We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star resort quality - third time visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
RiverStone Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I stayed 6 nights with wife and two teens, third visit. I stayed in a creekside 1br unit, building four. You have to ask for creekside to get it (don't assume). I recommend this as best 1br value. Room was bigger (700sq ft) than other 1br unit without creekside view. It also had a corridor to the units room, shared by the adjacent unit. The made for a quiet entry and two locked doors to the entry. Room is 5 star quality, bathroom walk-in fully tiled shower is unbelievable nice, you have to try it to understand. I do have to correct an earlier post. There is no 20min wait to park, unless you insist on a spot by entry door to main building. There is vast parking spaces outside all four buildings. We parked under our building in the shade on hot days (probably not possible at a cabin.) We watched our son fish in the creek from our large covered balcony. He caught several smallmouth on a fly rod. Lazy river is DISNEY quality. It got crowded right after 4pm check-in time, (duh), but otherwise it was awesome. Tell Dad to come in to resort from Veterans Highway, and he won't be so grumpy when he arrives. Avoid all the parkway stoplights, easy in, easy out. I had same problem with internet as earlier post. Front desk said that issue was Windows Vista was not working thru COMCAST service provider. They should provide that info to guests before arrival, since most of us now use interenet for easy info on our trips. As for me, I'll never go back to cabins, and I recommend that you should at least give this resort a try on your next stay. Lazy river , location, creekside rooms, and top quality are the reasons I love it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smalltownindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at RiverStone Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2010

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your third stay with us as much as you have your first two! It means the service and quality you got one time was not a fluke. We try very hard with each guest to give them the best experience every time!

We are sorry you had trouble with the Internet service however, and we have shown your note to our staff and asked them to be as vigilant as possible in notifying our guests of any future problems we might have with the guest. Generally, any problems we experience with Comcast are short and infrequent, but we do apologize for your lack of access.

We are looking forward to having you back for your fourth visit soon. Thank you so much for choosing RiverStone, and telling others about our wonderful resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 786 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

Bottom line... Too many condos to manage, not enough workers and not enough attention to the patrons. Yes, it was a busy time but come on - vacation is for relaxing, not having to wait 20 minutes to park and over 1 hour to check in. We decided upon Riverstone for the kitchen, lazy river, and location. Normally stay in cabins around wears valley. Check in is supposed to be at 4 (which is crazy, needs to be early so people can have time to grocery shop and plan dinner). We showed up at 4pm, waited over one hour in line (very busy) to check in. Many people had groceries waiting in the car. Tired kids, cranky daddys, hot food, is not a good start to a vacation. At the desk, not so friendly worker checked us in and then found out our condo wasn't cleaned yet. Finally at 5:30 got to the condo and the balcony was not facing the river or the golf course. We looked directly over the dolly parton lane (bldg 1, unit 121). No View At All. Who wants to hear traffic all night long. The indoor pool and lazy river were so crowded with grown ups that our girls did not even want to stay. We decided not to spend the money and asked for a refund. They did give us a refund and we called our normal cabin rental company and was able to get a luxury cabin for a cheaper price. And had a pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kytekgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, General Manager at RiverStone Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2010

I am very sorry to hear of the inconvenience and frustration you experienced in dealing with our resort. Please know that this does not represent the level of service we strive to provide. I hope you will consider this an isolated incident and that you will give us another opportunity in the future. I sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. I hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodations for you and your family in the future and show you how your remarks were used constructively. Brian Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My family of 3 (child is 7) stayed in a 1 bedroom (king) condo. It was nice and we enjoyed it, but the living room/kitchen combo is small. Once you pull out the sofa bed, you have no space to walk. Also the dining table in our condo was very tall - it was more like a bar table then a dining table, not very good for petite adults or small children. We didn't do a lot of cooking, so the kitchen had what we needed. Since we were staying a week, it would have been nice to have had enough dish detergent to wash a load of dishes each day, instead of having to buy detergent.
The bed was comfortable and even being on the end of the building close to the road, traffic noise was not bad. We enjoyed the pool, lazy river and game room. I would recommend this hotel, but I'd probably go for a 2 bedroom condo next time, so that I could put my son to bed and still be able to use the living room.
This resort is very close to Dollywood and is off of the main road. The room was supposed to have internet access but we couldn't get it to work. We did not contact the front desk about this, we just used our air card.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shines1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at RiverStone Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2010

Thank you so much for choosing RiverStone for your visit to Pigeon Forge. We are sorry that you had some difficulties, however! We wish you would have contacted the front desk with any problems you encountered! We do have free dishwashing detergent to suppliment what is originally stocked in the kitchens, and we have ethernet cords we loan you for free during your stay so you could have gotten online! RiverStone is not yet a wireless Internet property! We are hardwired at this time and it does require an ethernet cord to connect.

On the plus side, we are so pleased you enjoyed our lazy river, indoor pool, and gameroom as well as our close location to Dollywood. We also agree you would be much more comfortable with a two bedroom condo for your family in the future. We do hope we will see you again in the future and prove to you our committment to quality, comfort, and value. And please do not hesitate to contact the front desk with any questions or comments; we want to make each visit with us the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed at the Riverstone the week of June 14. The resort was nearly perfect. With a balcony that overlooked the golf course, access to the indoor pool and lazy river, and rooms that were most comfortable and incredibly inviting, our time in Pigeon Forge truly flew by quickly--too quickly. The only drawbacks, insignificant as they are in hindsight, was the delay to check-in and a momentary issue with the A/C. Normal check-in is at 4 PM and we were unable to get into our rooms until approximately 5. Admittedly, not a big deal. The first morning after checking in our A/C stopped blowing cool air and was leaving a puddle on the carpet outside the closet where the compressor was located. One call to the office had two repairmen to our door who quickly rectified the situation. Again, not a serious issue when one considers the overall perks of this place. The ideal parking (below the resort--out of the hot sun!), the beautiful rooms and decor (made it difficult to leave each day), and the perfect location of the resort (walking distance to Dixie Stampede, short ride to Dollywood, etc.) make this an accomodation we'll surely return to on our next tour of the Smokey Mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublin576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at RiverStone Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2010

What a fantastic review! Thank you! We would like to express our appreciation to you for choosing RiverStone Resort for your Pigeon Forge stay, too! And to know you enjoyed your stay and our amenities (indoor pool and lazy river) and special touches (beautiful decor, underground parking) means a lot to us!

We are sorry you experienced a delay in checking in, and thank you for not allowing that to color your perception of our staff in a negative way! And the same with the AC unit - all mechanical things need a little maintenance, but we are sorry it had to be while you were visiting, but we are glad we were able to quickly repair the problem for you - because it has been hot in Pigeon Forge!

We cannot wait for you to return and visit with us again - and we will work to give you a perfect check in and maintenance-free stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Ok.. we as a family are so spoiled by this resort. This is our 3rd stay here since October 2009. We are planning two more stays this year (July for a few days and October for a whole week.) We can't say enough about how awesome this resort is. So much to do for the kids. The swimming pool, playground area, game room, not to mention all of the beautiful walkways. The units are so spacious (which is a must for kids!) Not very many places are kid friendly anymore. This resort has it all. It surpasses our expectations every single time! I personally can't get enough of the awesome exercise room. It is so nice to be able to keep up my workout regimen while being away from home. It is by far the nicest, most equipped exercise room I've ever seen in a resort. We love the fact also that it is walking distance to the Old Mill. We've stayed at other places in the Pigeon Forge area in the past, but once we found the RiverStone, we won't be staying anywhere else. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for an awesome place to stay in the Pigeon Forge area. I wouldn't be surprised if we don't eventually buy one of these units! Simply can't go wrong here! It's breathtakingly beautiful!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welovethehilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at RiverStone Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2010

Wow! :o) Thank you! It is so Fantastic to know that we have made your vacations so wonderful - because that is our goal! Our staff strives daily to please our guests! We built RiverStone Resort & Spa to accomplish just these things: beautiful condos, close to everything in town, yet in a tranquil setting, and appealing to all members of a family with our lazy river, indoor pool, fitness center, day spa, and children's playground.

We can't wait to see you here again later this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We have stayed there many times. Just love it! Can't say enough about how nice it is. Very much worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at RiverStone Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2010

First, let us thank you for choosing to stay with us! Second, let us thank you for being a repeat customer! Third, let us thank you for writing to let others know that they, too, will enjoy staying with us! It's an honor to be of service to you and be part of your stay when you are visiting Pigeon Forge. We certainly look forward to having you back the next time, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

After living in East Tennessee, I would not normally stay a night in Pigeon Forge (an hour from my home). However, I did not feel as if I were in Pigeon Forge while staying at Riverstone Resort and Spa. We have stayed there twice and are planning to go back a third time. The spacious condos have exquisite decor with upscale appliances and furnishings. The heated indoor pool, gameroom, and exercise room are nice for a small country town. The playground is loads of fun for little ones. The outdoor lazy river looked fairly large and flows along a waterfall and Pigeon River below. We plan on using it this summer. The location is 1/2 mile from Dollywood and can be accessed via a four lane back road that goes behind Pigeon Forge. It is near a Food City grocery store and across from multiple restaurants. The only drawback is there is one hot tub for the entire resort whereas most cabins have their own.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnworkingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEhrat, Internet Coordinator at RiverStone Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2010

We are so happy to know that you have become a loyal customer of ours! We are pleased to know our condo and resort amenities make your stays so pleasant! And we believe you will really enjoy the Lazy River experience when it opens shortly! While the condos do not have an outdoor whirlpool, all of the 2, 3, and 4-bedroom condos do have Jacuzzi tubs. Thank you for sharing your experiences at RiverStone, and we look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
2.6 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,463 reviews
2.0 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#9 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,355 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#3 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Black Fox Lodge
Black Fox Lodge
#11 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverStone Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverStone Resort & Spa

Address: 212 Dollywood Ln, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3903
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: $201 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RiverStone Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the essence of the Smokies in a beautiful one to four bedroom condo with spacious rooms, custom furniture, flat-screen TVs, full kitchens and fireplaces. Relax at lazy river, indoor pool, and at our spa. Located just one mile from Dollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your RiverStone Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverstone Hotel Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing