We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BUGS and DIRTY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Lodge South Motel
Ranked #81 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Andersonville, tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BUGS and DIRTY”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The carpet was dirty. My grandchildren went bare footed and their feet got filty. There were roaches in the bathroom in the sink and the bath tub. They were on the carpet next to the door. Both my husband and I seen the bugs. Outside the chairs were dirty. Spiders and spider webs on both. The room smelled. The air conditioner made a terrible noise. There were two stacks of bedding stacked in the parking lot entrance. The man checking you in was rude.

Now the plus. My grandchildren loved the ducks.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    6
    9
    13
See reviews for
18
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We only stayed one night unplanned due to a road closure. I was worried because the outside looked a little run down but the room was spotless. No hair dryer or iron that I saw but we never use those anyway. I would stay again. I like the set up of the room, the bathroom acted as a partition between the beds so they are semi-private. The view is not spectacular but there is a nice creek where we saw some ducks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tngirlatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffside, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A friend recommended River Lodge South as an affordable place to stay to help us budget more for activities for our children. When we pulled up into the driveway, I was wondering what we had gotten ourselves into. The inside was so much better than I expected from the looks of the outside. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Yes, it is an older motel, meaning there are upgrades that would be nice, but if you are looking for a clean place to stay that is affordable, I highly recommend it. We really didn't spend much time in the room except to sleep anyway.....we packed our trip full with activities because of the money we saved on lodging. I highly recommend River Lodge South for families on a budget. Also, Gail left our daughter a "birthday surprise". How thoughtful! Thank you!

Room Tip: Microwaves are not standard amenities.....request one when booking. We were on the bottom floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Booked through 3rd party, looked to be a nice motel but turned out to be a crappy place. The air conditioner was not on when we walked in the room so it smelled like moldy smoke. There was a back door for the patio which had goose feces all over. This motel was very outdated, the front desk sometimes wasn't open until 8am. Place reminded me of a motel in a scary movie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WI_girl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pigeon Forge hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

River Lodge is a quiet kept secret! It's affordable, clean, quiet and has decent ammenities for the price. All rooms come with a balcony overloking the river. There is also a picnic area alongside the river that has picnic tables and BBQ grills that can be used. The picnic area is visited daily by ducks and sometimes a rooster! The motel has an outside swimming pool which is noce when the weather is hot. The motel is local righty on the strip so it is accessible to most attractions. There is an array of stores in boutiques within walking distance and plenty of places to grab a bite to eat. Some of the attraction right across the streett include go karting, putt- putt, children's amusement park, and concessions. Across teh parkway is indoor skydiving which is quite an adventure for the adventurous! There is a beautiful waterfall right around the corner. Last but not least, the motel has the BEST STAFF ever. They are friendly, kind, polite and courteous! They go out of their way to make you feel at home! Well worth every cent spent and saved!

Room Tip: Choose non-smoling if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speshelone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I went to the Pigeon Forge area for our Anniversary, and picked (somewhat at random) the River Lodge South Motel. Our room was on the bottom floor and had a back door leading out to a picnic area and river. Every morning there were dozens of ducks and geese that would gather out there. They were beautiful and boy, did they love bread! (side note: several stores in the area sell "duck food" [corn] for about a dollar)
Our room was comfortable and clean, nothing spectacular, but it was nicely decorated and had a cold, small refrigerator. The motel is situated far back from the main road, so it is very quiet at night, and dark... which lead to one of the best night's sleep I have had in a long time! The guy at the desk when we checked out was very friendly and talkative. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If you don't want the ducks/geese to knock on your door and wake you up, ask for something on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MacadamiaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The staff go above and beyond to make you feel like you are on vacation but that you are right at home. Quality people at a quality motel. Being right on the river was a wonderful plus. Beautifully decorated rooms. Some available with fridge, stove, wine cooler, safe & microwave...many amenities and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristihutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.1 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#68 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lazy Bear Inn
Lazy Bear Inn
#70 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge - Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#74 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
RiverGate Mountain Lodge & Wedding Chapel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hotel Pigeon Forge
#69 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Lodge South Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Lodge South Motel

Property: River Lodge South Motel
Address: 3251 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3421
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Lodge South Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River Lodge South Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Lodge South Hotel Pigeon Forge
River Hotel South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing