We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesomeness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Inn On The River
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Awesomeness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This American Owned and American Ran Resort/Hotel is clean, first class, friendly/accommodating Staff with a Marriott type hot breakfast that is included in the room rate not to mention great pool/spa; nightly popcorn; river stroll area to relax and walk across the parking lot to The Incredible Christmas Store/Fudge/Ice Cream fun. Better than being in Gatlinburg!

Room Tip: This is a quite area anywhere in the hotel as you have the river on the side and nothing behind you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for an awesome review of The Inn On The River! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    383
    90
    28
    13
See reviews for
976
643
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We normally stay at Marriott hotels due to their point system; however, we decided to try The Inn on the River and we were not disappointed! The location is great - you can walk to all sorts of shops and restaurants! The cleanliness of the hotel was awesome and believe me, I examine everything very closely. We do have a few suggestions that might make it just a little better in the future - provide at least 4 pillows per bed, cover the exposed pipes in the bathroom with a shelf or cabinet door, and add a lamp on the second bedside table in room 121. It was really nice seeing a lot of employees during the day time hours always straightening or sweeping, that means you are being proactive in keeping this hotel at the top! We will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsummers84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to read that your enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

WE will stay at the inn on the river the next time we are in Pigeon Forge. Thanks to AJ,Valerie , Amy and the cleaning staff.We meet some of the nicest people while visting their.The inn on the river is close to all of the entertainment.Thanks Vincent and Cynthia Thomas.

Room Tip: Room 320 is by the elevator and has a nice view of the lake
See more room tips
Green Features: environmentally friendly practies are posted in the bath room.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincent d t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to recognize our wonderful staff! We are looking forward to your next trip to Pigeon Forge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at The Inn on the River because of a discount my wife received for being a Tennessee teacher. The discount came at just the right time because I needed to be in town for a few days on business. We chose not to spend the money for a balcony, although a second, third, or fourth floor balcony would have been nice. We were pleasantly surprised to see an open Bible on the desk as we entered the room, and there was a wonderful welcome note from the owners. The room was well appointed, but it was a bit small. However, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows were incredible. Even though our room was near the Parkway, it was very quiet at night. The Inn was within easy walking distance to a number of restaurants and several shops--namely The Christmas Place, which is one of my wife's favorite Pigeon Forge stops. The breakfast offered many options and was delicious. There was fresh popcorn nightly in a spacious lobby. My wife had two favorites about this inn--she was able to spend some quality time reading in a lounge chair overlooking the river, and the inn has two heated pools, one indoor and one outdoor.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a balcony room on a floor other than the ground floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: The inn requested the towel on the floor/towel on the rack favor. Additionally, there was a note requesting that the refrigerator be turned only up to 3.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a nice Inn, not the best we've stayed at, but still good.
I did not like our ground floor balcony - the one for our room was basically the walkway for all the other ground floor balconies. So we basically paid more so others could walk by our room all hours of the day and night. Was not a very secure feeling. Also was not smoke free on the balconies and so was not pleasant at all. Kept finding cigarette butts outside our room.
The room was clean, and they did a good job with housekeeping every day. You just have to make sure and let them know if you need towels.
There are 2 pools, and the chlorine smell was so strong from the inside pool you could smell it in the hallways. The chlorine also irritated my daughter's eyes so we did not bother with the pools after that.
The breakfast buffet was better than most, and featured pretty much everything. It has plenty of protein and low carb dishes, so was good for my diabetic husband and son. The people tending the breakfast area were very pleasant and helpful. It was nice to be treated so nicely.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful. But there is no ATM machine at the Inn, and the one night I needed one, I had to go out in the rain to find one.
I would probably stay here again, but watch where the room was located.

Room Tip: check the ground floor balcony before you commit - ours was a walkway for all the other ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeannh0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for sharing your experience. We hope that all of our guests enjoy their stay with us and we are always ready to learn new ways to improve our services. I am sorry to read about the smoking by your patio and we will make a better effort to keep this from happening in the future by having our staff do a better job of monitoring the patio and balcony areas. For your next visit, please request a Balcony room for a more private setting.
I apologize there was a chlorine smell during your stay and we are currently installing a new dehumidifier system to keep this from reoccurring.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and to have our wonderful staff recognized. They work very hard to ensure everyone has a great start to their day.
I am sure you will notice many improvement during your next trip to Pigeon Forge.

Sincerely,
Rebecka Urban
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family and I have stayed here several times and each time is just as great as the last. They have clean rooms, great rates, and exceptionally friendly staff. They have a great breakfast each morning and delicious fresh popcorn in the lobby in the evenings. From AJ at the front desk to all the rest of the staff thanks for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryoung2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn On The River! We enjoy having you stay with us time after time and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked two nights at The Inn On The River as part of a 6,600+ mile trip. My parents stayed there years ago and love the location. Well, it was FANTASTIC!!! The room was extremely comfortable, the decor was understated but nice and the bathrooms were top notch!! We were on the third floor with a river view and the river side is the side to be on if one stays there. We were treated to views of Canadian Gees, Mallard Ducks and even some Great Blue Herons.

Breakfast is TASTY, and plentiful, and the ladies running the breakfast area were always helpful making sure my dad, who has ALS, had what he needed to make eating easier.

When we were there, there were a couple of tour groups, so breakfast was crowded at times. However, there was always plenty of food.

The front desk people were efficient, friendly and willing to make suggestions where to eat. Check in and out was quick and painless...

We usually stay in chain hotels but this locations is now one of our favorite hotels. We are not crazy about Pigeon Forge, but still, we will always look forward to staying at this fantastic hotel in the future!!! HIGHLY recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Always try for a river view room, even if they are a little more!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for recognizing our great staff! We are very happy to read that you chose to stay with us on you very long trip. We are looking forward to your next stay at The Inn On The River!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.4 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#8 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Property: The Inn On The River
Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#4 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The River 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies or patios on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have Serta pillowtop mattresses, white duvet bedspreads, maple furniture, granite counter tops, in-room Keurig coffee makers, mini-fridges, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. King Suites are available with in-room gas fireplaces, and in-room Jacuzzi tubs. Mini Suites with a sitting area and Queen size sleeper sofas are available along with handicap accessible guest rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, nightly complimentary popcorn in the lobby, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing