We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most authentic I've had stateside! ”

Poynor's Pommes Frites
Ranked #6 of 173 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: German, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DIRECTIONS to The Island In Pigeon Forge - a new red light has been installed between lights #3 & #4 for The Island Dr... Turn onto 'The Island Dr.' And we're located under the "Smoky Mountain Wheel" on the right side of the development. "German Food Served FAST" -- Specialty Items Include: Pommes Frites / Belgium Fries & Dipping Sauces, a Variety of Authentic German Sausages / Bratwursts, Fresh Baked Brötchen (German Hard Rolls) and several Desserts including Spaghetti Ice. HOPE TO SEE YA SOON!
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The most authentic I've had stateside! ”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

What an amazing little find in this place. Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. I lived in Frankfurt for a few years and this is best I have had since returning stateside over 20 years ago. Great place and food tastes great! Love it, give it a chance!

Helpful?
Thank MrsJHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    179
    72
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Etowah, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“must visit and revisit”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was by far the best German food we have found here in the states. Very authentic and delicious, everyone should try it. The staff and owner are all very kind and friendly, we will absolutely go back every time we visit PigeonForge TN!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorrisLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Brats and Fries!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A little hard to find if you don't follow the directions. The restaurant is small and hard to see since it's hidden behind the not so hard to see Smokey Mountain wheel. There's a small parking lot right across from the wheel. The best deal is the combo, a brat sandwich, lots of fries, dipping sauce, and a 20 oz. drink for $9.97. Besides 3 types of mustard they also have sauerkraut for your brat. The owner was super friendly and the service was fast.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
“Great place!!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Amazing portions and great food. We each ordered a combo plate and couldn't believe how much food we received ... more than we could eat. The fries are amazing and the dipping sauces make them even better (if that's possible). Been reading great reviews about this restaurant and we are so glad we finally tried it. We will definitely go back very soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful place to Eat”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The owners are very friendly and outgoing. They go above and beyond to make sure you are happy and the food was excellent. The fries are unbelievable and the dipping sauces. Yummy. We loved the parmesan ranch. The brats were very good we had the griller and the smoked. The bread they are on are homemade and smell wonderful baking. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poynor's Pommes Frites also viewed

 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Poynor's Pommes Frites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing