We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money we spent"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn On The River
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed there this past week and paid for a room with a river view. When we first went on the balcony, all we saw was the traffic and the river smelled horrible. Plus there was garbage in the room from the previous tenants. This hotel needs to be updated in every way. The tv didn't work half the time and we had to keep messing with wires in the back to get it to work. There are no washers and drawers in the hotel to do laundry if you need to. [The room had a musty smell to it and everything had a damp feeling to it. The room was either freezing or hot- no happy medium with the a/c unit. They have 2 computers and only one was working but ran very slowly. The pools are small and the hallway near the pool smelled so strongly of chlorine. My children went in it once and after only a few minutes their eyes were burning and red from the chlorine. They never went back in it again. I did not have a problem with the staff or breakfast but this hotel needs a lot of work, and was very disappointed. We will not go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dylmadi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,440 - 2,446 of 2,545 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were struggling for a while trying to determine where to stay in Pigeon Forge since this would be a first trip there. Luckily my wife is better than any travel agent I've worked with. She found and selected this hotel after an hour working the net. Wow. Were we pleasantly surprised. I didn't want to stay there because the price seemed low compared to what was promised. I won't be second guessing her again. Staff, location, cleanliness and breakfast were over the top.

We stayed two extra days just because of the fun we had in town and the comfort of a nice hotel.

We are coming back this fall and bringing our extended family and know where to eat and where to stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillsides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

There is no need to spent extra money for a balcony since the smell of a nearby sewage treatment plant is so bad I dont think anybody can take the smell long enough to sit out there in the evening.The pools are tiny and the hot tub looked dirty.We decided not to use either one, even though the pools where a factor when deciding where to stay.
Breakfast was average, but there was no room to sit in the breakfast area and we were forced several days to eat in the room. The room had insufficient outlets to charge all the cellphones and gadgets. Not having a mini fridge was a negative I did not even consider.
Housekeeping is average at best. Mirrors where dirty and smudged when we checked in and never touched while we were there. Housekeeping only made beds and put in towels.Some of which should be called rags and taking out of circulation. The room was not cleaned or vacumed, neither was the hallway (popcorn on floor) Checking out the "riverwalk" which was disappointing but looked nice in the advertisment, I noticed that ALL the windows in the motel need cleaning, not just the ones in our room.
Personnel was friendly but never could get us discount tickets for Dollywood as advertised.
I know there is a better value for the money in Pigeon Forge. I was disappointed in "THE INN AT THE RIVER".

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boellerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My family and I stayed two nights here. The rooms are small but comfortable. It has two pools, one in, one out, which is a great option on a hot day. The river view is a big plus, very relaxing.
The worst part is breakfast, it is not as you see it in the pictures. It really is a cut above the regular continental most other hotels have, but we didn't stay there for that.
The staff was friendly and service was great. You can walk to a lot of things from the hotel and you know driving in Pigeon Forge can be an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwilliam31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This fine hotel has great service. One employee, Will Timbrook, went above and beyond. We had car problems the morning we left. To make matters worse, it was Sunday. Will gave us the name of a mechanic he knew, who worked at Wal Mart's tire center, which was open at 7 AM on Sunday. On his way home, after working the night shift, Will stopped off at Wal Mart to introduce us to his friend. Thanks to Will, we got our car straightened out, and returned home safely.This was an example of the many courtesies given by the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 02165PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

As soon as we drove up to the property we had a sinking feeling. The outside was very drab in appearance and looked like it was in need of a facelift. The inside wasn't any better.
The staff was friendly and check-in was easy, no complaints with that.
We had booked a "Deluxe Mini 2 queen suite" for $139. It was anything but deluxe. It was not much bigger than a $69 room. It had a sleep sofa that had dirty sheets in it and so uncomfortable our son slept with it folded up. Cleanliness was ok, certainly not spotless. And it's kind of hard to tell if it's dirty or just old and worn out. The beds were comfortable enough, but the humidity in the room was awful and so we just felt sticky all night. They claim to have Free Internet, however, you need to call an Internet tech specialist to walk you through the process to hook up and then there is not enough signal strength to get connected to any website.
The breakfast buffet was just ok. Very crowded, there was outdoor seating, which would of been nice had the umbrella stands actually have umbrellas to keep you under some shade. The hot sun beating down is not very pleasant.
We had booked for 4 nights, but checked out only after one night. we wouldn't have even stayed the one night had it not been for them keeping a one nights fee.
We went across the street to The Inn at Christmas Place, which we highly recommend!
We just got the standard room which was less than what we paid for at the Inn on the River and it was bigger than their suite. An absolutely wonderful hotel. There are a lot of other nice places to stay in Pigeon Forge, so stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hotel is great! Everything you would expect at a Hampton but half the price. Will definitely stay here next time!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.6 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#11 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#3 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge On The Parkway
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The River

Address: 2492 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#3 Green Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: $86 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn On The River 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the River presents 128 newly renovated guest rooms with interior corridors featuring one half with private balconies or patios on the beautiful Little Pigeon River. All tastefully decorated Deluxe Guest Rooms have Serta pillowtop mattresses, white duvet bedspreads, maple furniture, granite counter tops, in-room Keurig coffee makers, mini-fridges, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. King Suites are available with in-room gas fireplaces, and in-room Jacuzzi tubs. Mini Suites with a sitting area and Queen size sleeper sofas are available along with handicap accessible guest rooms. Along with your room, you'll enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast, nightly complimentary popcorn in the lobby, and 24 hour coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Inn On The River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The River Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hampton Inn Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing