We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I am very picky and I loved this place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn On The River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn On The River
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simpsonville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I am very picky and I loved this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. I do not think that we could have found a better breakfast than what we had at the breakfast buffet!! Fresh popcorn every night and fresh coffee all the time really topped it off!! Our room was on the river and even though we were close to the road, we didn't hear any noise. Close to everything!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing The Inn On The River! Its great to read that we were able to meet your high standards and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    350
    86
    28
    13
See reviews for
801
534
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bemis, TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed 7-28-13, it was a last minute booking and we couldn't ask for anything better. It started at the desk, the rooms, the pool, the location, and eating breakfast on the patio next to the creek. Awesome stay, we will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdalls11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for an awesome review! We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We walked in without a reservation and with a magazine coupon...no hassles, easy check in. This hotel has all of the essentials - good bed, clean, good towels, full breakfast, coffee at all times and an extra treat, a popcorn machine that is always pumping out. Hot popcorn.
We did not use the pool/hot tub, the smell of chlorine was way too strong.
The desk clerk was spot on in her recommendation for a show.
Overall very good experience, especially at the discounted rate.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor overlooking the parking lot...the cars are eye level when the curtains ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glacier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We hope to see you again next time you visit Pigeon Forge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is very fresh and new feeling. Carpets, wallpaper look new and clean. Bathrooms are fresh and new as well. Nice lobby and great breakfast. Right on the Pigeon River; very peaceful and relaxing. Manager came around to the breakfast tables to welcome and talk to us about our visit. Cleaning staff were friendly and said hello as we passed in the hallways. Only complaint is that they have no fitness room, but they do have access to a facility off the property for a daily rate.

Green Features: It is a green hotel, so they are very environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We hope you will choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel was very nice and clean. We loved the location and convenience. The bathroom was extremely nice. I loved the nice shower, counter top, and large mirror. My husband and I decided to stay at this hotel because I read all the good reviews on the internet. This was the first time we have spent alone together since before our children were born (29 years ago). We were so very upset and disappointed with our stay. We almost left to go home after the first night. The room beside us had three adults and three young children. The children ran up and down the halls screaming. When they were in their room, it sounded like they were in our room with us. We could hear every word the adults said, and the children were extremely loud. I think if the room had not been an adjoining room with theirs, we wouldn't been able to hear everything that was going on next door. I wish there had been better sound proofing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I apologize that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. We take pride in the level of guest services and product we provide and I would like to have the opportunity to make this up to you in some way. please contact me directly at 800.388.1727 or rebecka@myinnontheriver.com to further discuss your stay.

Sincerely,
Rebecka Urban
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband & I stayed from July 12 to July 20th in room 117 a King Parking-Side Room. We absolutely loved our stay, the room & hotel look the same as advertised on the website which is actually pretty rare anymore. The free breakfast was really great, there are so many items available & the workers keep the area cleaned & stocked the entire time. The seating was very busy but in the 8 nights we stayed we did find a place to sit & eat every morning, be it inside or out on the patio by the river which was very nice also. It's so convenient to have the coffee, hot tea & cocoa available 24 hrs. We enjoyed the free popcorn in the evenings a few times. The room was very clean & plenty of room. I like that there is a closet area with iron & ironing board. There were plenty of plug-in areas available for recharging everything at night. The desk area & big chaise lounge were very nice, my husband fell in love with the chaise. It's always great to have all white bedding & shower curtain. The bathroom had plenty of room also & I loved the tri-mirror over the sink & full length mirror on the bathroom door. Shower with tub had the curved shower rod & a water-pik shower head with different settings, the water pressure was great. The hotel is in a very convenient location to everything in Pigeon Forge & Dollywood/Splash Country, it's very close to everything. There are little machines where you can get duck food to feed the ducks along the river behind the hotel, I saw many kids enjoying the ducks. We used the indoor pool 2 evenings when it rained & found it to be nice & the whirlpool also was very relaxing. The outdoor pool looked very nice. We will definitely be staying here again. I actually already made a reservation for a long weekend in August, so hope to see you soon & thanks for a great stay, The Holbens :)

Green Features: It's great that they are trying to conserve water with the help of guests & it's always optional.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VacaysRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We truly appreciate that you have shared your experience and look forward to you next trip to Pigeon Forge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a great time staying at this hotel. We walked to the Christmas stores and to the Firehouse Putt Putt then ate at the Smoky Brewery. We fed the ducks and the kids walked in the river. We had a room overlooking the river which was really nice. We had a standard room with 2 queens which was a little small for a family of 4. Our room also had a dingy smell which smelled like someone had smoked in the room at one time even though it is non-smoking now. I would have given the rating a 5 if it had smelled better which could probably be fixed by replacing the carpet or curtains.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite if you have a family and a River view to enjoy watching the ducks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbarnett514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innontheriver, General Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Inn On The River. Our hotel is 100% non-smoking; unfortunately a few guests do not follow this guest service policy. I will try to locate the room you occupied and do whatever is necessary to alleviate the unpleasant odor. If I can help with this issue or with your next visit please contact me directly at 800.388.1727 or karl@myinnontheriver.com

Karl Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#2 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 stars 2,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#1 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 stars 1,805 reviews
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#8 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
#5 of 93 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge On The Parkway
0.7 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Property: The Inn On The River
Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The River 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies or patios on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have Serta pillowtop mattresses, white duvet bedspreads, maple furniture, granite counter tops, in-room Keurig coffee makers, mini-fridges, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. King Suites are available with in-room gas fireplaces, and in-room Jacuzzi tubs. Mini Suites with a sitting area and Queen size sleeper sofas are available along with handicap accessible guest rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, nightly complimentary popcorn in the lobby, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing