We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT a good experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoky Shadows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Smoky Shadows
Ranked #66 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Hometown, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT a good experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in the most disgusting hotel we've ever experienced. Even though we were in the 'older' section there is no excuse for the shoddy appearance, rusted door pushes, holes in the walls, lack of paint, clammy and disgustingly filth of the carpets, unprofessionalism of the staff, the laughable continental breakfast. The newer building may be completely different but we will never know. We will NOT be staying at the Smoky Shadows Motel EVER and will alert anyone we know that plays a stay.

Room Tip: Go to another motel !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    101
    53
    48
    180
See reviews for
203
127
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place is the stuff of nightmares. I'm so angry at myself for booking it - we had booked for two nights but checked out after one and cut our losses.
The hotel is disgustingly dirty, nothing works (hairdryer fell off the wall, no wifi, jacuzzi had bugs in it and no water), and the staff we encountered were unpleasant. Perhaps we could have put up with all that if it weren't for the fact that we didn't feel safe - the door and lock were flimsy and the parking lot was full of men loudly drinking, shouting and fighting all night. As two young women travelling alone we were, quite frankly, terrified. I don't know whether these guys were just there for the Rod Run - DO NOT visit Pigeon Forge during this event, but anyway, we couldn't check out of and get away from this place fast enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loladelorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pigeon Forge hotels

Pigeon Forge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

the hotel was very clean and the staff there took real good care of us and are needs . I would stay there again real soon the room service woman was very good we need more plows and she found us some . CLEAN PLACE


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been staying in this place for 5 years and we love it the towers are great clean and both in door and outdoor pool is great wouldn't stay anywhere but here in pigeon forge. thanks for keeping me and my sister coming back again and again

Room Tip: Stay in the Towers they are great very clean place to stay pools are great employees very friendly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondiej62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel has 2 buildings. From the looks of it, your stay can be good or bad depending on which building you are put in. One of the buildings(the one that houses the front desk) is old and run down. I could see into one of those rooms and they were no where near as nice as the one I had. The newer building we stayed in had a beautiful room with a beautiful view of the river. The room was clean, smelled nice, and had a jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxedo, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just Loved this place.. We was surprised how clean the place was! The price was very Good as well. Very Nice Jacuzzi in the room and a very nice indoor heated pool and a very nice outdoor pool . The Motel has a very "Safe" feel to it. Also many wonderful places to eat close by. Pet friendly! Thanks Guys for taking pride in the motel !! Great Job!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLG1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Hill, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

we found a great room that was clean, comfortable and the private balcony overlooking the little pigeon river was the icing on the cake. i did not use the outdoor pool it was to chilly but the inside pool was very warm and clean. there was available handicap parking. the beds were firm with plenty of pillows and covers. the front desk staff was as helpful as anyone could ask for. i plan on staying here again. we stayed september 2012.

Room Tip: never accept the first rate offer, they usually come down in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.1 mi away
Wild Bear Inn
Wild Bear Inn
#57 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
#51 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
River Bend Inn
River Bend Inn
#60 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
1.6 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#67 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lazy Bear Inn
Lazy Bear Inn
#70 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Shadows

Property: Smoky Shadows
Address: 4215 Parkway, Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4011
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smoky Shadows 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Smoky Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoky Shadows Motel And Hotel Pigeon Forge
Smoky Shadows Hotel
Smokey Shadows Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing