We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inn On The River
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just visited the Smoky Mountains with my family(husband, 3 y/o, and 5 y/o) and just wanted to put a post as to our stay in the Inn on the River. If you are looking for a nice clean hotel that is great for kids this is the place to stay. Not only is the place clean and the staff great they also offer a couple things my kids found great. The offer a heated outdoor pool along with the indoor pool, fresh fruit in the lobby, and popcorn every night!! Can not say enough nice things about this place. It is within walking distance to so many places so you do not even have to brave the traffic.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and get a room on the river the view is fantastic!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyaholzhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,955 - 1,961 of 2,604 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

I left the Days Inn and Suites in Gatlinburg and came here after a bad experience there. The Inn on the river was beautiful, inside and out.The only negative was all the extra turns needed to get you where you wanted to go in Pigeon Forge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for reviewing The Inn On The River! We are happy our hotel met your needs and appreciate your wonderful comments! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Inn on the River is a great place for families. It reminded me in some ways of the places my parents would take us on vacation in the Pocono Mountains when I was a child. The rooms have a lot of wood and at first seemed a little musty. Our room was very strangely shaped and a little crowded with furniture. However, the bed fabulous, the bathroom clean though small and the towels nice and white and fluffy. It was very quiet at night even though there were quite a few families with children staying there.

Three kinds of coffee, tea and hot chocolate are available 24/7 right off the elevator. Popcorn, freshly popped, is available in the evenings in the lobby. The breakfast is one of the best I have been to. Biscuits and gravy, grits, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt and much more. There is a problem getting a table because they are so crowded. We sat outside even though it was cool. Others sat around the fireplace or on benches holding their plates of food.

We only encountered one problem with the hotel and it was resolved quickly and nicely. We had been out shopping at the outlets all day and when we got back to our room late afternoon, the room was cleaned, but our bed was not made up. The maid did come and do up the bed, but it was explained to us that we had drawn our covers up on the bed (which we did to be neat) and so that meant we didn't want them to make up the bed. We have always drawn up our covers rather than have them all tumbled up on the bed and never encountered this before. Our friends in another room place the "green" card on their bed to indicate that the sheets did not have to be changed to preserve the environment. The sheets were not changed, but in addition - the bed was not made up either. The next morning when checking out, the manager brought up the incident and said she was looking into why there was such an unusual guideline for the housekeeping staff to follow since it confused guests.

This hotel is in an excellent location closer to Sevierville - especially if you are not with kids and want to do the outlets which are just up the road. The Bullfish Restaurant across the street is very good and you can walk there. Catering to families as they do, the Inn on the River is doing a fine job of making everyone happy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GitanaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the mix up with your housekeeping and are happy to hear that we resolved it quickly! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We normality rent a cabin, but this time we were only staying one night. So, reluctantly booked a hotel. However when we arrived I was pleasantly surprised. We booked a room with two queen beds and a balcony during spring break. I thought the room rate was reasonable for this very busy time of year. The room was clean and updated. The beds were comfortable and the balcony not only over looked the river, but also had a nice view of the mountains. The staff was very nice- much nicer then most of the cabin rentals we have used. It is in a very busy spot, So expect some traffic noise and you have to be patient with the traffic getting to and from the hotel. The upside to its busy location is you can walk to many nice areas and shopping. We visit the area about 6-8 times a year and I wouldn't hestiate to stay here again. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyvacfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you chose to stay with us and hope you will choose The Inn On The River again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very nice place to stay!! We stayed 3 nights on spring break. It was VERY busy. The staff was very friendly down to the cleaning/maintenance crew. Always a friendly "hello" or "good morning".
The room was very clean and fresh every day we came back from playing "tourist". Breakfast was a busy area due to spring break but was plentiful and good! The beds could've been a bit firmer but this would not keep us from staying here again.
Would recommend this place...very clean and affordable.

Room Tip: try and stay in an upper level room away from the pool area. The smell of chlorine can get to ya af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momof2galsmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your recommendations! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place was an excellent place to stay on my vacation! The rooms were very clean and nice and the service was friendly and helpful. In the lobby they have a section for kids to play board games and from 7-10 pm they have popcorn in the lobby. The indoor and outdoor pools were very clean and great for the kids! The indoor pool only goes up to four feet so it is convenient for younger kids. The breakfast was great with lots of variety! They have a business center if you need to use one. The staff is very friendly and helps you with anything you may need! I was planning this review to be a four until I noticed I forgot my toothbrush and went to the lobby. I asked if they had one and they gave me a toothbrush and toothpaste! Not just the one time use toothpaste but the small tube of toothpaste! All in all this is an excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review! We enjoyed having you stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed one night and wished we could stay longer. The property is very clean and well managed, the rooms look new and the bathrooms are very nice too. Plenty of fluffy towels, the sheets and bedding are of good quality. Breakfast has a nice variety of hot and cold items, and the strawberries and whipped cream for the waffles were a nice addition instead of syrup. Also the variety of coffees and teas offered had something for everyone, and available 24/7 too! We got a nice TripAdvisor discount rate also, so check for that when you make your reservation.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot, but was not a bit noisy. I wouldn't pay extra for the river vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mctravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#3 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#11 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,417 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
1.4 mi away
Black Fox Lodge
Black Fox Lodge
#7 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: $79 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The River 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies or patios on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have Serta pillowtop mattresses, white duvet bedspreads, maple furniture, granite counter tops, in-room Keurig coffee makers, mini-fridges, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. King Suites are available with in-room gas fireplaces, and in-room Jacuzzi tubs. Mini Suites with a sitting area and Queen size sleeper sofas are available along with handicap accessible guest rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, nightly complimentary popcorn in the lobby, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing