We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor View Cabin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smoky Mountain Lodging
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have rented cabins with Black Bear Lodging several times and have never been disappointed this time was the same the cabins name was Harbor View and it was great.. also pet friendly yet was very clean and did not have any pet smells...if you are looking for a pet friendly and people friendly as well this is the cabin for you ..it close to the parkway with paved roads we were very happy with our stay..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEACON50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearLodging, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! Harbor View is situated in an excellent location! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you being a returning guest! We hope that you will continue to use Black Bear Lodging for your accommodation needs while visiting our area!

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Smoky Mountain Lodging
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 653 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have rented cabins with Black Bear Lodging twice this year. Our first time in March we rented Dove's Nest-this was a house and not a cabin, we loved staying there. There was plenty of space in the living room, kitchen, and bedrooms. The house was very clean as well. There was also a pool right behind our deck, so that was convenient. Only downfall about this place is the first bathroom is TINY, I mean very tiny. I'd stay in this rental again.

On the other hand, our second rental in August, was the Barely Making It cabin. I would not recommend this cabin at ALL. When we made the reservation we asked if it was a steep area and they told us no. WRONG! It was very very hard to get to(lots of crazy hills and dangerously curvy roads), a strenuous hill to drive up, and not a driveway you can back out of/or hardly park your car without it being complicated because there is a hill and it's a one-way street so you don't know who's coming up or down and you can barely see with all the trees. They need some serious mowing and tree trimming on that road. Another problem, was how little of space there was on the first floor between the bathroom and first bedroom, you could BARELY move-I guess that's why its called "barely making it." Also, both beds were very stiff and couldn't sleep well & the sleeper sofa was supposed to come with a sheet/cover set, it did not, so we had to make a trip to the office to get some. Another complaint- EVERY single night we would have several raccoons coming onto the wrap around porch and go through our trash! and they would climb on the roof when we were trying to sleep! Not enjoyable at all. I will definitely not stay there again.

We like Black Bear Lodging and their employees-they are very nice. We will rent with them again-just not in Barely Making It.

Room Tip: Do not stay in "Barely Making It", you will not enjoy yourselves!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBgal_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearLodging, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for the time in reviewing your stays with us. Dove's Nest is a neat little property and it is highly desired as it is close proximity to all of the attractions of Pigeon Forge.

We are sorry your stay in "Barely Making It" was less desireable for you. Since your stay, the property has sold and the new owners have made some changes in the property to make it more comfortable.

Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward in having you stay with us again in the future.

Black Bear Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my husband go to the mountains 1-2 times a year. Black Bear Lodging is the only cabin rental we deal with. We know that all the cabins are well kept and the staff is helpful and pleasant when reserving our cabin.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erikachristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearLodging, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your review! We always appreciate our repeat guests! We want to thank you for taking the time to review Black Bear Lodging and our cabins! We hope you and your family have a blessed Thanksgiving and Christmas!

The Staff of Black Bear Lodging

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just got back from a 3 night trip.We rented the Bears Retreat cabin.Before we even got to the cabin, i had emailed about not receiving a receipt via email for my payment twice.when i called to let somene know that i had not gotten the email ,they told me they sent it and i said i never got it.well....i never did get a receipt for payment.then i emailed a question about the cabin and never got an answer.
Upoun arrival to the cabin,it looked prettty good,but the longer we were there we started to see lil things like the light bulbs didn't want to turn on,a hole was in the deck my son tripped over,the shower upstairs made such a loud noise tha it hurt my ears .the bigscreen tv in the bedroom did not work either,the bedding was old and worn,the sheets were so worn they kept coming off every night,we had to run the fans because the downstairs bedroom smelled musty,the floors were fake lamenent wood flooring which was bubbled up in places.it was also very dusty inside.all in all the cabin just looked like it needed some tlc cleaning and repair work.i didn't bother calling the office because i felt like it wouldn't matter anyways.and after reading reviews,i guess it's the cabin's owners fault(haha),even though i believe the person/business renting the units out should maintain their rentals. the other rental agencies out there have better maintained cabins and better customer support,i would not choose Black bear again.i hope others have better luck:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cundifffamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearLodging, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

After reading your review, I would like to apologize for the issues in not receiving your confirmation or a receipt. In looking at your reservation, I see where we had e-mailed the confirmation to you 4 times. There must have been an issue with your e-mail throwing our e-mails into Spam. We greatly apologize that you did not receive the information you needed.

We have addressed the maintenance issues with the property. If you had contacted us, we would have been more than happy to have addressed the issues with you.

Once again, we greatly apologize and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here.Everything is so quiet and peaceful.Be warned you have a good ride up the mountain
No vacation would be complete without mishaps they always happen.We lost cable Mark and his wife Janice worked 2 hours just to
Find out it was broken box.next day maintence was out in the afternoon this time remote was broken.all you can do is laugh.It is a
Wonderful cabin located close to everything and staff is just as polite and courteous.We will be back in the future

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrholma7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearLodging, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We fully understand how inconvenient it was to have the issues with the cable service. Our company has been dealing with this problem since the cable company had switched over to digital cable and it has caused quite a few problems. We do apologize for those inconveniences and hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The driveway you drag! We had to shut off the propane it was leaking the smell was terrible! the home is NOT a cabin it looks like the owner shopped at the Re Store to get the building materials. If you are planning on cooking bring your own cookwear. no skillet, 4 cups 4 plates 4 mugs 4 bowls THATS IT! the beds were so uncomfortable the doors in the bedrooms no curtains so yes you can see thru the windows. it was not worth $160 a night never again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megnrodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearLodging, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

We are very sorry that your stay was less than you expected. Each property is individually owned, therefore, amenities, cooking and diningware differ along with the bed linens. We have notated your complaint and will address these issues. With being in the mountains, properties are built in areas that can pose a challenge to reach them. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Please specify your preferences and we will be more than happy to place you in a cabin with much easier access and that will offer the furnishings you are looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The cabin was easy to find and good size for our family.
The only issues we had were there were limited towels, no soap, no laundry detergent, only one garbage bag. Appears housekeeping is not stocking the cabins. Its very inconvenient!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyufromkentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackBearLodging, Manager at Smoky Mountain Lodging, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Our properties are supplied with a start up of toilet paper, paper towels, soap and trash bags. If you needed extra supplies I wish you would have come by the office and we would have been more than happy to have provided those supplies for you. As for the laundry detergent, we do not provide it, as many people have allergies and cannot use it.

We hope that you will consider Black Bear Lodging for your future stays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.1 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,394 reviews
1.3 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#9 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,321 reviews
3.1 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#29 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#25 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,837 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#3 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,065 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoky Mountain Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoky Mountain Lodging

Address: 640 Wears Valley Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Pigeon Forge
Hotel Class:3 star — Smoky Mountain Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Smoky Mountain Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Lodging Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing