We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay there again.”
Review of Norma Dan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Norma Dan Motel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Steve Ellis Tours booked this motel for us. I should have looked at these reviews before we stayed at the Norma Dan. We were there for 3 nights with the first night being the only one we would have time to enjoy the pool. We checked in our rooms and about the time we got the drinks in the frige, unpacked, and kids ready to swim the lobby called and said our room had plumbing problems and we had to move to another room. The indoor pool was nice, wish we could have enjoyed it more. This motel will not cash travelers checks, the internet did not work, and the pillows are very old and flat. There are no chain locks on the doors and with 3 small children we had to go out and buy alarms to put on the doors for their safety. If you want a wake up call be sure to call the lobby before 11:00 PM since they close at that time and the rooms do not have clocks. This is the first motel I have ever stayed in that did not have the chain locks on the doors or clocks in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohwhere2stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 282 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2009

While the room was clean, we had several problems. The internet connection would not work the entire time we were here. The phones also did not work. When my husband went down to the front desk to find out what was going on, the day clerk was very rude. She said they were "working on it" and did not offer why or what the problem was. There was also some wild cats under our balcony and we heard them whining all night long even though the doors/windows were closed. The location was great and within walking distance to many shopping excursions as well as short drive to the Smokey Mountains. We did have a nice balcony with wooden rocking chairs.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

recommended by a friend, have stayed several times , rooms clean , close to everything , love the indoor pool, hope to visit again soon

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeevaalabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

Stay dates..12/10/08-12/11/08..Have stayed at this hotel numerous times in the past 4 years.Had always been clean and rates close to others in the area.Requested a king room with fireplace,have done this more than a few times.Appointed to room 102,chilly day,thought fireplace would be good and a little romantic also.Turn the timer on for the fireplace when we entered the room..doesn't work.Go back to the front desk,are told maintenance will be in to correct,probably pilot light.We leave ,do the tourist thing,come back in 6-8 hrs,note outside door---please come to front desk.In doing so we are moved to another room...this is about 9 pm.Turn the timer on..in 5 minutes the smell is terrible,very concerned at that time,call front desk,someone will be there.A previous guest apparently wanted the flame higher and had adjusted the gas flow to the fireplace,therefore creating a dangerous environment for all.The staff was able to fix this .Room cleaning..moved the ottomans to rest,Mr Cheeto is there,for how long?Upon checkout,asked about additional night,was told 68.00 night,two previous nights were 38.00 each.This is off season.Probably not again,no other effort made to move to another room,after being told this was booked for that night.Checked with other hotels in area for that night ,same room ..better rates,and none of these were full capacity.No wifi for those that like to stay connected,dissappointed after being a regular patron for these years.Will we stay again,probably not.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank toolmerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Stayed at this hotel based on convenience to Dollywood and nearby restaurants.

Sure wish we would have went elsewhere.

Here is the run down:

Check in was quick. No mention of any amenities or breakfast.

Hotel is older property.

There are no deadbolts. Still use keys.

Lawn chairs on balcony were very rusted.

The ceiling had stains from water leak.

The bathroom looked very outdated.

The TV was beat up and looked like something from the 1970's.

The lighting was very dim.

The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. The beds felt like we were sleeping on the floor.

The air conditioning/heating unit did not work properly.

This would be a last resort option.

Unfortunately we can't recommend this property.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincibuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Spent an unexpected night in Pigeon Forge. There was a lady in one of the stores who recommended the Norma Dan to us. We were pleasantly surprised. We have done a lot of traveling due to working on the road in the past and this was by far the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in. Next time we go, we won't have to wonder where we will be staying.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank MarylouLimestone_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

I booked this hotel for 2 nights. I reserved a king room. When we got there I was told we put you down for 2 queens and when I showed her my printed reservation she just said you have queens and handed me the keys. I didn't like that but it wasn't worth getting upset about. Our room was clean and everything in good working order except the dead bolt. It was hanging down but my husband fixed it, not a big problem. We had a 10 cup coffee pot in the room. They provided a standard 4 cup filter pack of coffee but only 1 creamer, sugar pack and sweet-n-low pack. The bed was hard but we slept fine. The hallway on the second floor had a bad odor that I couldn't place. It wasn't cigarette smoke..more like a gas leak smell. It wasn't that thank goodness. It was constant the whole 2 days so we would walk as fast as we could to our room.
The swimming pool outside was filthy. It was full of dead bugs. The one inside was a lot cleaner. Both Hot tubs were stained badly.
Continental breakfast was ok, nothing special. They had cereal, frozen waffles, and toast. I didn't see any donuts or pastries.
It was ok for the price. I doubt I will stay there again but its fine if you just want a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamamaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.4 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#29 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#71 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
#40 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
3.2 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#23 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conner Hill Motor Lodge
Conner Hill Motor Lodge
#49 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norma Dan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norma Dan Motel

Address: 3864 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#24 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#26 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: $41 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Norma Dan Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Norma Dan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norma Dan Hotel Pigeon Forge
Norma Dan Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing