We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A staple for any family trip”

Pigeon Forge Gem Mine
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
135 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A staple for any family trip”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Given an opportunity, gem mining is a staple of any family vacation. Pigeon Forge Gem Mine is priced at about the average cost of any other mine I have been to. But unlike other “mining” places, these folks give you the opportunity to buy different size buckets. From $15 for a bucket to $1,000 for a 55 gallon drum.
The other thing I like about this “mine,” is they are very friendly and helpful and the kids absolutely LOVE this place. They think they are rich when they find a ruby, or emerald or sapphire. It is great family fun for all ages.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarksville_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    207
    96
    19
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun time”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was a fun thing to do. Different and interesting. The people are very nice and very helpful on ideas for visiting the area. We would recommend

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ummm lots of stuff to buy.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I went with my husband and it seemed like there was lots of stuff you could purchase. We didn't notice until we were all the way around the store as to where the buckets were and no one said anything to us though there was several workers. Only 2 other customers and we left without mining though we probably would have if people had explained what to do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brettney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Webster, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went to the Gem mine with a friend and was really skeptical. I had seen these things around for years and always thought they were just a tourist trap waiting for a sucker. This one at least was not! We had great luck with our two buckets of dirt, had fun panning, found some great stones and had a couple cut for use! Kids would find this really fun, it is affordable and they were not using a hard sale to get gems mounted at all. But we found we really wanted to get a couple mounted as they were really nice stones. And we learned a lot about gems and mining!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rarmstrong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fork, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kids loved it!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staff was very helpful and nice. You get a bucket of sand ranging anywhere from $15-$1000!! Yes they have a bucket (large barrel) for $1000. You put your sand in a screened box and dip it in the water to see what you come up with. My kids, 2 & 7 both had a blast. I bought two $25 buckets and they each got a small bag full of various rocks, fossils,shark teeth, etc. Your not going to strike gold, but a good time overall. They also have a military discount of $5 per bucket.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jwlewis1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigeon Forge Gem Mine also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Sevierville, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Pigeon Forge Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing