We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful scenery, excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Lodge and Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pigeon Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Bear Lodge and Resort
Ranked #47 of 93 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic lodge, with excellent staff. The breakfast is pretty good too. Right next to the mountain for skiing and walks.

Check out the free guided walks, we did snow shoeing and loved it. Ask at reception for details.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BenSawtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    10
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
46
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have been so busy that I keep forgetting to write me review. However, I found myself daydreaming of another vacation to Pigeon Forge, so I thought why not reveiw it. Mike is such a lovely person. He was so polite. He chatted with us about the area and was just a very genuine person. The cabin felt like home and it was in the perfect location! We celebrated my daughter's birthday there. Our son and our daughter said it was the best vacation they're ever had! I have to agree. I can't wait to go back. Got it all cabin is so centrally located. It's perfect! And what a great price as well!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shaycothern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed at the condos at big bear resort this past weekend, and was absolutely amazed. Beautiful view, great price, exceptionally clean units! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LILQT21KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in Cabin 326. It is very nice. My understanding is that it is not one of the newer cabins but at any rate it was very nice. Very impressed with the cookware in the cabin. When we stay in the cabins, we eat in quite often. A lot of the cabins we have stayed in before did not have decent cookware. This cabin did. The hot tub on the back deck was very nice. My husband enjoyed the open deck on the top floor. He liked sitting out there each night before going to bed. This cabin is very close to the office and the outdoor pool. The indoor pool, recreation room, and exercise rooms are up the hill in the large condo building, but fairly easy to access. Overall, very nice and we would definitely consider staying here again. Warning: If you have a problem with steps, you might want to consider a different unit. This is a one bedroom unit and the bedroom is upstairs. Improvements: This unit does not have a grill for outdoor cooking and there is no internet service in the cabin (although it is available at the pool area and the office - just across the street). Parking is very limited - only enough space for one car which is usually not a problem for a one bedroom cabin.

Room Tip: Ask about outdoor grill, hot tub and steps if these are concerns or things you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrannyPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

Mountain Vista Getaway, Piegon Forge, TN gets 5 stars plus plus. My family of 19 stayed the weekend of 5-13-11. Booked the 6BR Cabin. We had been to Smokey Mts several time. This is the best accomdations we had every experienced. The staff was wonderful. The cabins were spotless and couldnt ask for a better location. Beautiful scenery from the deck. You cant miss it in pigeon forge, tn follow the huge white cross at light #3. We will definetely stay with them the next time we come to Smokey Mountain.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

I went there for New Years Eve with 2 other people, they said the room was redone over, it was the worst place I have ever stayed in. They also had no water, so we could not use the bathroom, our stay was for 3 days and checked out next morning. They refused to refund any money to us and am taking them to small claims court. They make you fill out papers in order to get your key, they have no class at all. I beg you not to ever get a place from Big Baer Resorts. I'm sure when the judge see's this place, and not having any water, they should be ashamed of themselves, but I think they just don't care.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Pinky1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed at the Mountain Vista Getaways (also called the big bear lodge and resort). I was hesitant at first because I was not sure what we were booking. It was fabulous. We had a two bedroom cabin for 4 adults and two children. The cabin was roomy and very well decorated. Also, the cabin was in great condition and very clean. Mountain Vista Getaways is a cabin resort on a hill right off the main Parkway. They have several cabins and a condominium building. No driving up steep mountain drives - very close to the main area - but with enough trees and the hilltop to feel away from it all. There is an indoor and outdoor pool and we also had a hot tub on the back porch. We were able to park right in front of the cabin with plenty of room. We had the top two floors and there was a family staying below us on the lowest floor. It was not a problem. We never heard them. The kids had enough space and we were all happy. Oh, and the jacuzzi bathtub in the master bath was huge! I would stay here again without hesitation and I have been recommending this to my friends. Avoiding that steep mountain drive to a cabin at the top of a mountain - to stay at a cabin on a hill only two minutes from the center of town was fabulous.

Room Tip: Book a cabin on top, not the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cicily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.7 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#6 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wild Bear Inn
Wild Bear Inn
#54 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#8 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#29 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Bear Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Bear Lodge and Resort

Property: Big Bear Lodge and Resort
Address: 2645 Valley Heights Dr, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4347
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#23 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Bear Lodge and Resort offers the perfect opportunity and setting to enjoy your own personal Smoky Mountain experience, as it is located just off the Parkway, in Pigeon Forge Tennessee, and can accommodate any lodging need. If you are interested in a romantic weekend for two, maybe a wedding party, or simply a fun-filled family vacation, the Big Bear Lodge and Resort can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Big Bear is perfect for family reunions, religious retreats, and corporate outings, as well, offering a serene mountain setting along with close proximity to downtown Pigeon Forge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Bear Hotel Pigeon Forge
Big Bear Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing