We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smoky Shadows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smoky Shadows
Ranked #66 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Tuxedo, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just Loved this place.. We was surprised how clean the place was! The price was very Good as well. Very Nice Jacuzzi in the room and a very nice indoor heated pool and a very nice outdoor pool . The Motel has a very "Safe" feel to it. Also many wonderful places to eat close by. Pet friendly! Thanks Guys for taking pride in the motel !! Great Job!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLG1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    101
    54
    49
    181
See reviews for
204
129
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Church Hill, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

we found a great room that was clean, comfortable and the private balcony overlooking the little pigeon river was the icing on the cake. i did not use the outdoor pool it was to chilly but the inside pool was very warm and clean. there was available handicap parking. the beds were firm with plenty of pillows and covers. the front desk staff was as helpful as anyone could ask for. i plan on staying here again. we stayed september 2012.

Room Tip: never accept the first rate offer, they usually come down in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Knot, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband booked a room at this hotel in April 2013, after reading the reviews I cancelled the room a few hours later. We were charged for the room one week after he had booked the reservation for (that I had cancelled). The hotel staff is by far the rudest people we have ever come into contact with, they refuse to discuss the matter at all. We have been hung up on and told that they are slammed and to call back, only the be told the same thing. The supposed manager said that we checked in because that's the only way they charge a card, but when my husband asked for the information that he would have had to given upon check in she too hung up on him!!!!! We have been back and forth with this hotel for almost a month now and still have not been refunded the money that NEVER should have been taken by this hotel. It amazes me how they know they have made the mistake of charging us but REFUSE to admit to their mistake and make it right. COMPLETELY FRUSTRATED!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pigeon Forge hotels

Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Disgusting...my family and I rented a room for one night on July 28th. The outdoor pool was so filthy and smelled like a pond. Free breakfast was grits and coffee....not even any juice or milk. The wifi didn't work. The beds were as hard as a cement slab. There is a small sitting area outside near the pool that the hotel allows the drunks to sit and drink during the late hours of the night. The best part... when we were getting ready to leave, my kids noticed two ducks swimming in the outdoor pool. Guess that explains the smell and why it looks so nasty. We really aren't picky people we just want a clean bed and to feel safe where we stay. Smoky Shadows is a horrible run down motel....don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We drove five hours to learn Expedia had NOT booked our reservations at The Econo Lodge Riverside which is an excellent hotel. We had to wait four hours for Expedia to find us a room since all hotels were booked. They ended up sending us to Smoky Shadows which really should be named Sleazy Shadows. The pictures they have posted must have been taken 20 years ago. The front lobby has windows boarded up holding air conditioners and smells of smoke. The hallways are dark and smelly. When we walked in the room it had a musty odor. The door to the balcony had mini blinds that were broken and hanging. The rail on the 6th floor balcony was loose and I had to keep the door locked so my toddler could not get out there. The tub was missing handles, there was red stains on the bedspreads, the beds were very hard, and the carpet was sticky. I did not let my children get under the covers or even take their shoes off. We stayed one night and cancelled the rest of our week. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Smoky Shadows about 8 years ago with a large group of our family and wanted to come back again. Yes the hotel is quite different from then and you can tell that the owners have let it run down as if they did not care as long as they made a buck. We stayed from 7/22-7/24. While we were there the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a light bulb blow in our room and when I went to report it I found out that they were short staffed due to a new take over by new owners. YEAH! We were told that the new management was taking over during our stay. The new owners would be coming in and fixing all that the previous owner neglections and that things will be better. As for the naysayers about this hotel the staff can only work with what they are given. The pool was in the front of the hotel (in which they are getting a new one)and no different than any of the other hotels with it in the same location (you walked across 4 parking spaces at the most). There was a limited continential breakfast (they did not advertise a full breakfast) and the pictures on line were of the hotel a few years ago but that is no fault of the staff. It is obvious that the now previous owner did not care about the staff or the people that stay at the hotel (this was made clear when we were told by pizza hut that they could not deliver there because the owner wanted a kick back from pizza hut business at his hotel). Apparently he was money hungry because they did rent out some rooms weekly and did not do that when we first visited with the larger group. I am glad that he sold out and my family and I look forward to returning to see the improvements of the new owners (by the way good choice on your new management) and I hope that you can retain your friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room in the tower, very spacious and it is in the newer building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonyarobinson5377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a nice experience in the Smokey Shadows. The desk service was really nice (Ms Donna Evans at reception was very helpful). We booked through a third party and had to wait a little bit, for which the management upgraded us for a suite. Overall we had a pleasant stay and the river view from the balcony was great. Not very far from downtown Gatlinburg - its a good place to stay. I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGAUTAMAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.1 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.6 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#68 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Bear Inn
Wild Bear Inn
#55 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
River Bend Inn
River Bend Inn
#60 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
#54 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lazy Bear Inn
Lazy Bear Inn
#70 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Shadows

Property: Smoky Shadows
Address: 4215 Parkway, Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4011
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smoky Shadows 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smoky Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoky Shadows Motel And Hotel Pigeon Forge
Smoky Shadows Hotel
Smokey Shadows Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing