We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over Priced Hide Away”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #7 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
East Bend, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over Priced Hide Away”
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We booked our stay through Orbitz and arrived around check-in time on 8/1. We loved the location since it was off the strip but close to everything. The staff was friendly and the room was very clean. The continental breakfast was very good.

The hotel only has one elevator and it is very slow especially when the hotel is full.

Once we walked into our room and saw how small it was, we asked to upgrade but was informed there was not really anything larger. We had the one queen bed layout which I would not recommend. This layout made it hard to keep the bedroom cool since the A/C did not blow into this room and it felt very small.

The queen size bed we slept on had a very firm mattress which for us was very uncomfortable. We didn’t get very much rest because of this. The hotel staff and management said they are upgrading the mattresses soon but this didn’t make my stay better.

The hotel offers a light touch cleaning service where the house keeping only makes the bed, brings fresh towels, and takes the trash if requested that day. Otherwise, they don’t do a full cleaning until the fourth day.

Our issue with this is we have a 17 month old child and needed trash taken out daily due to dirty diapers. Being on vacation and based on the amount we were paying for the stay, I didn’t feel I should have to take my own trash out. On the morning of the second day we requested the light touch service and no one ever came. The third day we again requested light touch service and someone came but they didn’t really make the bed the way we expected. On the fourth day, we didn’t get the full service at all.

We met with an assistant manager the morning of our check out and he said the Manager was out of town and would contact us when he returned about our stay-never happened.
We were told since we used Orbitz, the hotel could not refund our money at all because Orbitz paid them. The assistant manager said he would discourage people from using Orbitz because of situations like these and if Orbitz keeps me from getting compensated for an unsatisfactory stay, I agree with the assistant manager.

  • Liked — Location and Pool
  • Disliked — The bed, house keeping, and the price compared to other hotels in the area with equal accomadations.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevlDoc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    165
    45
    18
    8
See reviews for
339
80
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

The hotel is nice. Our room was VERY CLEAN (bathroom, sheets, kitchenette, etc.) and looked to be freshly painted. The grounds/pools are well kept and clean. Actually, the pools and lazy river were great. We liked the fact that the hotel is off the main drag and they don't run you out of bed every morning to "clean" your room. They come every 4th day, unless you request it. The breakfast was fair. Now for the one bad thing....THE BEDS!!!!! My husband was amazed that I got virtually no sleep the 4 nights we were there. I can usually sleep anywhere...but not on these beds. They were horrible! The very first time I laid across one, I turned to my husband and said, "Oh boy...this is not going to be fun!"
We were pleased with everything else and would consider staying here again if they change the bedding. We did enjoy our vacation very much, but a restful sleep would have been mighty helpful!

  • Liked — pool facilities
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bygeorge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We were attracted to this hotel for several reasons.
1. It is not situated directly on the main drag in Pigeon Forge.
2. It had a kitchenette.
3. It had good pool facilities.
4. The price was not half bad.

We will not stay here again for the following reason.
1. The beds felt like we were sleeping on the floor.

We loved the pool. We loved the kitchenette. We loved not having the noise and lights of the main drag. The breakfast was fair.

However, by the time we got home, we were so tired and sore, sore, sore. My son slept o.k. on the sleeper sofa. My daughter slept great in her pack-n-play we brought from home. My husband and I slept horribly. Our backs, shoulders, legs and arms were so sore after sleeping in the bed.

  • Liked — The pool, the kitchenette, the location
  • Disliked — The beds or should I say concrete slabs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rev2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
133 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

Hotel is in a very nice location off of the main drag, very picturesque. The hotel is overpriced for the type of room and facility they have. The room is a good size although it was not very clean. The walls were dirty. the closet was missing the door knob. the bathroom door knob was barely hanging on. They do provide daily housecleaning, which is something this place needs. The front "desk" staff were very accomodating. You have to ask for pool towels and they are not much larger than a face cloth. The breakfast had a good selection of product but get there early, it's packed. We had to have our room sprayed as a result of a situation, they were quick to take care of this. In summary, with some consistant maintenance and house cleaning this could be a very nice hotel but unfortunately this is not the case. I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank don38506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

I would have rated excellent, but we did have a couple of problems.

We stayed at the Mainstay with other families and we had a blast. The kids loved the outdoor pool with kiddie pool for the little ones and lazy river. Some families had the larger open room wtih the two queen beds (no partition or door between beds and rest of room) and sofa bed. Others had the suite with a queen bed in bedroom with door and sofa bed in other room. That second style was ideal for putting the kids to bed early, but left the adults with the sofa bed. I wish they had designed some suites with two queen beds in a private bedroom instead of just one. Suites are pictured on the website so you know what you are getting. Suites were clean and well furnished.

The staff was very helpful and accomodating, including late checkout. They came and helped us hook our portable dvd player to the tv so the kids could have some downtime. Beware of the late checkout option, because the computer automatically turned off the keys at 11am in spite of the pre-arranged late checkout. We had to go down and get them re-activated. The only other problem was too little seating in the breakfast area for the large crowd present that weekend - we ended up taking turns sitting in one available chair.

Overall I rate the Mainstay Suites very good and we would consider staying there again.

  • Liked — Outdoor pool area
  • Disliked — Breakfast area too small
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Porky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The Mainstay is attractive as it off the main drag in Pigeon Forge and has an indoor pool, outdoor pool and a "lazy river." However, for the money, there are better hotels in PF. The "suite" is actually an oversized hotel room with no partitions or dividers that most hotels have in their suites. The walls are thin and you can hear a lot of noise from other guests. Little things like a hole in the ceiling above the shower, and stains on the lampshades will eventually add up and this hotel will be run down in a few years if the owners do not put money into the upkeep. Rather than a traditional check-in counter this hotel has an office like setting with two desks. From the time we checked in the staff was unfriendly and seemed bothered with any requests you had of them. You have to get pool towels from the front "office" and each time we went in they were reading the newspaper, balancing their checkbook, or something other than working. The breakfast was good: waffles, sausage, eggs, gravy, cereal etc. Don't waste your money. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Matewan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2007

This place is great!!! The location is off the parkway which we found refreshing and the grounds were beautiful. Room was very spacious and well kept. We had a room with two queen beds, a sleeper sofa, and kitchenette -(which I beleive all the rooms have!) Entire hotel was very clean and staff was warm a nd helpful! And the outdoor pool area was wonderful, -loved the fact that they had a kiddie pool and lazy river! (Did not use the indoor pool but it also looked nice and clean ) We loved the Mainstay and will return!

  • Liked — Clean Spacious Room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolcat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#5 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
0.9 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#8 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 410 Pine Mountain Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#9 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#21 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mainstay Suites an ALL-SUITE hotel located in Pigeon Forge. Indoor/outdoor pools, full breakfast. Located near the new LeConte Center, Dollywood, Dixie Stampede, The all new Island, WonderWorks and Titanic Museum. We also have a convention center for up tp 350 guest with meeting room space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Hotel Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Suite Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing