We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DON'T STAY AT BEARFOOTIN': PEE-SOAKED CARPET, DIRTY, AND ROACHES!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smoky Mountain Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY AT BEARFOOTIN': PEE-SOAKED CARPET, DIRTY, AND ROACHES!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were so excited to be back in Nashville. We were told this place was "very close" to everything. I don't personally consider 30+ minutes of driving "close".

We walked into Bearfootin' and the carpet has so much dog pee on it that the owner should be very embarrassed. We had our dog along, and he LOVED all the different dog pee smells. WE, however, did NOT. The carpet needs REPLACED. Thank God we did not have any children with us.

The whole place is DIRTY. There was so much dust and so many spiderwebs, it is obvious this place does not get cleaned. Don't look under or behind the bed. Yuck.

Don't believe that this place is nonsmoking, either.

ROACHES. YES THERE ARE ROACHES HERE. If you don't like roaches, this is not the place for you. Had to sleep with the lights on for fear of roaches crawling on us. It was terrible! Just not acceptable at all!! Absolutely disgusting!

There are NO CHAIRS to sit in except for a broken recliner and the couch. There is a review on here from May 2011 that says the recliner was broken. Well it is now June 2013, and the recliner is STILL BROKEN. We had to bring a rocker in from the porch. The stinky couch leaves much to be desired. We covered it with a sheet.

The bed was VERY hard and uncomfortable. NEEDS a new mattress. The owner should be embarrassed of this also.

The water smells so strongly of sulfur that we dreaded taking our daily showers. It was terrible. I can't even describe adequately how stinky the water was.

The hot tub looked clean and crystal clear. However, in a place THAT dirty, we would never, ever step foot in a hot tub. Yuck.

Icemaker broken, no cups, leg on foosball table broken, need I go on?

No cell phone service here, but there is a land line.

WHERE IS THE OWNER OF THIS PROPERTY? The owner of this cabin should not be allowed to rent to anyone. This cabin is not fit to be rented out. Anyone who has stayed here deserves their money back.

Will never use this company again. NEVER.

Room Tip: Use a different company. They allow this dirty place to be rented out, so why trust them with other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jtomcanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    157
    72
    56
    66
See reviews for
254
177
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family and I stayed in Heart to Heart. This was our second time to stay in the cabin, first for our children (5 & 6). As always, the staff is very friendly and you feel like you've known them forever. Cabin was clean. It is on well water I believe, but it did not smell like sulfur at all. When we got there this time, the tv was not on right channel and Direct TV would not work. We left a note for maintenance and they fixed it for us, gave written detailed instructions and even had it on for us, when we got back! We will hopefully be enjoying this cabin for many years to come!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

A very bad check-in process. had to go out to office in Wears Valley to pick up key and then back to Gatlinburg to cabin. Cabin code was wrong and after 2 hours of trying to contact owners, we had to get a hotel (midnight). This was no easy task on a Holiday Weekend. This basically ruined any plans for the next day since I had to contact Black Bear Lodge for a solution. They were willing to refund my money, but this left me no place to stay. I was at the mercey of the stupidity of a bad service. After some time, they agreed to give me a night back for my trouble and a late check out. We drove from Charleston just to spend 1 full day in the mountains. The cabin was very was big, but no view. Lots of bugs inside the unit as well and a very old matress. hot tub was nice and location was nice, but driveway had a huge pot hole that will ruin sombody's day sometime soon. Too many other companies with a better support crew. I would not waste my time/money here. The bigger companies have a slightly higher price, but much better service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomcatrulesJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in " A Honey Spot" 2 bedroom cabin. The view is great with rocking chairs and a picnic table on teh covered deck overlooking Mount LeConte. It offers easy access to Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This cabin is not worth the money you pay! the bed is hard as a rock no rest at all for vacation went home more tried then we was when we went on vacaction,the couch smelt really bad like dirty sinky feet,the recliner was broke,the cabin was dirty,carpet was very dirty if you took your socks off and walked around your feet would get as black as coffee,we had to go buy cups to have something to drink out of,the ice maker didn't work so no ice.We stayed in another cabin a year ago with blackbear and had to fix the chairs before we could set on them. The office staff blew our mines,we went in to get show tickets and the lady was bare footed her hair was all over her head and her child was running wild couldn't hardly hear what the lady was saying,because the child was so loud, don't get me wrong i love children. WE WILL NOT RENT FROM BLACKBEAR AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gena65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was a getaway for just my husband and I and we had a great time. Had a rocky start when we couldn't get in the cabin right away but we called to the office and told us the trick to get in and it was exactly as it looked online. There was a very nice heart shaped Jacuzzi tub which we didn't use, it was much more fun soaking the in the Jacuzzi out on the porch and looking up at the sky. The drive into town was very short, so it wasn't a problem getting to Pigeon forge attractions as well as driving up into the Smokey Mtn NF for hiking. The cabin is in the mountains so there is "nature" we saw spiders,other bugs, squirrels, and raccoons. I would say Bring bug repellant, we were getting eaten up at night time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is a complete dump! We drive up picturing the cabin on the website, maybe 20 years ago, looks like the wood is rotting away. We can't get in because black bear have us the wrong code while we are on hold trying to get in we are dive bombed by bumble bees. As we look around the cabin most of the decorations are falling of he wall crocked or from Christmas.... This is April. Every shutter on the main floor is broke. Floor in the upstairs suit leading out onto the private balcony is caving in cabinet doors in this bathroom are missing, main floor suit is beautiful but there's no shower just a jacuzzi with only one jet working and after climbing in that night had nasty sour water sprayed out at us, the hot tub gazebo on the deck is falling apart the hot tub itself is broken and filthy downstairs rooms are so cold you feel like you're in a tundra and you HAVE TO PAY for the air hockey! Really after I just dropped a few thousand to stay in this crap heap!!!! Every morning we got to deal with wasps in the main living area anywhere from 10-15. And every time we left the cabin we were bombed by bumble bees. Little stuff broke every where coffee pot took an hour every morning the fridge smelled sooo bad of fish we had to use a cooler. Although we didn't run out of hot water only one person could run something at a time or there was no water pressure. Please please please save your money and go somewhere else. Yes we complained only thing that got fixed was the hot tub this was after 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank r3265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#8 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
3.1 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Mountain Lodging

Property: Smoky Mountain Lodging
Address: 640 Wears Valley Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Pigeon Forge
Hotel Class:3 star — Smoky Mountain Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Smoky Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodging Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing