We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“littlemolo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn On The River
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Very nice hotel. Our guest service representative, Liz, was very nice and helpful. Great location to all events in Pigeon Forge. Breakfast was very good - a nice selection of food. Bathrooms were a little small - sink space was limited.

Room Tip: Rooms with a fireplace are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful review of The Inn On The River and for recognizing our great staff! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,564 - 1,570 of 2,455 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

I just don't understand why so many people rate this hotel so high. It doesn't appear to have been remodeled in the last few years, staff is ok but definitely not exceptional, room was ok but not clean, public spaces showed signs of wear and lack of attention (cobwebs, dirty vents, etc)... I could go on and on. For the money it costs to stay here, you could stay at one of the nicer and newer chain hotels right up the street. The river is a nice feature, but the path is dangerous and I am surprised it isn't an insurance liability. Breakfast was ok but not enough room for everyone to sit when it is busy. I agree with the other review about the pool area, it was freezing in there and my young son even wanted to leave.
Definitely will not make this mistake again... with all the hotels in the area, you can definitely do better!

Room Tip: Don't get stuck in the second building! You have to walk through the pool to go from your room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innontheriver, General Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on The Inn On The River. We are a 20-year-old hotel and have architectural plans for a multimillion-dollar renovation in 2014 that includes both the exterior and interior. Each of your comments was discussed at my weekly staff meeting and we are making all possible corrections. Our landscape architect’s January project is our riverfront path and timber replacement. Which he is working on today. I do take your comments seriously and would like to discuss it further with you to hopefully satisfy your needs. Please contact me on my cell (865.257.7775) or my email: karl@myinnontheriver.com
Sincerely,

Karl Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were on our way to Murfreesboro Tn and decided to stop over in Pigeon Forge for the night. It was the day after Christmas and traffic was bumper to bumper. We checked several hotels before we settled on this one, we were exhausted so we didn't care how much we paid. Our room was clean, very comfortable, it was overlooking the river. The beds were great and we did sleep very soundly. We won't stay here again because of the $$.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoonshineWNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our rates do vary depending on the time of year and special events. Please contact the hotel directly before you travel to get the best available rates next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We thought the Inn on the River was very clean, the staff was very nice and courteous. However, major complaint from not just us of how cold it was out by the pool. The air temperature out by the pool was around 70 degrees. The water temp at 86 was okay but when you we're out by the pool and hot tub you felt cold. We told the front desk several times as well as other guests, maintenance man told us that they bought a dehumidifier and spent so many thousand on it and they couldn't raise the air temperature up anymore. At one time there we're 10-12 guests sitting out by the pool and several said they we're not coming back and I feel we probably won't either.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I appreciate your comments and would like to discuss your stay with you. Please contact me at your convenience at 800.388.1727 or rebecka@myinnontheriver.com.

Sincerely,
Rebecka Urban
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

MY husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were wanting somewhere nice, romantic but not to far from home. Pigeon forge was convenient, but there are so many hotels we didn't know if we could find a reasonable rate with a little romance.
The Inn by the River fit our needs completely. The room was spacious, beautiful fireplace, huge jacuzzi tub and even a small fridge. We were quite impressed with the staff, every person we encountered was friendly and anxious to help attend to our needs. After dinner we wanted a glass of wine, but only plastic glasses in the room. I called the front desk and they gave us a couple to borrow for the evening. A beautiful touch and even delivered.
Breakfast was really good, very busy, however. I would recommend going early if you stay on the weekend, don't wait until 9 like we did, not even a seat in the breakfast room. Good selection and choices for any taste.

Room Tip: Stay on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kgardner120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year! Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here several times over the years when it was a Hampton Inn, and always enjoyed the setting very much.

The lobby area is roomy and well appointed, and the staff was really great. I booked a room on the river, which I highly recommend for everyone. Don't get me wrong, this is a friendly place and it has always been clean and comfortable, but without the river out back this is just another hotel.

My room was quite comfortable and well appointed, although the bathroom vanity was not great. It was obviously like many of the Hampton vanities, with the open underneath look, but this one was sparse and unattractive with exposed plumbing. The shower was great and the room had everything I needed to either relax or work.

The price was excellent, and that helped seal the deal for me. When this hotel and its riverside rooms are priced competitively, it will continue to be my choice in Pigeon Forge when visiting for work.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room on the river! Also, upstairs at the end of the hall is much more peaceful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoasterWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are looking forward to your next trip to Pigeon Forge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the rooms. Our room had a spacious jacuzzi that was so relaxing. The beds were so comfy. The breakfast was great! My only complaint was some staff that I believe was housekeeping and maintenance went out the patio door (where guests are eating their breakfast) a total of nine times while I are my breakfast. Being this is December it was cold air constantly chilling the guests and our food. Plus the traffic going in and out the door with garbage etc was distracting.
Other than that issue everything else was great!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kygirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#3 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#10 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge On The Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: $104 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The River 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies or patios on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have Serta pillowtop mattresses, white duvet bedspreads, maple furniture, granite counter tops, in-room Keurig coffee makers, mini-fridges, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. King Suites are available with in-room gas fireplaces, and in-room Jacuzzi tubs. Mini Suites with a sitting area and Queen size sleeper sofas are available along with handicap accessible guest rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, nightly complimentary popcorn in the lobby, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing