We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Photo Tour/Training”

Taking Better Photos Tours
Ranked #8 of 20 Tours in Pigeon Forge
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "Taking Better Photos" is a Smoky Mountain tour company specializing in historical tours in the National Park. We also partner with Gatlinburg Walking Tours Food tour to offer two unique experiences. At each stop on the photo tours, in addition to learning some of our local history from an experienced tour guide and story teller, we practice different settings and tips to improve your photography skills. Seeing the National Park through your camera lens, be it a camera, smart phone, or tablet, is a unique way to experience the park that very few people have the opportunity to do. For more information on the food tours, please see the page for Gatlinburg Walking Tours.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Fun Photo Tour/Training”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The day was fun and well worth attending. Jim's presentation was very informative and entertaining, and it was obvious he has a real passion for this endeavor. Not only did he present practical tips on taking better photos but included a lot of interesting history relating to the people of the Smoky Mountains area. Also, the group was very friendly and a pleasure to be a part of. I look forward to joining another session, perhaps in the spring.
Thanks again, and best of success to ya'!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RayY77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    4
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbellsville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A day well spent! Jim Eastin - Taking Better Photographs”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

After spending a good part of a day with Jim and the class "Taking Better Pictures", not only am I a more competent taker of photos, but I also have a renewed interest and love for the Smoky Mountains. Jim doesn't just teach you how to use your camera and take better pictures, he brings the area to life with history and stories and takes you to little known places off the beaten path. Jim's class / tour was the highlight of my trip and I would HIGHLY encourage anyone to take the time to enjoy this great opportunity.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This is excellent for locals and tourist alike.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I am a local to this area but decieded to take this tour with my mom so I could learn a little more about the camera i currently have. This tour was great not only for the photography class but also about the history of the beautiful area of The Great Smoky Mountains. Jim was an excellent guide and knew so much about the area. I grew up in this area and was amazed by the history he knew and told about. I learned so much more about photography. This was a great class for both locals and tourist, you may be surprised about what you will learn. I would like to take his other classes when he offers them.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinekisses71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Insight”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Took the class with my daughter and grand-daughter. Jim Eastin was colorful, fun and full of insights into how to take better pictures by understand the technology and the function of light in creative imaging. Wonderful experience with long-lasting results.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Smoky Mountain Photography Class”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Last Saturday was a perfect day. The leaves were changing in our beautiful Smoky Mountains and I attended Jim Eastin's Taking Better Photo's class in Pigeon Forge. It was very informative and fun, then we all enjoyed lunch together and headed out to capture some great memories. I highly recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn how to use their camera better and truly make better pictures. Jim makes it a lot of fun and easy to understand so if you have a day to spend taking this class-it is definitely worth your time and it wasn't expensive at all!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taking Better Photos Tours also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Taking Better Photos Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing