We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow Service, Mediocre Food, Ridiculous Price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Thirsty Miner

Thirsty Miner
Ranked #145 of 173 Restaurants in Pigeon Forge
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Mediocre Food, Ridiculous Price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Ate dinner on Valentine's Day here. For three people, it was $67 for the buffet, which was nothing but typical mediocre buffet food (which was probably comparable to buffet food at Golden Corral or Ryan's). We waited close to 10 minutes for a server to even come take our drink order and so we could ask for just the price of the buffet. We ended up being glad that we ate the buffet as most people we saw order off the menu had to wait close to 45 minutes for entrees as simple as grilled cheese or pizza. After this experience, we chose to frequent Food City rather than experience this again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stagesandlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    43
    73
    48
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thirsty Miner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Decent variety, ridiculous price, average to fair quality. The sweet tea was great and they quickly responded to my request for the ice cream cones to be replenished.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NickeyStamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We have visited The Thirsty Miner for 3 straight years for Christmas breakfast while staying at the wilderness and always super impressed. Not only is the food delicious and fresh but the staff is very attentive and friendly!

Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We had Tarra as a server and she was very helpful, and friendly. There are drink specials during happy hour and you can get a to go cup.
The price is worth it food is good and it is super convenient. As a mom all day at the waterpark and chasing kids to sit down have a couple drinks and know there is something for everyone to eat was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank chewyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prices too high”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Buffet is advertised 18.99 for adults and kids eat free. This is the same as saying adult buffet 12.99 and kids buffett 5.99, price psychology. Keep in mind the drink price is not included in the adult buffett price and that is a rip off at 18.99. The food quality does not rise to the level of an 18.99 buffett. If the Buffett is not available, then you might get away with a little better deal because the kids eat free in this scenario. There are items on the menu adults can order that are $10-$12.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Miner also viewed

Sevierville, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Thirsty Miner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing