We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Johnny Carino's Italian Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Carino's

Johnny Carino's
2425 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
865-868-0790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 166 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vonore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Johnny Carino's Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We live near the area and always go here when we are in Pigeon Forge. Located very close to the Christmas Place Hotel, there is adequate parking. The food is above average, especially the skillet meals. The food is italian and is well prepared and served hot. There can be a long wait during prime meal hours so try going a little early or late to avoid the crowds. Even if there is a crowd, we have found them efficient in getting customers seated, and once seated good service is provided. This is a family restaurant and is nicely appointed, but can be rather on the noisy side. Lots of good desserts, most of a size that can be easily shared.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    218
    120
    41
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Out and About”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Good Italian Restaurant with just the right number of dining options. Modestly priced with plenty of food for the buck. I found the staff to be friendly and courteous.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went for lunch and ordered from the menu instead of the buffet (which looked pretty slim pickings) and it was just okay. My daughter ordered the spaghetti with a meatball and the meatball was very small while the sauce kind of reminded me of something from a can. The hostess and waitress we had were very nice!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good change of pace from southern BBQ.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We arrived very close to closing time and still didnt rush us and the service was very good. We all enjoyed our meal. As the other reviews stated it is just like Olive Garden so you know what to expect. We had lots of kids in our party and the menu worked out fine for them too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NextstopNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland.Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you are looking for horrible service of average food, you've come to the right place!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our visit started off on the right foot when the host informed us that Zach was no longer an employee of Carino's. We were looking for an Italian restaurant not named Olive Garden, and despite the mixed reviews, we decided we would give it a whirl. They had a decent deal on Monday's were you can get a family portion of an entree for the price of an individual meal. We settled on lasagna and chicken parm to share among four adults.

We started with an appetizer (calamari) that was maybe the worst we'd ever had. We all ordered salads to go with our meals as well. I can't comment on the salads because we were never served them. After about a half hour wait from the time we first placed our order, a server from the kitchen brought our meals out. When we informed her that we hadn't received our salads yet, she notified our waitress who proceeded to ask if we needed a second helping of salads. She was completely clueless that we had not been served our salads, which shows just how often she had checked back on our table after bringing out our app. Needless to say we skipped the salads and the waitress was kind enough to "take those salads off the bill" for us.

We also had to ask for silverware, napkins, plates, and utensils to serve the family portions. None of this was provided to us without having to inquire. The food was literally just average and I think I'd agree with other reviews that the bread was the best part of the meal. Zach may have been fired, but it appears there is more to it than just one off-putting waiter to Carino's poor customer service issues. Management needs to seriously evaluate their hiring and training practices. This area is in serious need of a Carrabba's!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ncramsey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Johnny Carino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing