We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oddly impressive.”
Review of Wonders of Flight - CLOSED

Wonders of Flight
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take flight on a giant helium filled tethered balloon ride at Wonders Of Flight. Let your imagination soar to exciting heights up to 500 feet in the air with this new iconic attraction, Wonders of Flight. Experience 360 degree views of the Smoky Mountains and beyond. This is a once in a lifetime experience and an unbelievable price. Only $15.99 + Adults and $9.99 + Kids 12-Under. We open at 10:00 am each day and fly up to 500 feet weather permitting.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
942 reviews
427 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 732 helpful votes
“Oddly impressive.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

OK, you're being carried aloft to 400' under a tethered helium balloon, so this isn't really a thrill ride for most people - like us. However, one of our fellow passengers was terrified of heights, and was white-knuckled for most of the ride. This gave her a nice alternative to a free-flight balloon to a higher altitude, and the operator of the balloon was excellent at assuring that everyone understood what to expect, step-by-step, so there were no surprises for the nervous. The best part is that you get a great panorama around Pigeon Forge - on a clear day such as we had, Mount LeConte was clearly seen south of Gatlinburg.
Probably only a one-time experience, but I'm glad we did it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    80
    26
    13
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My 13 year old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this ~ a ride 400 ft up in a huge. tethered balloon. The 'pilot' was funny and engaging, the view from the ride was amazing and it was just a generally great time for the price. :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristyK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We went on a perfect day to ride, it took us 400 ft in the air! The views were amazing, the staff was friendly, we loved it!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lee-Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our family took the balloon ride up above the city which provided some stunning views! The operator was even nice enough to let my oldest press the "big red button" to begin our descent back down to the ground! Unforgettable experience! Well worth the price of admission!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great way to get a great view.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The weather was perfect for us just a small breeze. So it really offered us an amazing view. My daughter loved it. The price was average for things to do in the area but if you like being high or photography then you should give it a go.

Our balloon operator was very friendly and was able to give us a lot of details on the balloon. As well as a planned new cable going in for a ride that will be over 1 hour ride and going up to a 1000 feet.

I would certainly do again and I plan on it this fall.

My only gripe on my ride was a woman so scared of heights she just sat down blocking people from being able to walk around. So if your scared of heights do others a favor and don't get on.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kilroy238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wonders of Flight also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing