We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, nice pool for kids, Curteous”
Review of James Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
James Manor
Ranked #60 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
kingston tn.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good hotel, nice pool for kids, Curteous”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the James Hotel mostly because it was the cheapest one I found with an indoor pool. We wanted to take the grandkids to Pigeon Forge to stay overnight and go to Dollywood, It had to be a weekend because of school and the fall season is one of the most expensive in that area. So it was important to know I had a room before we got there and found out they were all booked up.
It was a 7 story Hotel within walking distance of " The Island" and had an indoor and outdoor pool, but it was a really rainy day, so I was glad to have the indoor pool. It was great for kids, the water only went up to 5 feet, and there was a nice hot tub too. The only bad thing abut it was the stron chlorine smell that made all our eyes sore and watery, and i didn't like us and the kids breathing it that strong.
It had all the normal amenities, Wi Fi ( although we never did connect) Microwave, refrigerator, hairdryer, etc. smallish TV, table and 2 chairs and a cute little balcony facing the Island, and the Ferris wheel.
The beds were very high and quite firm, but we slept well, the only thing that bothered us was all the light coming through the door from the lighted balconies. Even when we found how to close the enclosed shutters, it was as bright as day in the room, so my grandaughter had brought her own blanket, and draped it over the door, and it was much better.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay, and despite what others have said about it, we found the help at the service desk to be more than friendly and anxious to please. The breakfast was the typical motel breakfast, but it got us through to lunch.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor facing "The Island" and enjoyed that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kit-kat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, Owner at James Manor, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate them very much and are glad that you liked our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    108
    67
    33
    57
See reviews for
210
98
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I booked a room to stay in James Manor six months ago. I was told I would have a balcony room facing the Parkway. I specifically wanted that type of room to be able to view the car show. The cost was almost $200 each night. When I arrived, I was told that my reservation was not paid. Eventually, they discovered that the three night stay was paid in full six moths ago. Then, I was told that my reservation said Parkway view was "preferred" not guaranteed. I was then told that the only room available in the entire hotel was the room that I had to take. I went to the room. It had a hole in the wall and smelled like puke. They told me they were aware of the hole and were not being repaired until after all of the car shows were over. I repeatedly asked for a different room due to the strong smell of vomit. I was offered air freshener. After a very stressful exchange of words, I was offered a different room. I would have left if my payment was refundable. The location is nice, but the the lady at the front desk is rude and they did not honor the reservation or seem to care about renting me a room that had an obvious smell of vomit. The room was not worth the cost and the treatment by the staff was the worst I have ever experienced. Also the beds in the stinky room were OK, but the second room had very uncomfortable beds. Overall, it was a very bad experience.

Room Tip: Get reservation guarantee in writing. I would recommend a different hotel due to the rudeness of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, General Manager at James Manor, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
I apologize for the experience due to some confusion in your booking. There were no rooms available due to full occupancy otherwise you would have been given another room. The hole in the wall was caused by the previous guest which has since been repaired. All of our rooms have got new beds recently and all of our guests are enjoying them.

Once again I apologize and look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pigeon Forge hotels

Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

the last time we stayed here will be the last the management at this hotel has really went down we had some issues with bed bugs and she said she didn't think they were bed bugs and I said what kind of bugs are allowed in your beds and I also agreed to take her up to the room and show her the blood on the pillow where I was bitten numerous times but she said I'm not going up there it took some doing but I got a refund

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

James Manor is in the heart of Pigeon Forge, and is a prime location to stay for any family. However, I think that it may be seen as a pass for a lack of customer service. Keep in mind that they have 3 wonderful, family friendly pools and a nice hot tub. The problem was especially for an extended stay you have to use the towels from your room for both pool and bathing. I called the front desk around 9am after our 2nd day and asked if we could exchange out our towels and was told " uh we have to wash them first", very rudely. It was 7pm later that day before someone came to our floor to clean and finally brought us towels. I find that its the simple things, that make the customer experience memorable. Other than this incident, the hotel was nice, loved the amenities, and how close it is to all the attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesManorStaff, General Manager at James Manor, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks for your comments. We apologize for the towels experience. We have enough towels but on busy weekends like car show days, it becomes more important for us to wash and clean them before we supply them to the rooms. We keep pool towels at the front desk for our guests.

It is so unfortunate that we keep buying 40-50 dozen towels every 4-5 months due to the fact they some guests do steal them and take with them at check out. We cannot check their luggage at check out but that is a fact that they are found missing many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Love staying at James Manor. Always clean we stay here 2 or 3 times a year. The staff is always very friendly. The family suite is also very nice if you want the whole family in the same room. James Manor love the new mat

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank qpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have been staying here 8+ years, at least once a year, sometimes twice. The only complaint we had this year was the pool, it has always been clean in the past but this year just wasn't the same. Enjoyed walking to the Island every night for the music. We love James Manors location.

Room Tip: We always pick a 01 room, they have private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank nickel123101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights July 2013. Our stay was great. I have 3 boys which is sometimes hard to entertain. The pool was nice ( both indoors and out) we were in walking distance of the arcade across the street, the Ferris wheel and aracade behind the hotel , and several places to eat. The staff was helpful and friendly the few times I had questions. I will stay here again when I visit Piegon Forge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Candice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.2 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Shular Inn Hotel
Shular Inn Hotel
#47 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge - Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Grove Inn
Park Grove Inn
#32 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
0.2 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#9 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Manor

Property: James Manor
Address: 2735 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3211
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — James Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 7 storey, 105 rooms hotel located in the heart of the action packed Pigeon Forge (at the foothills of the Smoky Mountain National Park) and within walking distance to moderately priced restaurants and other attractions in the area. The Great Smoky Mountain Wheel sits at the center of The Island in Pigeon Forge, a new shopping, dining and entertainment destination in the heart of the city. Rise 200 feet above the city for the best view of the mountains in one of the climate-controlled, enclosed gondolas on The Great Smoky Mountain Wheel! Don’t forget to stick around after dark and catch the wheel as it lights up for a spectacular LED light show! The Island is located right behind our hotel. Also, the new LeCont Convention Center in Pigeon Forge is scheduled to open in the fall of 2013 and is within a walking distance from our hotel.We are very close to the entrance of the Dollywood Amusement Park and Dixie Stampede. We offer complimentary continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet, exercise room, game room, conference room, indoor heated pool, hot tub and a seasonal outdoor pool with a kiddie pool. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking and is not pet friendly. Large and well-lit parking is available at no extra charge. Our clean and comfortable guest rooms (with 2 queen size beds or a single king size bed) are spacious with private balconies and offer wireless internet and free local calls in addition to refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Our rooms on the front side of the hotel offer great view of the smoky mountains. The city’s trolley stop is conveniently located in front of our hotel. We are also close to many shopping outlet malls. Both Gatlinburg and Sevierville are within short driving distances. We are approximately 10 miles from the Great Smoky Mountain National Park.Come, stay with us and enjoy our Southern Hospitality! Our friendly staff will be happy to help make your stay enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your James Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing