We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do they know how to run a hotel.”
Review of Country Cascades

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Cascades
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2007

OK, My family and I were on our way to Gatlinburg, and decided to stay one nite in Pigeon Forge and boy was it a nite.

First of all, the MGR was the one at the desk to greet us, And man Mary Mary was not quite contrary, she was so short with us and to busy talking to apparently her staff, (WHOM WAS LETTING HER DO ALL THE WORK) and then when we finally got to our room, it was not even clean. A housekeeper told me she was getting to it next, so we waited in the lobby area with discusting cookies and day old coffee. While we were there alot of nicely dressed people walked passed us and did not even greet us or give us the time of the day, My wife asked the Desk Gal whom they were and apparently it was the OWNERS and Corporate People.

When we got to our rooms it stunk, they offered a OZONE machine and guess what it stunk worse. So I came down after 10 minutes and said "I CAN NOT STAY HERE. And although they refunded my money MARY was not very friendly about it, and looking on this site I am not the only one it has happened to here.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank LOSTINYONKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,231 - 1,237 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2006

My husband and I decided to get away for a while and decided to take a little trip to Pigeon Forge.
They have these wonderful old car shows there! We both love old cars and most car shows charge an arm and leg to get into one of their shows! Pigeon Forge lets these beautiful cars come and park all over town! What a work of art!! And it's all free! You can walk around looking at them all day. We really enjoyed our stay at the Country Inn and Suites. Everyone at the front desk was so nice! The lobby was very cozy with it's fireplace, birdcage and wooden staircase! The guests were all friendly as well. There were a few guests who were a little obnoxious, but you have that anywhere you go. One thing I really noticed was the halls, lobby and floors were always clean! The hotel is back off the main road and if we wanted to drive anywhere we could just take the back road that runs parallel to the main road otherwise we were close enough to walk. We liked having inside hallways. We also liked being able to sit down by the river at the pic nic tables and enjoy the beautiful views!!
We will certainly come back and stay here the next time we return to Pigeon Forge!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank creativemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

My husband just returned from a year long stay overseas in Iraq. We were married shortly before he left and when he returned we wanted a romantic getaway.
BEWARE OF THE PHOTOS of this motel. We booked a room in the Executive Suite with the jacuzzi and fireplace. The photos on line look really nice, must have been taken when the motel was first built.
First, when you walk in the motel, the smell of chlorine is ovewhelming.
The room: the furniture was so old and the 2 chairs had rips in the material.
The armoir that held the t.v. looked as if a child had used it to play with metal cars as a track.
The jacuzzi didn't look all that clean, there was no shine.
Even the flowers on on fireplace looked like someone had sat on them.
We were told we would have a balcony...no.
For what we paid, we were very disappointed. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. Overall, it did not have a feeling of being clean. The blankets on the bed must have been put in the dryers too long for they were sticky on the edges.
We are not hard to please, later we found a quaint little motel, with comfortable beds, extremely clean for a lot less money.
Please don't go by the photos. They are decieving. They were to our room anyway. Maybe they have nicer rooms, but we were disappointed in the one we got.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank nkd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

After staying in a Country Inn & Suites in Roanoke I was looking forward to my stay in Pigeon Forge. When we arrived Aug.6 we were highly disappointed. Lobby doors were filthy looked like they had not been cleaned for awhile. When we checked into our room we found dirt on the floor and bedding in poor shape,also had an odor in the room.We asked to see another room and were given one it was better but not much.Overall appearance of property was poor. Trash cans in hallway and lobby always full. Breakfast area small and in need of cleaning, toasters did not always work, and the 24 hour microwave was filthy.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I felt the staff was not very caring. Unless the "bosses" were around.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank derf226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

This review is for the Country Inn & Suites in Pigeon Forge, TN. My wife & I spent 7 days visiting the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg/ Cherokee areas the last week of July 2006. On the first leg of our trip we stayed 5 nights at the Country Inn & Suites on Sharon Dr. in Pigeon Forge so we could enjoy both PF & Gatlinburg. We then packed up and drove down to Cherokee, NC and spent the last 2 days at a Holiday Inn Express.

We have stayed at Country Inn & Suites in several other states and have always enjoyed our room and stay. But we were very disappointed in the CS&I in Pigeon Forge. Although our room was as nice & clean as our past visits to other CI&S, we soon found several major problems we hadn't encountered at the others. Problems that will cause us to re-think our choice of hotels on future trips.

The first thing we noticed was that this CI&S didn't seem to be as well insulated or built to block the noise coming from neighboring rooms or up and down the hallway. Throw in the fact that Pigeon Forge attracts families with LOTS of children and this is without a doubt one of the noisiest hotels we have ever stayed at. The doors to the rooms definitely need some type of rubber seal around them to soften the noise when they shut. They close with a VERY loud SLAM. We heard SLAM! SLAM, SLAM, SLAM at all hours of the day & night for 5 days.

Another problem was the free Continental breakfast they offered. My wife and I don't mind spending our money on a nice time or meals and don't expect a free ride when we go out, even back home. Like most people we work hard for our money and want to enjoy ourselves with the limited vacation time that we have. We've always been willing to spend a little extra to get the room on the ocean, the best seat at a show, or for a great tasting meal. We knew from using this forum plus talking to others who had visited the PF area recently that one of the problems you will encounter is the HUGE crowds, long lines and waits at area restaurants, along with some VERY high prices. We soon found this too be VERY true, especially when they add on a sales tax of around 10%. Even using the coupon books you find in every lobby you can expect to pay some outrageous prices for some very average tasting meals. And a few that are just plain lousy. Some of the area eating establishments could teach OPEC a few things when it comes too price gouging!

One of the main reasons we picked the CI&S in PF was the great breakfast's we have enjoyed at others in the past. Egg & sausage patties, biscuits and gravy, french toast, waffles and many other goodies that save us time and money that we can spend on other activities. Not so at the Pigeon Forge CS&I. Their breakfast SUCKS!!!!. Not even some cheap toaster waffles or pancakes! Once in a while a CS&I employee would pass through to refill the luke warm milk, juice or dry doughnuts and bagels. Then throw in the crowds of kids mentioned above trashing everything, spilling food and juice everywhere, and the breakfast area looked like a garbage dump after an hour or so. We saw quite a few other guests leave in disgust. So we had to go out and stand in long lines and pay high prices for breakfast!

And you can forget about using the indoor or outdoor pools as rowdy groups of kids take over and trash these areas, which are only cleaned in the mornings. Dirty wet towels, food wrappers, plastic bottles and trash laying everywhere. Tables and chairs knocked over, etc. We understand that it's the parents fault for not keeping their kids under control but it's also the responsibility of hotel management to step in when they don't to make sure rules are followed so all guests can enjoy their stay. You couldn't lay out, relax, drink a cup of coffee or read a book or the paper anywhere close to the pool area because of rowdy kids. There are signs posted in both pools stating "No Diving". But every day there would be a pool full of screaming kids doing "Cannonballs" and generally trashing the pool areas

And you can forget about complaining to the staff at this CS&I since many we encountered spoke broken English at best. We soon found out from some of the locals that many hotels and businesses in the PF/GB area have found a source of cheap labor by hiring foreign students from Europe who come here on work visas so the can earn money to attend US colleges. Young workers from Europe and the former Soviet block nations are everywhere. It's almost refreshing when you finally meet a local with a Southern accent. So many hotels are being bought out by foreigners that the ones that have not put "American Owned" on their signs out front.

Also we found that this is one of the few hotels in the PigeonForge/Gatlinburg area that doesn't have a balcony on the rooms. This may not seem important to those that haven't visited this area. But once you see the gorgeous mountain views and scenery, you'll understand why the vast majority of hotels in this area have balconies. If we had it to do over we would have driven the 7 miles into Gatlinburg and stayed at one of the many hotels built right along the mountains streams and rivers that pass through this gorgeous town. You can kick back on the balcony here and enjoy the sights and sounds of a crystal clear mountain stream coming down out of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Although PF has some balconies overlooking streams they just don't compare to the ones down the road in Gatlinburg, TN. Regardless of where you stay in the PF/GB area we DO NOT recommend the Country Inn & Suites in PF after the problems we had there.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Ron802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mobile, AL
27
Reviewed July 4, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Country Inn for 5 nights in Pigeon Forge. The hotel is located just off the main road, which I thought was good. Less congested, and easily accessible. As you first walk in the hotel, there is a slight chlorine smell from the indoor pool. I loved the staff! Everyone could not have been more courteous and eager to be of assistance. The room was clean, with the look of most hotels. There was a small fridge on the floor (would have been nicer if it had been on a table of something). I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wellsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.8 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,545 reviews
0.6 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#10 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#23 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,917 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#29 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,075 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Cascades

Address: 204 Sharon Dr, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3219 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#17 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#18 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: $59 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Cascades 2.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Cascades Outdoor Waterpark Resort is a 236 room non-smoking hotel. Featuring two major slide attractions, RiverChaser and RiverRun, as well as Splashaway Bay, a water activity center. Grandmas' Kitchen offers a full hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Cascades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Cascades Hotel Pigeon Forge
Country Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing