We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs attention to details..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Firehouse Golf

Firehouse Golf
Milton, WV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Needs attention to details..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We had been here in the past, but this year we weren't so impressed. The water was nasty, one course was suppose to have water carry your ball and it wasn't even available to do that, it was off or dried up. We purchased both courses before knowing what we were getting into, but we only done one and went back to finished the other one the next night.. Putting greens need replaced, they are a but outdated. The details of the course needs attention. We are a fire family, as my husband is a medic/ff, and these things appeal to us, but not something I would suggest until things are cleaned back up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharityRConner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    73
    35
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LaFayette, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fun Mini-Golf for a "Fire Buff"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Playing a game of mini-golf has become something of a "ritual" when me and my wife are on a trip with my parents. Since I have previously worked in the Fire Service (both as a volunteer and paid employee) we decided to stop and play a round at Firehouse Golf.

The design of the course is very well done. Since it is based on "Fire-Bears" instead of human firefighters there are, obviously, more comic rather than "true to life" scenes, but all this adds to the enjoyment of the course. The design, as other reviewers have pointed out, is not as in depth as some other courses, but with the theme at this location it would have been easy to have gone way over board in the design process. They managed, instead, to find a happy medium between under-designed and an "over the top" approach.

The proximity of this course to a shopping center (it is actually located on the same lot) and several good restaurants only adds to the "attractibility" of this mini-golf location.

A hidden gem at this attraction is the public safety patch collection they have in the ticketing area. If, like me, you collect public safety patches you owe it to yourself to check out their collection even if you do not play a round of golf.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CNB962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun, but not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We love to putt-putt and have been to most of the mini-golf courses on the Parkway. Firehouse is our least favorite...the theming isn't the best (fire hydrants, fire trucks, Smoky the Firechief, etc.). We like Professor Hacker's Lost Treasure golf the best, the theming is better, there's a waterfall, and you ride a mine train up to the course. I doubt we will go to Firehouse ever again.

Also, in many coupon books there is $1 off for each person in your party (up to 4). Note that this is only valid if you intend to play 36 holes (there are two 18-hole courses). If you only plan for one round of 18, forget the coupon, it won't do you any good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnmike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was a fun family outing even when it started to rain. The person behind the counter was very friendly and offered us other deal to play another round of golf. Nice course.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fuzzyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one of my favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have many favourite goofy golf courses and this is one of them, the scenery around the course is so cute and makes a great back drop for pictures only bad thing is if its recently rained be careful because the course may be a bit flooded

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank samanthamarie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse Golf also viewed

Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 
Pigeon Forge, Sevier County
 

Been to Firehouse Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing