We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoky Mountain Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smoky Mountain Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

* PLEASE CHECK OUT THE PHOTOS I POSTED.... THEY SHOW HOW DIRTY THIS PLACE WAS!! * We just returned from staying in one of Smoky Mountain Lodging’s cabins. We rented “Bear it All.” When we attempted our check-in at the office, we were told that our cabin was not yet ready. We did arrive an hour early but thought we would give it a shot since we had been driving for 8 hours and really needed a break. The old lady in the office promised us that she would call when our cabin was ready. We ventured out to a few shops and before long we realized that it was well past 4:00 p.m. and we never received a call saying our cabin was ready. We went back to the office and this lady acted like she had never seen us before! We were at least finally provided with directions to our cabin (which took 20 minutes to get to with their directions even though there was a much quicker way to get there). When we finally arrived at our cabin, it was adorable . . . from the outside! The key code wouldn’t work and once again we were left waiting. We called the office and they kept telling me to press the “unlock” button on the key pad . . . . but there wasn’t one! The key code they provided simply wouldn’t work! Finally the maintenance man showed up but even he couldn’t get inside! Long story short . . . we were finally in an hour and a half later! Once getting inside, we found the cabin to be filthy and run down. There were dead bugs in the windowsills, carpet stained and nasty looking, dust everywhere. Even the pool table had dried food and ketchup all over it. The couch and loveseat were so stained and dirty that we covered them both with sheets because there was no way we were going to sit on them. The internet wouldn’t work either . . . . which wasn’t really a surprise. Again we called the office and were told there was no passcode to access it . . . but after my daughter checked out the modem, there was indeed a passcode. After voicing our complaints several times, we were refunded $50.00 (big deal) and they sent a cleaning person to try to address the long list of problems. Honestly it would take a whole cleaning crew a week to address all of the problems this dirty and run down cabin had! We made the best of our week and tried to have the most fun we could but each day when we returned to our cabin we were reminded what a HUGE rip-off this place was! This company should not be in business because they don’t give a flip about ensuring that their guests are happy. The $50.00 they refunded me felt like a slap in the face. If they really wanted us to return and be happy, they would have immediately moved us to a clean cabin that we could enjoy for the remainder of our stay. Take my advice and DO NOT RENT FROM THIS COMPANY! There is way too much competition out there that really will value your business!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emalee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We greatly apologize for your inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We have notated all of the issues and are addressing them. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance the next time you are planning a getaway in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    157
    72
    56
    66
See reviews for
254
175
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
155 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We have used this company before and as always was pleased the cabin this time was A Nature's Song the cabin was beautiful had everything you needed. I felt like the owner had everything as they would want for themselves. At check in the lady at the desk was in a bad mood but I think it was shift change I wish check in was earlier instead of 4 but all was well our grill did not have gas but we called and maintenance brought that the hot tub worked great and I have deflated with companies that did not care that it did not work and poor upkeep I think this is the company I will always use

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scoobstoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review! We would like to thank you for choosing Smoky Mountain Lodging for your accommodations while visiting our beautiful area. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER! Do NOT rent from this company. EVER! we rented a cabin with a view. when we arrived, we were told that due to inclement weather it would be impossible to get to the cabin. we were offered another cabin without a view for a similar price. we were upset b/c the staff knew about the weather before we arrived and couldve told us about the change earlier. this wouldve allowed us to alter our travel plans accordingly. Staff was rude, unwelcoming, and unhelpful. We ended up in an absolute dump in the middle of a residential neighborhood. Our indoor hot tub had no hot water and hair from a previous tenant. One door wouldnt lock so we had to rig something temporarily. The freezer made a loud and annoying noise. The sofa had a piece of wood attached to the back of it with an exposed and dangerous screw. Pillows were uncomfortable, fireplace was on a timer that makes a loud buzzing noise so you have to turn up the TV to drown it out. Lamp without bulb. Not pot holders. Will never book with this company again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank schemorshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I am very sorry that your getaway was not what you expected. Let me explain how our company handles inclement weather. A lot of times when we have inclement weather, the owners of the company team up with our maintenance staff and salt the driveways of the properties, and often times, will salt the roads, which are not the responsibility of our company. They will work all hours trying to get guests to their cabins, as long as it does not put their lives at risk doing so. If we moved you to a different cabin, it is because it was the decision of the owners and management that the drive to your cabin was too treacherous and we did not want any lives at risk. We will put safety before anything! When you are planning a trip in our area, you will see that most of the time, properties that offer mountain views are in areas that incline up the mountain and also can be very treacherous during snow and icy conditions. This would have been a reason as to why you were moved to another property. We are very sorry that you had issues in the property you were placed in. We do hope that you would give us another opportunity to better serve your vacation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We staying the week of new year, We were very happy with the cabin which was amazing and it was located in a perfect place at least for the ones that like me don't like to go too high specially when you are not use to that or when it's snow. It was our family 1st time but I can warranty that it won't be the last one we all loved the place, the people, the attraction everything we highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midianys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMTN2014, General Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We greatly appreciate your review. We look forward to serving you with your lodging accommodations in the near future. Please remember to check with us for any last minute specials or repeat guest incentives.

Thanks Smoky Mountain Lodging.
866-774-8990 www.RentTheSmokies.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed with them for our honeymoon and got snowed in. The owner was so nice that he not only came and got us but also loaned us a car while ours was stuck.Also gave us another place to stay while other cabins around ours with other companies could not even get there people to come help them.These are truly great people we will definitely Stay with then again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen072190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review! We would like to thank you for choosing Smoky Mountain Lodging for your accommodations while visiting our beautiful area. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesburg, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have stayed with "Black Bear Lodging" , which has been bought out by Smoky Mtn Lodging, for more than 10 years. This new company has horrible customer service and the only thing they care about is the almighty dollar. They do not care about their customers or the condition of the cabins they rent. We checked into Tyler's Way today and what a mess! There is mold growing above the bed in the master bedroom, the jacuzzi tub's knobs are broken off, (not mention the amount of bugs that are in the jacuzzi) the light in the bathroom is completely filled with bugs, screen on door is ripped off, the porch is broken, the TV has to be at least 20 years old... I could keep going! The point here is the people at Smoky Mtn Lodging we're not very helpful when I asked for a new cabin. Needless to say we will be spending the next week in this cabin that is not what we paid for. I would not recommend using this company! Oh! And did I mention the owners of the company already knew of the problems prior to renting it out?

Room Tip: Don't rent from this company!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMTN2014, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We know the issues were addressed and resolved. Smoky Mountain Lodging is managed by the same staff as before, we only had a change of business name. We greatly apologize for the inconveniences of your stay and hope that you will re-consider and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at Bear Cove Escape in Fall of 2013. Our stay was very enjoyable as we were there to spend time with family, and the cabin couldn't change that. I have decided to make a pro and con list to describe the cabin.

Pros:
-Located close to Smoky Mountain National Park
-Large porches
-Great property
-Separate game room (pool table and arcade machine)
-Fire pit
-Hot tub
-Well stocked kitchen

Cons:
-Lack of lighting (most of the lights were small lamps and several were missing light bulbs)
-Two of the fireplaces were not working
-Almost all of the interior doors didn't have handles, just latches (shown in picture)
-Downstairs bathroom had no ventilation
-Downstairs shower clogged and dirty/moldy
-Bedroom with bunk bed was just enough room for the beds
-Windows were leaky (some had mold)
-Ice maker not working
-Darts broken so we couldn't play

Overall, this property could use some improvements. Compared to our last stay (The Honey Spot) it is much more rustic. None of the Cons actually prevented us from enjoying our stay, however this is not the cabin for those looking for luxury and amenities.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SmallTownGal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Mountain Lodging

Property: Smoky Mountain Lodging
Address: 640 Wears Valley Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Pigeon Forge
Hotel Class:3 star — Smoky Mountain Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Smoky Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodging Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing