We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some landscaping and new electric hookups”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pigeon Forge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clabough's Campground
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Needs some landscaping and new electric hookups”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Well I am going to make this short. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! There are lots of other campgrounds in this area that are alot nicer and some even cheaper. If you like the looks of a old trailer park then you will LOVE this place. The sites are so close together that our neighbors slide out hung over our very attractive (just kiddding it was a mess) cinder block fire pit. and our awning actually touched the neighbors camper. Now that is very close. The electric meter was only putting out 99 volts and this will absolutley destroy your motorhome electrical components especially the air conditioner. So we told them to give our money back and we hit the road! The lady at the counter was abviously a family member because she was mad about having to give our money back. While I was in line to get a refund another camper came in and he was very angry because he couldnt even get his motorhome in the site because it was to close to the other campers. I would say that years ago this was a very nice place. Now it is just run down. Its is evident these folks are just out for your money. GO ELSWHERE!!!!!! NOT CLABOUGH'S!! We camp in Pigeon Forge about six times a year. We like to try new places. However we learned our lesson here! We travel in a 31 foot class A motorhome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Brian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    38
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
101
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TaraKY97
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Lots of research brought me here. This campground was $11 cheaper a night then all the others I looked it and had more amenitities! Most campgrounds charge for more then 2 ppl but they only charge for more then 4! That saved us $12 right there! Plus less per night and we got to stay in a pull through that was 30 amp so we didn't have to pay for the extra 50amp we didn't need. The gas station/store was great, everything a RV person needs. We were able to fix several things while there that needed to be bought from an RV store. The showers were clean and large and Air conditioned. We used the one near the larger of the 2 pools near the snack bar and Laundry and the trolley stop that is right in the middle of the campground. I believe there is also another trolley stop at the front. I did not use any of the other bathhouses. There is also an arcade that has air hockey, pool, games, crane games and snack machines. The snack bar had frozen drink machines and hand dipped ice cream among other things. We DID use the lazy river, it was small but fun and so nicely built with a small waterfall and well landscaped. It was pretty full yet very quiet. There were trees all throughout the park and a creek. And bring your bread to feed all the ducks you will see walking around. I would suggest supports for your sewer or just use it as a convienent dump station periodically. We did not have any and it was not easy to keep it connected. They also have free cable, our cord was not long enough but they do sell some, varying sizes in the store for an affordable price.There is also free wifi. Probably the best part, only 1/2 mile from the parkway and right in the middle of everything when you come out. Also there is a access road to the new Walden's landing that has The Tomb, Firehouse Golf, many shops and The smoky mountain brewery and grill. You don't even need to get on the parkway to get there. I am so glad we found this place and I think we will always stay here from now on. It was quiet and we felt safe there as well. The campground office is in the EXXON building and the entrance can be hard to see so keep an eye out for the EXXON.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TaraKY97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My 13 year old daughter wanted to take two of her friends camping this summer. This was a last minute plan and we did not have our camping gear ready for the trip. So I decided to look for cabins to rent. My first thought was to rent a little cabin that was only a one room cabin. But I realized that we would still have to bring our camp stove, lanterns and such, I searched for a full cabin. I came across Clabough’s Campground website. We arrived and was met by friendly staff. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage. The cottage was very clean and had beautiful beds and furniture. I noticed that the cabins beside us had a fire ring. I called the office and they brought us one! I loved the idea of the Trolley stop right in front of the campgrounds. Me and the girls hopped on the trolley and went shopping in Gatlinburg while my husband got to do what he wanted to do, relax! We didn’t use the pools but they were nice looking and the lazy river looked refreshing. At night there was a singer that came and put on a small concert and the girls enjoyed the game room. We have told all of our friends of this campground and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We've stayed here several times...Our daughter plays travel softball & the fields are less than 1/2 mile away. River sites & Cabins available. 2 swimming pools one is small & the other large. They also have a lazy river which is pretty cool. Nice game room. We saw lots of ducks on our last trip. Don't stay in sites near main road they are little loud with the road traffic. We stay in a 5th Wheel & Sites are spacious. They have special singing on Friday & Saturday nights (FREE). Laundry facilities. Nice Staff.

Room Tip: Spots near back of campground are the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whitegirlofmaryville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in June 2011. Overall pleased. Small sites and ours did not have a fire ring, although some others did. Full hookups. Two pools and very nice but small lazy river. Showers were old in the main area but side bath houses had excellent showers that were tiled, lockable, and great water pressure. Trash pickup at site was very quick. Very good location for pigeon forge activities.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kskarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My parents and I stayed here for 11 nights starting December 19th,2010. We enjoyed our stay! This campground is convenient to all the major sights in Pigeon Forge. I would recommend this campground to anyone coming to the mountains.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpraytor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This was our first stay at claboughs. Anytime you are in Pigeon Forge, you know that there are lots of campgrounds and they will always be full. The difference here we found was the fact of how many trees there are in this park. We choose a site in the back of the campground which I would recommend to anyone who likes a little extra space.( of course relatively speaking for Pigeon Forge). The restrooms were kept very clean thru out our stay, as were the laundry facilities and the grounds in general. We used a pull thru, had ample room for both our slide and awning. Again unlike many campgrounds, when you are in a pull thru here you are surrounded by trees and not in the middle of a field.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CampinMama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Cascades
Country Cascades
#18 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#23 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clabough's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clabough's Campground

Property: Clabough's Campground
Address: 405 Wears Valley Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Pigeon Forge
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clabough family has lived in Pigeon Forge for five generations and in the Smoky Mountain region for a lot longer. William Clabough, a Civil War veteran, bought the original property in the late 1800s. He was a Union soldier and was drawing a small pension when he settled in Pigeon Forge. The Knoxville Chancery Court records show that he sold it to Clyde, one of his nine children, in 1922 when he was about 80 years old. Clyde had a dowry and bought everyone else out. He was a carpenter and built several barns in Sevier County. His two sons, Harold and William Clyde “W.C.” eventually helped him finally pay off the property. The Clabough’s farm had cattle and grew enough wheat to feed the family, tomatoes, hay and a little cash crop like corn. Harold, now 90 years old, said, “We had a good life here on the farm. We always had plenty to eat.” Things got better during the Second New Deal in 1935, Roosevelt started the Farm Security Administration (FSA) which was an effort during the Depression to combat American rural poverty by helping poor farmers buy land, and that program continues to operate in the 21st century as the Farmers Home Administration. The goal was to make the farmer more efficient so the loans were used for new machinery, trucks, or animals, or to repay old debts. “We operated our own farm with horses – no tractors, no electricity,” said Harold. “We didn’t have indoor plumbing until 1948. That was a treat when we got that put in.” Born on November 1, 1923, Harold’s first memories of the property are of the original farmhouse built in the 1800s that is still standing and the pecan tree next to it. He and his brother, W.C., grew up working chores on the farm, but went on their separate career paths. Harold attended Pine Grove School and graduated with a class of 4 people, then worked at TVA for 9 years, taught school for 4 years and served in the military for 32 years. His brother, W.C., served the military in New Guinea, the Dutch East Indies, the Philippines and Spain. He was a veteran of World War II and after 17 years of service, received a medical discharge. Upon his death in the 1980s, the land came to be Harold’s. Little by little, the land being farmed shrank and in 1980 Harold started building the Campground, officially opening in 1981. Gradually, Harold acquired a little more land to build the store that still services campers today, offering Exxon gasoline and a small deli that the locals frequent as much as the out-of-town visitors. “We made good money out of the small campground so I decided to add more sites.” Harold was a sharp businessman and the Campground grew from 83 to 116 sites, and then 150 when new property was added. Today, Clabough’s Campground, has 325 camping sites plus cabin, cottage and vacation rentals. Harold and his wife of 58 years, who passed away in 2006, worked the business with their only daughter and son-in-law and two grandsons. After a career at First Federal and Rural Housing Authority, son-in-law Ronnie Russell took on the role of General Manager in 1978 and has overseen new water lines, new concrete patios, new sewer lines and updating the cabins every couple of years. “You cannot stay the same. You’ve got to work at making it better,” Ronnie said, “I want our campground to be known as the best one in the area. It’s like anything. You take care of it, because it’s all you have. Our goal is to try to make it better. People come here, and we are proud to say they leave happy.” The original farm was about 50 acres and today the property is about 50 acres. The Appalachian Mountains have seen a big boom as tourism took center stage for the Smokies, but really the families and their values have not changed. You still only need a handful of change to buy an ice cream and Harold’s philosophy of “you never hurt someone else to help yourself” shows up in every detail of the business. “We keep it clean. We have all the conveniences. If you have any problem while you are here, come see us,” said Harold. Throughout his long life, he has seen his childhood home evolve into a multi-facetted modern family-friendly vacation destination. While still active and on-site, it is younger generations that handle the day-to-day operations. Harold summed it best when he said, “The campers have been so good to us. Campers are good people.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clabough`s Campground Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing