We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cabin in Perfectly Secluded...”
other travelers have booked this property
Private deck of moonshine cabin with views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private deck of moonshine cabin with views
Snow covered Mt. Leconte views from the deck of moonshine cabin view from front walkway of moonshine cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
152 reviews
Private deck of moonshine cabin with views
Snow covered Mt. Leconte views from the deck of moonshine cabin
view from front walkway of moonshine cabin
moonshine cabin kitchen. Fully equipped
moonshine cabin great room
6 person spa
new sofa and love 2016
Cove Mountan Views
Cloudy May 6 2011
side yard views
Cabin in the fall
Fall views
moutain laurel along the drive way
Kitchen fully equipped
new hot tub cover and lift.
spring 2012
Little visitor
Snowy Thanksgiving 2013
taking down tree's to maintain the views
Momma and 2 cubs at the Cabin late September 2015
new furniture 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 152 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
McTravele...
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cabin in Perfectly Secluded & Convenient Location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful three night stay in Moonshine Cabin, and we couldn't be happier with our experience (well, maybe if the rain had stayed away). It's rare to find such a perfect combination of convenience, seclusion, amenities, and value in one package.

The location of the cabin is perfect -- it's literally a 5 minute drive off the Parkway just outside Pigeon Forge, but seemingly a world away from all the congestion. The view from the deck is spectacular, with nothing but mountains in every direction and only a few other cabins within view. Because of the elevation of this cabin, nearly all of your neighbors are below you and hidden away behind the tree canopy. Honestly, you'd need a powerful pair of binoculars to even see most of the other cabins. And my guess is that once all the leaves are back on the trees, you'll see even fewer neighbors. This is rare in the Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge area where many cabins are stacked on top of each other like dominoes.

Check in and check out was a breeze. Ken (the owner) emailed us an informational packet several weeks before our stay. We filled everything out and emailed it back to him, and that was it. Entry to the cabin is via keypad, so there was no need to pick up or drop off any keys. We had no issues during our stay, so we literally never heard from or talked to anyone while we were there. I imagine if we had needed assistance, we could have called for it. But we were actually very happy to not have any interruptions to our stay.

The cabin itself is cozy, well decorated and stocked with nearly everything you'll need should you choose to stay in and avoid the crowds. There is even a two car attached garage for secure parking. It's clear that this cabin started out as a log home and was later converted to a rental property. The two bedrooms are a bit smallish with queen beds that take up most of the room. However, the bed we slept on was very comfortable and was more than adequate for my wife and I. Neither bedroom has an attached bathroom, but we think that is because the game room once served as the master bedroom in the house before it was converted to a cabin. It's really not a big deal, but if you're traveling with kids or another couple and prefer to be able to walk to and from the shower privately, you'll need to bring a robe.

In terms of cleanliness, we were very happy with everything except the dishes in the kitchen. Most of the glassware and utensils had a powdery residue (most likely from dishwasher soap that had not fully dissolved or rinsed away). Judging by the cleanliness of the bathrooms and hot tub, I'd say this was probably just an oversight by the cleaning crew. We washed everything by hand while we were there to be sure the dishes were clean. By the way, there is no garbage disposal in the kitchen sink, which just means you need to scrape everything clean prior to washing. Not a big deal.

As far as entertainment goes, we loved the pool table and dart board in the game room, as well as the two flat screen TVs. The only slight frustration we had was with the two DVD players. We brought a couple of movies that we had planned on watching, but could not get either one of them to play in either DVD player (both looked like older models). We ended up watching some movies on HBO instead, but we would suggest the owner have a repair man take a look at the DVD players or perhaps just replace them with newer models or BluRay players to update the technology. The other minor inconvenience was the limited-use WiFi. It would have been nice to be able to have my Kindle hooked up to WiFi the whole time, but I kept having to disconnect to make sure I didn't exceed the usage limit. However, we were very happily surprised to find that we had decent cell phone reception (AT&T), which allowed us to stay connected with our kids, check the weather, etc.

The deck itself is very spacious with a great gas grill, two lounge chairs, an outdoor dining table, and of course, the hot tub. The only thing that would have made the outdoor area even better would be some kind of fire pit for roasting marshmallows, etc. Probably our favorite feature of the cabin was the hot tub. It appears to be an older model, but was very clean and recently had a new pump and (fairly quiet) motor installed. There is plenty of room for 4 people (6 would be doable, but a bit crowded). We loved that the hot tub is located out on the open deck and not hidden away behind a privacy fence. It was very romantic, relaxing in the hot tub and sipping some adult beverages under the stars each night. This is where the privacy and spectacular views are definitely worth every penny.

Speaking of pennies, this cabin was very reasonably priced for everything you get. We would not hesitate to return for another stay, and we feel very fortunate to have found the perfect cabin on our first attempt. On a past trip, we stayed in a lodge right off the strip in Gatlinburg, and we much prefer the seclusion of a cabin. For a romantic getaway or a family stay away from the chaos, Moonshine Cabin gets two very big thumbs up from us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and deck with spectacular views
Liked least: The driveway would be difficult to maneuver if you don't have a 4WD vehicle
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewed March 25, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
Reviewed March 17, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bboncompt...
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Moonshine Cabin where dreams come true”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We all agreed to fly in to the Mountains for a much needed getaway, my husband and I, along with close friends celebrating their 10 anniversary. No kids this time. We picked a great location on the edge of Pigeon Forge, just before Gatlinburg. There are endless things to do in both towns or close by zip lining, river rafting, ATV’s, horseback riding, hiking, biking, go-karts, dinner theater, sight-seeing in the smoky mountain park, and the list goes on and on. We have done most of these in the past. What we really needed was to get away and relax and that's exactly what we found at the Moonshine Cabin. Once we arrived at the cabin it took our breath away, the location is spectacular. And it really did relax us upon contact. Both guys and girls enjoyed playing pool while they sipped some good Tennessee whiskey, all along enjoying the wonderful view outside.
It’s a beautiful cabin with gorgeous surroundings and lots of details. The deck has a fabulous view of the Smoky Mountains; it has a grill we used for some great steaks and a working Jacuzzi, which we also enjoyed while enjoying the night sky. Very romantic!
The décor of the cabin was very nice, modern and comfortable. We could have brought two more guests if we wished. My Floridian husband loved to play with the fireplace since firewood was provided, but not needed. The cabin was well stocked for possible things we might need, and the management team was always friendly and available for any questions or concerns. It was apparent early on, within hours of our arrival at the cabin we had accomplished our mission, we felt at home and we did not leave the cabin unless we had to.
If you are planning to visit this area or make a stop, the Moonshine Cabin is a place where dreams come true, don’t pass it up. We all highly recommend it and we hope to visit again real soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the location.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed February 14, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atmore
Reviewed February 10, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing