We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the nastiest motel in pigeon forge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River Lodge South Motel
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the nastiest motel in pigeon forge!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Look, be advised, if u want to stay in a clean room, whether it is old or new, River Lodge South is definately not the room you should haVE IN MIND. THE ROOMS WERE DISGUSTING!!!!!!!!!! Cob webs everywhere...the sheets hadnt even been changed from the last people that stayed there. getting any help was a joke! the office was hardly ever even opened for them to help us. It was just an awful place to bring your kids, since they allow drinking on the outside of the motel...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donnarjenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    6
    9
    13
See reviews for
18
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here many years ago when it was new and crisp. I read all the bad reviews and had second thoughts. I am very happy that I ignored those reviews. my room was very clean and well kept. i had a ground floor room with a large Jacuzzi tub and rocking chairs on the back porch. there is a nice grassy yard with picnic tables and charcoal grills overlooking the river. at one point I counted 47 geese walking by my back porch. if you like the new high rises go somewhere else. plenty of towels and great service. I will come back.

Room Tip: ground floor on the end has a great Jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I went down for a few days of needed vacation. This hotel does NOT have a coffee maker, microwave or coffee at the office. The office isn't even open in the morning. Our refrigerator was broke, so they brought us one that worked. When I was leaving I asked why we had to request towels and the lady replied "we only change towels and bed dressing every 3 days". WHAT?? She said "all hotels do that". I told her not any hotels I had ever been too. I told her I could have stayed at a much nicer hotel for a cheaper price. She said "don't book online, because it's more expensive". We also had something on our bathroom floor (??) it was never cleaned. DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pigeon Forge hotels

Rossville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We used to stay at this hotel every single year for years on end (I know I'm a little late). Every year we slowly watched the hotel detiorate and absolutely 0 effort to fix it. On our last vacation our non smoking room reeked of smoke bugs were everywhere, cobwebs, dust, it was awful. We called the front desk and were moved to another room. It was just as bad! Our new room didnt reek of cigarettes as bad but the mattress sure did so we called again and asked to get a new mattress, Kid Rocks look alike shows up with guess what a cigarette in his mouth. Needless to say we cut our trip short and left.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonnyvick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just stayed here 9/6/13 & 9/7/13.. -- cobwebs, spiders, carpet worn, no lightbulb in nightstand lamp, no hairdryer, no coffee pot, commode wobbled, shower curtain torn, no security chain on the door, lid was broken off the air conditioner unit, no iron, no ironing board -- grounds are not maintained [they could be beautiful], cigarette butts everywhere, elevator filthy -- front desk won't answer phone -- they sit outside the office-- office personnel very pleasant but full of excuses, their computer was down, "you'll have to wait until the cleaning lady comes after 9", someone else ?? must have taken our reservation because they could not find it, left a homemade sign on our room 'do not disturb' because we didn't want anyone in our room, came back in the evening .. the sign had been removed & our room cleaned, .. .. but our friends next door did not get cleaned & they had a 'do not disturb' sign on their door that they didn't leave--
room patio was dirty and the 2 chairs were too dirty to use .. need i say more .. no, we did not get a special rate .. it definetely needs more than a little TLC .. raking in the big bucks & not putting one cent back into the investment .. can't see how they'll ever stay in business .. too much competition & lots of nice places there.
We paid $312.06 for 2 nights

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grnmax14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andersonville, tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The carpet was dirty. My grandchildren went bare footed and their feet got filty. There were roaches in the bathroom in the sink and the bath tub. They were on the carpet next to the door. Both my husband and I seen the bugs. Outside the chairs were dirty. Spiders and spider webs on both. The room smelled. The air conditioner made a terrible noise. There were two stacks of bedding stacked in the parking lot entrance. The man checking you in was rude.

Now the plus. My grandchildren loved the ducks.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We only stayed one night unplanned due to a road closure. I was worried because the outside looked a little run down but the room was spotless. No hair dryer or iron that I saw but we never use those anyway. I would stay again. I like the set up of the room, the bathroom acted as a partition between the beds so they are semi-private. The view is not spectacular but there is a nice creek where we saw some ducks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tngirlatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.2 mi away
RiverGate Mountain Lodge & Wedding Chapel
0.1 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#70 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#76 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lazy Bear Inn
Lazy Bear Inn
#75 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge - Parkway
0.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
#55 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Lodge South Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Lodge South Motel

Property: River Lodge South Motel
Address: 3251 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3421
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Lodge South Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your River Lodge South Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Lodge South Hotel Pigeon Forge
River Hotel South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing