We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better experience than I thought it would be.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pigeon Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pigeon Forge Gatlinburg KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Minerva, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better experience than I thought it would be.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's located along a busy road, but at night you wouldn't know it. It is a great location. Even on the weekend, there were kids playing but everyone was quiet when it was time to be quiet. No riff raff.
The shower houses were clean except for the gnats. They seemed to have a lot of them, but they were everywhere throughout town, though.
The staff was pleasant and they always seemed to have someone patrolling for litter.
I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    52
    29
    5
    13
See reviews for
99
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

So what exactly qualifies this place for Presidential award from corporate? This KOA seems to manage the heavy tourist crowds well. After traveling for 17 years on the road staying at KOAs, here's what makes this KOA exceptional:
1. They have a work out room, tho we didn't use it :)
2. Pool - the rock landscape is very nice
3. Grounds are well kept, no overgrown grass or weeds
4. Bathrooms and showers always clean
5. Friendly staff
6. Location. Location. Location. Just down street from Dollywood. Not on busy main strip.
7. Separate kitchen sink and cook stove for cabins
The only bad thing I can say is the front sign didn't stay lit which makes the place easy to pass by in dark of night. We stayed in a two room camping Kabin and had plenty of room, though I can see where the spaces seem tight. Par for the course being in a heavy tourist area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in one of the "Deluxe Cabins" during our trip. The cabins were great, very roomy, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen and could easily sleep 6. The price was a little high as we could have got quite a nice hotel room for about the same or probably less. The campground itself wasn't terrible, but seemed a little tight if you had a trailer or RV. The staff was very friendly and did a great job. The KOA here is located in a very good location, not directly on the strip, but within very short walking distance.

Overall if you want to spend the money, you won't be disappointed in the deluxe cabins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank btg172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were here a week in a trailer .we are boxed in .they allow the large trailers to park on top of u and they said it is ok. The staff do not care. A worker almost hit my grand kids with a ridding mower while they were at the play ground. The game room has machine not working. Our grill feel over can not use it. They let large trailer park the trucks on top of us so we have no room for picnic table the people with large trailer moved it and the office will not take care of it. We r boxed in. Bathrooms dirty. We were here a day (two of us) and was told we stopped up the sewer system(really) for the whole campground . Don't stay here look elsewhere you would b happier and the price per night is way to high. Wish I would have read reviews first from now on we will . Know you have been warned

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the first time we've stayed at this KOA. We generally favor KOAs over others because we feel they have standards. This is located very close to "the strip" in Pigeon Forge. Convenient for those wanting to hit the amusements, shops, restaurants and shows. The staff is very friendly (although most were college students). Amenities are above average: nice pool, average store, nice bathrooms, laundry, even a fitness room. Our biggest issue is the configuration of the campground. There are a handful of true pull-thru sites. The other so-called pull thru sites (about 60% of the other sites) are too narrow and short, and require you to pull thru another site's grassy area (if there's room). Site numbering is also very confusing as they are from the "pull-thru direction, not the side your site is actually located. An escort to the site would help. Tree placement is also a problem. When they built the campground, the landscaper was obviously not an RV'er. Back when trailers were smaller and had no slide-outs, this was probably not an issue. We had to back-in our 34' fifth-wheel off a narrow roadway with many vehicles parked right against the roadway. Having a long-bed truck made this difficult. All the center section "pull-thru" sites are at 90 degrees to the road. If they had built them at an angle, it would have been much better. Once situated, it was pretty good, although the site behind us had two vehicles, one of which was parked right next to our living/dining slide. We did scope out other campgrounds in the area and didn't find any that were better (most were even more jammed together). Most of the sites are paved with a concrete patio pad and have a small grassy area. If you're here to see Pigeon Forge, it's a good choice. You can walk to the central trolley station and for $2.50 get an all day wristband and go anywhere in the area.
Overall the stay was good. Having the hassle of squeezing into the site after navigating the mountain roads did not create a good first-impression.

Room Tip: If you have a large rig (> 45') make sure you reserve one of the premium pull-thru sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It is hard to believe that this KOA is located in the middle of town right on the "strip". The trees, crickets and tree frogs drowned out the sounds of the city. It seemed like we were in the country. Our campsite was located in the back of the campground near the river. Very nice pool with a 1' kiddie area and a hot tub. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for getting around town with a trolley stop at the entrance. Only drawback was that they bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often. A sign stated that they were cleaned between midnight and 1am and noon and 1pm. The midnight to 1am cleaning never happened during our 6 day stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a site in the back of campground to be further off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidUSMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our family had 2 sites at this campground. The two with water and electric hook-ups were nice size sites. But people walked through the site coming and going to the walking track at the adjacent park regularly. Music from across the river was heard all evening long. One family was in a very small one room cabin that had a very moldy air conditioner problem that made them miserable. When they talked to the person at the desk about it, they got NO satisfaction but were told their employees check the AC units daily and so there couldn't be mold in there. And they paid $193 for 3 nites of that misery. The bathroom was littered and the men's had extremely low water pressure in the shower. Our last morning there the men's bathroom had BM on the floor of the only two stalls. The wi-fi did NOT work for any of us. I put in the PW and it said I was connected, but when I'd try to get anywhere, it said I was NOT connected to the Internet. A family of skunks visited our sites both nights. We did not visit the pool, that was VERY crowded. We asked about putting our trailer on the site before check-in time and were told we could for $5/hour before check-in time. They are definitely all about money - not service at this establishment. To pay the exorbitant nightly rate of $47 for a campsite and then have such to deal with was very distasteful. We surely will NOT return to camp there when we can camp for less than half that very nearby and have clean bathrooms with good pressure and wi-fi that has been faultless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marijayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
2.2 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bear Cove Village
Bear Cove Village
#18 of 53 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Forge Gatlinburg KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Forge Gatlinburg KOA

Property: Pigeon Forge Gatlinburg KOA
Address: 3122 Veterans Blvd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Pigeon Forge
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have too many changes for 2015 to list them all! This year we are expanding our recreation and have added a Jumping Pillow, Gaga Pit, Frisbee Golf, New Playground, Cornhole, Tetherball and Planned Activities. If that's not enough to keep you busy, check out our new meeting room for your family or group's event! We also have a new RV and boat storage area. Check out our nee Deluxe Cabins and Camp Sites! Campers also appreciate comfortable campsites along the Little Pigeon River as well as tent sites. Enjoy the NEW zero-entry kiddie pool with a rain tree and new Kamp K9 Pet Park. Explore the area: Start with Dollywood theme park (your hosts offer discount tickets which are cash or travelers checks ONLY). You'll find wild rides, a musical theater, the Dolly Parton Museum, local crafts, shops and restaurants. Cross the road to Dollywood's Splash Country for a load of water fun. Take the city trolley right from KOA to the Dollywood entrance and also through the cities of Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg and Sevierville. There are great musical shows in the neighborhood, including the Dixie Stampede which is a half of a mile from us. The Island in Pigeon Forge offers shopping/entertainment. LeConte Center is less than a mile away. Go skating at Ober Gatlinburg resort's indoor ice rink or hiking in the Great Smoky Mountains. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing