We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden charge”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Wapakoneta, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden charge”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. It was nice and quiet, great price for mini suite however they added extra daily charge for in room safe that we didn't want or use. We told the clerk upon check in that we did not want or would use the room safe. She told us that if we didn't use the save that we could have the charges removed from our statement upon check out. We did have our bill adjusted upon check out however it took 10 days for the adjustment to show up on our credit card. We have stayed at several hotels and have never been charged for a room safe plus tax and warranty before. If we were it was included in the nightly room rate and not a extra charge.
The room was clean with full size refrigerator, little stovetop, microwave, and sink with dishes, silverware, and little dishwasher. The breakfast selection was good however the food lay out was poor and scattered across the breakfast dining area. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lklam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for the nice review of our property. We are always happy to refund safe charges of 1.50 per day. We do disclose that upon check-in and you have the opportunity to remove the charge. We appreciate you staying with us in Pigeon Forge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    176
    47
    18
    8
See reviews for
358
85
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, USA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Got a good deal online for a one night stay here. The suite we had was like an offset, double room. Big enough for family of five, but tighter than some full-on, real multi-room suite offerings. But great deal, imo. This feels like mainstreet USA, neighborhood; and feels miles from the flashy main drag in PF. Good hot breakfast. I got up two hours earlier than the 7 am (?) breakfast start. Socialized with the staff and they fixed me up with food well before I would have ever expected them to. I would say this is good for families not looking for such a din of excitement. The other folks I saw there were of a more advanced age the many families. But that's ok, too. Again, very peace area, babbling brooke adjacent to parking. We will look to stay here again. And we did, in fact, but they were sold out later in the same week as we would have been passing by.

Room Tip: Steps up to side entrances. Not ramp. So be warned for wheelchairs, mobility carts, and even rolling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSVTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are a hidden gem right off the main strip. I am glad you chose Mainstay Suites as your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent two nights at the Main Stay Suites in Pigeon Forge. We have visited Pigeon Forge several times in the past and stayed at nice hotels, but this was undoubtedly the best. The hotel is about 1/2 mile off the main road, so it was quiet and dark at night. After a couple of long days as tourists, that was greatly appreciated. The room had two queen beds (ours was very firm and slept very well) plus a couch with a pullout bed. There was a fridge, microwave, dishwasher, and sink. The nightly rates were very low, the room was clean and the service was very friendly. The breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations: the food was fresh, the biscuits and gravy were tasty and they had a waffle maker that the kids enjoyed.

We will definitely stay here the next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms on the front side of the hotel have a nice view of the grounds and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are so glad that your stay was great here at Mainstay Suites. We are a cozy, family friendly hotel just right off the busy strip for a great relaxing time. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved this hotel. It was nice and clean. Nice looking pools and pretty outside.....but a few things need working on, the breakfast area was to small and there were small containers for food so we never really got any thing that we wanted to eat...the sausage and eggs were always empty....they would only fix small amounts each time and they were taken as soon as they came out, needs to be bigger fuller containers of them, I saw busses there so it was full and no where to sit and then ppl would sit and talk and drink coffee and keep the tables occupied. So the breakfast def needs tweaking. Also the bathtubs were so deep I had a hard time getting in and out of them. I read where other ppl had a safe charge and just checked my bill & I have one also...why is this??....should that not just be included in price & we didn't use it & was never told it would be charged or taken off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 621Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts of how we can improve our service to our guest. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delton
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Main Stay. It was a beautiful motel, the room size suited our family.
The trolley stop at the motel made it easy to get around without using our vehicle. The breakfast was yummy...only wished they had fresh fruit instead of canned. Everything else was great. The hotel staff was friendly, and helpful. The pool and hot tub areas were clean, a big plus. So many motels have dirty hot tubs...this one was clean! My mom and my sisters stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our vacation together with help from Main Stay. We will be using you again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltongranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I used to stay at this property when they first opened. This was my first time back here for several years. I must say that I was not disappointed. My family and I only needed the room for 1 night. We were about an hour early before check in, but they had a few rooms open and let us check in early. This was a good thing as my wife had just come down with a stomach virus and she was able to rest. The ladies at check in were very friendly and helpful.

Rooms are great. We had 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. There was a great mini kitchen. My youngest daughter loved it because she had plenty of room to run around. My biggest pet peeve is carpet, and this hotel appeared to have clean carpets. The bathroom was a nice size and was clean also. There is a full kitchen as well, so this place would be perfect for a long stay.

Breakfast in the morning was very good. My daughters loved the waffles because they were in the shape of a bear (although you couldn't tell since my wife had issues getting them out of the waffle maker.)

Here is my only issue. At check in I was advised that there would be an in room safe charge on my bill, but all I had to do was to go to the front desk in the morning and ask for it to be removed. Now, if that is all it takes, then why charge it on the front end? I did appreciate them at least telling me, I have stayed at other properties under the choice hotel chain that tack it on and never mention it one time to you.

So I would definitely stay here again, I just think that it would be better service to not charge it on the front end.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank for you for staying with us at Mainstay Suites and your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went for a quick trip over fall break with my son. Had a one bedroom suite. Very nice to have 2 t.v.'s. Kitchen set up was great to have a full fridge and breakfast bar to eat at. Internet worked wonderful. Everyone that worked here was friendly and nice. Libby at the front desk is wonderful. Even though we did not swim but had a indoor and outdoor pools ~ outdoor open in October which is different and great! Away from the Parkway so peaceful and quiet~ surrounded by a farm land. Has a creek runnign beside the property. Did not have a room with a balcony but next will!!! Cannot wait to stay for a longer period next time!!!

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySuitesPF, General Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments. We can't wait for you to return to Mainstay Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.4 mi away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
Clarion Inn Dollywood Area
#6 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
2,363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
Courtyard Marriott Pigeon Forge
#1 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pigeon Forge
0.7 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Margaritaville Island Hotel
Margaritaville Island Hotel
#7 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 410 Pine Mountain Rd, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-3766
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#9 Business Hotel in Pigeon Forge
#21 Romantic Hotel in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mainstay Suites an ALL-SUITE hotel located in Pigeon Forge. Indoor/outdoor pools, full breakfast. Located near the new LeConte Center, Dollywood, Dixie Stampede, The all new Island, WonderWorks and Titanic Museum. We also have a convention center for up tp 350 guest with meeting room space available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Hotel Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Pigeon Forge
Mainstay Suite Pigeon Forge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing