives: The food. The portion of chicken was small. It was a leg and a thigh and they were small and bland. The pork was also bland. The mashed potatoes and soup were good. The cheesecake was even bland.
We got there at 5:45 and were seated in the back away from all the action and our table was over-crowded. I had no room and the lady seated beside me had long hair that kept getting on my eating area.
The show and dinner are not worth the price, but I suppose most things are overpriced in a vacation town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katalinarunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Smoky Mountain Murder Mystery Dinner Show also viewed

 
 

Been to Great Smoky Mountain Murder Mystery Dinner Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing