We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all had fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pigeon Forge Gem Mine

Pigeon Forge Gem Mine
Certificate of Excellence
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We all had fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We decided on the gem/fossil bucket to share. The kids and my husband had fun sifting through the sand to find their "treasures". Of course the buckets are pre screened and you are guaranteed to find stuff and of course your not going to get rich off of it, its just good ole fun. We went into the store after and got everything identified for us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sebsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    179
    82
    18
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Way overpriced...in my opinion. I was so upset because my kids were really wanting to do this, but we've done something similar in Texas...half the price! I say, shop around or just don't do it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cllakegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is just a place to sell rocks. I expected some sort of history of mines or a walk through a mine. Very costly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Masvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pigeon Forge Gem mine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

we liked getting to search for the gems. We even got jewelry made from the gem and turned out wonderful. My son and a friend of mine and I got something out of this. This is the first time we have done this. Thank you all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMJ_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My 11 year old daughter and I had a wonderful time at Gem Mine. For $15 we purchased a metal pail of wet sand with gems. Her facial expressions were priceless and the gems were revealed in the water. It was truthfully one of the best days we had this summer. Afterwards we went in the gem store and the kind lady explained to us the names of the gems. No pressure, no hassle just and amazing time. It took us over and hour.. Also there is a mall attached that is also a lot of fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank donnalh333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigeon Forge Gem Mine also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Pigeon Forge Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing