We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn On The River
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Pigeon Forge North(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Riverside(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plaza Inn(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
$100
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Cascades Waterpark Resort(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creekstone Inn(Pigeon Forge)(Great Value!)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$259
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,684)
Filter reviews
2,684 results
Traveler rating
2,110
424
106
30
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,110
424
106
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssweet teafree popcornbath and body worksice waterfire pitwafflesgreat place to staylittle pigeon riverevery eveningfeed the ducksrocking chairseach morningstaff was very friendlyoutdoor poolclean roomsbreakfast barfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
2,069 - 2,074 of 2,684 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a winter weekend here. It was beautiful with a view of the river from the balcony. It had a cozy gas fireplace and huge jacuzzi tub. The prices were very reasonable for all the amenties and a clean, comfortable room. The free breakfast was delicious! We will definitely return in warmer weather so we can fully enjoy the balcony and watch the mallards, ducks and other other water fowl that enjoy the river behind the hotel. Overall great experience!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony if traveling in warm weather so you can fully enjoy the river and the view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelindaMKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have to say the rooms in this inn are dated at best - so much that we were a little taken aback by it. The beds were fine and comfy, but in the sitting area of our room, one of the chairs looked like it had some disgusting old stains on it and we didn't even want to sit on it. The bathroom looked like it had been renovated recently, tho, and therefore we don't have any big complaints on the room.

We got the standard "by the park" room, and this means it was right next to the parking lot. The walls and windows were so thin that we were waken on both nights by guests leaving very early, making noise at the parking lot, and on one occasion, a car alarm going off. If you are staying here, I highly recommend putting the money for the river side, as it will make sleeping past 7am a much nicer experience.

The pool area, although so full of kids screaming that it wasn't really the place for adults to relax in the hot tub, was pretty nice, and it did do wonders do our aching muscles after a day at the mountains.

The breakfast was typical USA south, with plastic forks etc. Not really our thing, as I'd have hoped for a selection of meats and cheeses on my toast, but in its own category it was well executed with pretty good variety.

The location is pretty good, a walking distance from a couple nice restaurants (like the Smoky Mountain Brewery).

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased that you were able to relax in the hot tub and that you could see that the pool area is a family friendly attraction. We are also pleased that you found the bed comfortable and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us!

We have taken great strides to improve our guest rooms and in-room amenities, including routine preventative maintenance as well as upgrading and renovating whenever possible. We have recently installed all new heat and air units that are controlled by wall mounted thermostats and will continue to improve our hotel. We have checked our records to ensure that the chair in your room has been properly cleaned and assure you this is not a normal occurrence as we have very high cleanliness standards. I apologize that this was missed before your arrival. As for the quietness of your room, I hope that if you brought this to the attention of the front desk that we offered to accommodate you with another room location if it was available.

Thank you for you comments on our breakfast. We are very proud to provide a great "southern" style full breakfast with over 20 items available every morning. We are usually able to accommodate everyone's breakfast needs.

Again, we are very happy that you took the time to review our hotel and would be happy to talk to you further about your stay. You may contact me personally at 800.388.1727 or rebecka@myinnontheriver.com.

Sincerely,
Rebecka Urban
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second trip to The Inn and our rooms were very clean and the food was fresh at the breakfast bar. Our Valentine get-a-way was made more enjoyable by the staff at the front desk. AJ and Cliff were most helpful and very friendly. We were able to use our special rate coupon for the room and were given one for dining at Carino,s (excellent Italian cuisine). We will definitely visit The Inn the next time we are in the Pigeon Forge area. The clean rooms and comfortable atmosphere were welcoming to all of our group.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Could not have have a better experience. The staff MADE this weekend work. the building, while a bit dated, had obviously been renovated in the recent past, and was very nice. I heard a few complaints from other guests about noise, but we had none, and the place was packed. A.J., Liz, and Danielle at the Front Desk, were excellent, and made this trip in and out, look simple and quick, and made the few requests we had happen almost instantly. Jack, in the Dining area for breakfast, MADE the meal work, despite the very large crowd. This was our first trip to Inn On The River, but as February regulars to this area for the past 14 years, we have tried a number other places, and found them wanting. We WILL be back next year, and thanks.

Room Tip: Third floor is MUCH quieter than the rest of the place. We were most satisfied in the room, and especially the treatment by the staff...Would recommend a riverside room...much nicer view, if that matters.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review; this really MADE our day! We are pleased that our staff left such a great impression and that you will be returning! We are looking forward to your next annual trip to Pigeon Forge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the weekend after Valentine’s day. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. I believe the hotel is older and must have been recently renovated for the rooms to be as clean as they were for a building that age. The location is great. The Mellow Mushroom and Bullfish Grill (highly recommended) are right across the street and it’s just a short walk to a movie theater. Our room was on the first floor. When we first entered the hotel to go to our room the smell of chlorine from the indoor pool was very strong. Fortunately the chlorine smell didn’t make it down to our room. I guess this just means the pool is clean but I wouldn’t have wanted to be in a room near the pool and smelled that all weekend. Although the hotel is non-smoking there were several time that we got a strong odor of cigarette smoke in our room. I don’t know where it came from. I suspect someone was smoking outside and it was pulled in through the heater. I also noticed this in the hall a couple times but it never lasted long and was never really an issue. We were looking for a quiet relaxing stay and unfortunately we ended up next door to a very loud family. The walls seemed to be paper thin as we heard conversations late into the night and doors slamming at all hours. This was no fault of the hotel, jut our bad luck. This hotel would be fine for a family that wants to stay in the middle of the action but if you are looking for a quiet relaxing get away this may not be for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Chumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for you candid review. We strive to provide the best guest experience for all of our guests. We have recently upgraded the pool system to maintain the level of cleanliness of the pool as well as to minimize the "chlorine smell" from our indoor pool. We do and will continue to monitor the pool area to insure that all chemicals are within health code standards.
As I am sure you are aware, we have a very strict non-smoking policy and apologize that you could smell cigarette smoke. We do try to keep this from being an issue and will continue to uphold our policy.
As you stated you may have had some loud neighbors during your stay and we do apologize for this. I hope that if you brought this to the attention of the Front Desk or a Manager that we offered to find a quieter room for you.
Please feel free to contact me directly at 800.388.1727 or rebecka@myinnontheriver.com to discuss your stay further or if there is any I can do for you!
Sincerely,
Rebecka Urban
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews