We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Place to Stay”
Review of Smoky Shadows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smoky Shadows
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Nicholasville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a Place to Stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Upon arrival everything seemed ok...other than the police showing up..which was probaly due to the meth lab bust on 4/4/13. (which we unaware of at the time).very disappointed with room..due to having mini blinds on door that were almost destroyed.. Our daughters room did not have a hair dryer, or SHOWER CURTAIN...dogs in the next room barked constantly...after three phone calls to the front desk, Donna was the only one who offered to help resolve the issue. Rick her co-worker didn't bother to help or pass the information along to her at the beginning of her shift. But thank you Donna for trying. Pool way over chlorinated...so strong..burned your eyes. These things may seem trivial..but not when u are paying good money for a room. The most important...they advertise free WIFI; however, they have NO INTERNET ACCESS. So please beware of the websites that indicated free wifi. They first told my husband to drop our firewall on our computer...Ummmm...absolutely not..when I returned to the desk the next morning to inquire about the wifi...the lady who was working...a friend of the owner..indicated that they DO NOT HAVE IT ALL...and to try to connect to twin mountains. Can we say FRAUD!!! Please rethink before staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    101
    55
    51
    183
See reviews for
207
135
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

PIGEON FORGE (WATE) - Four people were arrested Thursday (4/4/13) after Pigeon Forge police discovered an active meth lab in a motel room.

Police received a tip about a suspected meth lab at the Smoky Shadows Motel on the Parkway around 2 p.m.

Upon investigation, they found the active lab inside a room and quarantined four total rooms at the motel.

Theodore Collett, 49, of Kodak, was arrested and charged with promotion of meth as well as possession of drugs and paraphernalia.

Christopher Wise, 44, of Kodak, was arrested for meth promotion.

Cheryl Dexter, 65, of Knoxville, was arrested for meth promotion and possession of paraphernalia.

And Pamela Anders, 34, of White Pine, was arrested and charged with meth promotion and paraphernalia possession.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank REDRAMJAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pigeon Forge hotels

Kingsport, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Mold, mildew, no heat, no hot water, no wifi, indoor pool was cold and green, blood on sink, old food in fridge, and breakfast was grits or erasing bran with over watery OJ. Management refused to refund our money or give us a different room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meerandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Showed everything going smooth had a seventh floor room with hot tub, personal balcony and river view. I get to the back parking lot its trashed. (Keep in mind the only reason I am staying here is indoor pool.) I overlook it thinking maybe they didnt know. I make my way to the pool which is the only way to get to the elevator for the seventh floor. The pool is green. Im upset but let it go because there is a hot tub in my room. Well I make it to the elevator to find out its being repaired. I wait about 15 minutes its repaired. Ask the elevator repair man if its safe he is very rude. So finally I make to my room to find the jets on the hot tub filthy. Needless to say I got a refund and left.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nothard2please88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Too much money.The outlets didnt work, smelt awful,the people theat worked there was okay .The jacuzzi was a little .The outdoor pool was green. I didnt enoy our stay to me it was a waste of time at the hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just checked out..Room was much higher than they said it would be, no wii fii and the TV 5 static channels. The blinds had slats missing so it was a straight shot into the jacuzzi from outside, no room cleaning or towels for three days. As a repeat customer I will find other accommodations. FYI as far as the kids the pool had a moderate green color. There was a nice couple as I checked out who offered a discount the next time I am there.. The manager there couldn't have cared less.

Room Tip: go anywhere but here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at smoky shadows for presidents day. We paid over 100$ for one night and i have to say it was awful. Two of the outlets didn't work, the room smelled if cigarettes and mildew and the tv didn't work. There was not even a hair dryer. We went to the front desk and all they said is well that is all we have. They didn't even offer us another room. I would have been more comfortable sleeping in my car than that bed that felt like a slab of concrete.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LATASHA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.6 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#69 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wild Bear Inn
Wild Bear Inn
#59 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#29 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Days Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
#55 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
739 reviews
3.4 mi away
River Bend Inn
River Bend Inn
#64 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
415 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#76 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Shadows

Property: Smoky Shadows
Address: 4215 Parkway, Smoky Shadows Motel And Conference Center, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4011
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Smoky Shadows 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Smoky Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smoky Shadows Motel And Hotel Pigeon Forge
Smoky Shadows Hotel
Smokey Shadows Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing