We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Buchanan, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We just got back from a weekend trip to Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg. The weather was terrible, but our stay at the Mainstay Suites in Pigeon Forge was great. Our room was clean and the light touch housekeeping we requested for towels was honored promptly. The continental breakfast food was great. We had sausage biscuits and waffles. The cold and rain did not allow for us to use the outdoor pools and lazy river, but our kids had a blast in the indoor pool. I have stayed here before in June of 2003 and the lazy river is great! We will be back again! It is nice to stay just off the busy Parkway, but yet be close enough to everything.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    165
    45
    18
    8
See reviews for
335
78
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

One Bedroom Suite with Living Room, Bedroom (1 Queen), and Kitchen, Non-Smoking Room. The suite was clean and nice. The room had two televisions. One in the living room and one in the bedroom. Check in was fast and friendly. The front desk staff explained the ‘light touch’ housekeeping option. Parking area was large with adequate lighting at night. They have an indoor pool, indoor hot tub, outdoor pool, kiddie pool, and lazy river. The areas appeared to be neat and clean, but I did not use any of the pools.

We experienced an issue with the hot water on the first morning. We contacted the front desk as were told that they were experiencing a problem with their boiler room and that it should be corrected in about 15 minutes. The issue was corrected promptly. I was told they had to get a maintenance person from another hotel. If you were in a hurry to get out on the town in the morning this would have been a big deal.

The Continental Breakfast was very under-stocked both mornings. Normally, the staff assigned to the breakfast area keeps everything neat and well stocked. That was not the case on either morning of my stay. For example on the last morning the staff checked levels twice during the half hour that I was in the breakfast room but did not re-stock any items. I noticed that during that entire time period the milk was empty, one of the four types of cereal was completely empty, the hard-boiled eggs were empty, and one of the others in the room had to go find the staff person so he could get syrup for his waffles.

Mainstay Suites is located about ½ mile of the parkway and is in a rural setting. The property has a mountain stream/river running along it’s edge. You are located in the country but only a short distance from the parkway. Pine Mountain Road is at traffic light 6 in Pigeon Forge so entry onto the parkway is easy no matter which direction you wish to travel.

If you are looking for a place to stay with nice rooms and located off the parkway, the Mainstay is a nice place. I would most likely stay here again because of the peaceful and relaxing location, no traffic noise, and close to the parkway. Wherever you should choose, enjoy your trip to the Pigeon Forge/Smoky Mountains Area.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank hby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

We stayed at the Mainstay Suites during Spring Break 2005. I like how it is off the main drag. It is quiet and peaceful. A church was having a retreat there during our stay, as they have an extremely nice meeting center. We had a balcony that overlooked the outdoor pool and meeting center. There were horses on the hill nearby. Very Nice! Also very nice was the indoor heated pool! Our kids swam every night.

I will attach a pic of the room and outdoor meeting center although it is a little bit "grainy and dark".

  • Liked — Value, Kitchen, Indoor Pool
  • Disliked — Beds were a little hard
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank adsjls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

I stayed twice in the hotel for the past few years. The first time, I stayed one night and had a great experience since the hotel was newly built. This time, I was disappointed. The front desk staffs were slow and not friendly. The wallpapers were peeling from the wall. The carpet in the room was dirty. We arrived at 5 PM and the room was not even ready. When we went into the room, the housekeeper was still cleaning up the room. We were standing there and watching her rushing to finish the room. The table was greasy and with food stains and the bathroom looked like some one else had just used it.

The hotel does not provide daily housekeeping, if you stay more than one night. A "light touch" is provided only if you call. With the price we paid for, we expected a little bit more. I would not recommend this place to anyone who prefers to go back to a clean hotel room after a day's adventure.

  • Liked — There is a lazy river outdoor. but it was closed during winter.
  • Disliked — The staff and the cleaniness of the hotel. The online reservation was not clear as to the type of the room one will get.
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure to reserve the "one bedroom suite" if you want to have a closed door bedroom.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky456
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

Stayed here with family members and really enjoyed the stay. The room was exceptionally clean. The place was really quite and beautiful landscaping. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britbrat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, OH
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Stayed at the MainStay Suites over Labor Day weekend. It probably has one of the nicest grounds of any hotel in the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area.

The room was very clean and a crib was already in the room per our special requuest when making the reservation.

The breakfast in the morning is mainly average. They do go above normal with egg and cheese that you can place on a biscuit if you wish. This was yummy, but did get tiring after 4 days. The ladies who keep the breakfast stocked in the morning were always right there.

I had read from other reviews that groups sometimes stay here. We experienced this as a family was having a reunion at the time of our stay and another group was a business gatherring.

I can personally say that this hotel keeps noise out very well. We were on the 4th floor and the reunion group was on the third floor. They were running, screaming, yelling, and essentially partying very loud on one partucular evening, but we did not even here them in our room. We only know of their activites from coming up the stairs to our room.

The pools are great. Something for everyone. I will say that the only one heated properly was the lazy river. All of the others were somewhat cold. I told the front desk this upon checkout, but whether it does any good or not, will remain to be seen.

Overall, I give MainStay Suites a 9 out of 10. If more items were on the breakfast bar and the heated pools kept the proper temperature they would warrant a 10. Maybe next year.....

  • Liked — The variety of pools especially the lazy river
  • Disliked — Some of the pools being cold even though they had heaters in them.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the Back Streets to get around during busy times. You will save quite a lot of time.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Durango4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

This hotel is absolutely wonderful and I have been there many times. It has the perfect location for Smokey Mountain and Dollywood fun and the pool is hard to beat by all but Disney standards.

Though the place is excellant I have to complain about the staff at the resort. First of all we arrived at 4:00 (check in at 3) and were told our room is not ready which would have been perfectly fine had it not been for the room we got half an hour later. It had no balcony which we asked for booking five months in advanced. We called the front desk and got a new room facing the pool which turned out to be a smoking room. The man at the front desk was extremely curt and told us basically to deal with it ourselves even though two in our party have asthma. Overall the staff were terrible to us from the moment we walked in the door to the moment we walked out a week later.

Will NOT stay again.

  • Liked — Pool/ Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Imagine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#3 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
2,058 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
2,312 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
1,192 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Christmas Place
The Inn at Christmas Place
#2 of 90 in Pigeon Forge
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 410 Pine Mountain Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#9 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#21 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mainstay Suites an ALL-SUITE hotel located in Pigeon Forge. Indoor/outdoor pools, full breakfast. Located near the new LeConte Center, Dollywood, Dixie Stampede, The all new Island, WonderWorks and Titanic Museum. We also have a convention center for up tp 350 guest with meeting room space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Hotel Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Suite Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing