We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,804)
Filter reviews
2,804 results
Traveler rating
2,217
433
108
30
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,217
433
108
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssweet teafree popcornwafflesfire pitwatching the duckslittle pigeon rivergreat place to stayevery eveningmellow mushroomeach morningclean roomsstaff was very friendlyrocking chairsoutdoor poolbreakfast barbreakfast was deliciousfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
2,220 - 2,225 of 2,804 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent 4 days between Christmas and New Years in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg and stayed at The Inn On The River. It is right on the Parkway in the center of Pigeon Forge. Close to everything-the outlet malls, amusement parks and great restaurants. We had a riverview room and it was grand. I would recommend a room on the upper floors toward the rear of the property for the best view of the river. It was clean and spacious. Breakfast was better than average and in the evening they crank up the popcorn machine. The fireplace in the lobby makes for a cozy comfortable place to sit and visit or play some of the games available. Overall a very nice place.

Room Tip: Upper floors toward the rear of the property for a good riverview
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digger-ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Great review! Thank you for reviewing The Inn On The River! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent hotel. My wife and I were a little skeptical having only seen the hotel in pictures on the Internet, but when we arrived our worries were gone. Starting with the staff, they were friendly, courteous, and very kind. The cleaning staff would hold doors open, hold elevators, and making friendly conversation. The front desk was kind, informative and understanding. The room was very clean, had a nice sized flat screen TV (not like other hotels who advertise having flat screen TVs and you end up having to watch a computer monitor from across the room) with plenty of channels. The A/C and heat unit worked very well. The bathroom was clean, had granite countertops, and soaps from Bath and Body Works. The jacuzzi was very nice and even had its own room within the room. The fireplace was a nice touch to set the room apart from others and it came in handy since it was pretty cold during our stay. The breakfast was very nice with plenty of choices of fresh, hot food. The only negative would be that there isn't enough seating in the breakfast area. The indoor heated pool was also a nice touch even though we didn't use it. I could not be happier about choosing this hotel. The location of it was terrific and this will definitely be the place we stay when coming to Pigeon Forge.

Room Tip: The single king room was fabulous.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed at this motel for the last three years at the same time frame- week after Christmas thru New Years. The value was great. Prices for similar rooms were higher. The staff was always pleasant and some of them recognize us from previous stays. Good location. Breakfast is crowded though. The lobby is a good place to come and hang out, play cards, or watch the ball games while enjoying fresh hot popcorn. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for continuing to come back year after year; we truly appreciate having you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I'm not certain if my husband and I are just picky because we normally sleep on a memory foam bed but the innerspring mattress was hard to get comfortable on. We both slept bad. But the room was very nice for the price. The sheets and comforter were soft and cozy. The comforter was the perfect weight. The massaging option on the shower head was amazing for aching muscles. The hall smelled like pool as we were on the bottom floor and one of the first rooms coming off the pool, so I was pleasantly surprised that the room had zero smell. My nose is very sensitive so I always find issue with rooms in hotels and always bring a nice candle to burn to cover up the scent while we're there so this was a very major plus that everything was scentless. The breakfast was very good, my husband brought ours back to our room so I'm unsure how the seating or layout was. Our room was on the River Veiw and it was lovely, just wish the outdoor furntirue wasn't that super cheap plastic, being from around here despite being December 31st we would have sat in them had they been more comfortable. I would recommend them with a caution about the bed.

Room Tip: River view has a great view of the ducks in the river.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leann0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your comments and will use your review constructively. We are currently preforming preventative maintenance on all of our rooms and will make sure to address all areas of our rooms. We look forward to sharing our improvements and upgrades with you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Traveled with a large group with several children. They had a nice pool with hot tub. The kids enjoyed the free popcorn and hot chocolate every evening in the lobby. Playing checkers by the fireplace was a nice touch. The rooms were nice with clean bathrooms. The beds were really comfortable, too. The breakfast was hot and really good. I personally enjoyed the waffle maker. The staff was always smiling, making conversation and cleaning. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candace0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Urban37863, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On The River, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Inn On The River. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews