We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent on a budget”
Review of Wild Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Bear Inn
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Rodeway Inn was very unplanned. Well left home with intentions of going to Pigeon Forge a day earlier than our check in day at our cabin and finding just any ole place to lay our head. With thay in mind this place met everything that we were looking for. There were no bells and whistles, but that was good enough for what we needed. We stopped in to check out the rates and we're greeted by helpful friendly staff. Checked in to find very clean rooms, and checked out with a quiet, good night's rest.

The free voucher for the pancake breakfast was a nice compliment that is added. The food and service was average but we left feeling full and welcome. All in all you can't beat it for the price!

End result we found exactly what we were looking for at the Rodeway Inn. If you need merely a clean, safe, quiet, friendly place to lay your head on a small budget, then you should look no further than the Rodeway Inn! We would definitely return!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Scarter7490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

On behalf of the entire staff, we’d like to thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us! We all take tremendous pride in the work we put into our rooms and it warms our hearts to know all that work is not lost on our guests. We are looking forward to your return trip and will be more than happy to provide you with the same friendly service and clean rooms that you deserve. We all wish you a wonderful day and safe journeys along the way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 577 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Huge gap around the door. Water pressure was terrible and beyond annonying. You have to spend more time than wanted to simply rinse your hair. The water was backing up in the tub. There was a good 4 inches which was just gross. Bed sucked. Pillows sucked. Free breakfast is just horrible. Its pancakes at a restaurant on the property. Pancakes were gross and the coke was flat. Never again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lovetotravel300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

We’d like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is because of feedback such as yours that we are able to continuously provide superior service to all of our guests. We are so very sorry that your stay was anything less than completely enjoyable. Our staff works very hard to ensure that our rooms are clean and in excellent working order. We would like to make sure that you know all you need to do is let us know about any issues you may have with your room during your stay and we will be more than happy to address them for you in a timely manner. We hope that you will consider giving us another opportunity to show you that our guests’ complete enjoyment and overall satisfaction is of the utmost importance to all of us at the Rodeway Inn Mountain Skys. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Shortly after Christmas day we decided to make a spontaneous visit to Dollywood. Well, no dog sitter available so our little dog was included in the road trip. With 4 hours to drive we called enroute to find "dog friendly rooms" were filled up. Luckily other big-name hotels affiliated with Smokey Mounatin Resorts called Mountain Skys Lodge, Rodeway Inn and set us up with a reservation. Saved the day!
We found later that the Rodeway Inn is very close to the amusement park entrance. The room price with dog fee was very reasonable. This building is ten years older than the others in the Resorts group of hotels but is well kept. Dog rooms have artifical wood floors and queen beds, all very clean. Good enough, we were tired, cold, wet and the room was very cozy and warm.
This complex has an outdoor pool and a Pancake Restaurant tucked in between the buildings. Very country, relaxed front porch and homey interior. All the staff were polite and welcoming; our pancake breakfast was at no cost to us, included in the room reservation.
Nice job guys. We would do it again. David

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are handicap accesible but the ramps are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

On behalf of the entire staff here at the Rodeway Inn Mountain Skys, we thank you for the kind words you have shared! It gives us all such great pride to know that our hard work is being appreciated by our guests. We are especially glad that you enjoyed the newly installed laminate flooring in our pet friendly rooms! We are receiving so much positive feedback on them. We hope the next time you are visiting the Great Smoky Mountains that you will choose the Rodeway Inn Mountain Skys as your preferred lodging provider. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I knew this would be an older hotel and I was ok with that. What I didn't expect was to get zero sleep. U could see light around the entire door & hear every car on the main drag. The room had adjoining doors to the next room. During the night someone tried to enter my room from theirs also someone kept trying to use there key card in my door. Thinking it was there room. There was a large group of boys at 1.30 am screaming outside my room & jumping into the pool. And to top it all off. There was dog poop on the walkway. This was my first & last visit to this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013_SouthernGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

On behalf of the entire staff, please accept our most sincere apologies for your visit being anything less than excellent. We make every effort to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable and able to rest easily and when something occurs that disturbs them we are more than happy to address the issue(s) as quickly as possible. We were not notified of the disturbance the kids were making until the following morning, so we apologize that they disrupted the peacefulness of our other guests' evening. We sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to show you that our guests’ overall comfort and satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Two of my cousins & I made a low-budget 2-night trip to Pigeon Forge, looking online for the best deal on a nonsmoking room w/2 queen beds & free breakfast. We hit the jackpot with Rodeway. It's a well-kept older motel with open corridors & 2 floors. Nothing impressive about its appearance, but the desk clerk was friendly & our room, as requested was on the 2nd floor so that we didn't have to worry about the sound of people walking around overhead. The heating unit was quiet & efficient & the room had a small table & 2 chairs, plus a mini-fridge, room safe, & coffeemaker. The beds & pillows were surprisingly comfortable & everything was clean - my #1 priority. The TV had a good selection of channels & there was actually a channel guide in the room, something that is often lacking. A roomy sink & mirror area was in the main area & included a hair dryer. The tub/shower & toilet were in a small but adequate separate space. Noise level from the street was minimal & we heard almost nothing from the adjoining rooms, so either we had quiet neighbors or few.

The ramp that leads from the parking area to the 2nd floor rooms is long and winding and quite a walk if your room faces the street, but it's covered and no big deal if the walk doesn't bother you.

Breakfast at their onsite restaurant was a bit of a disappointment, although for free, you really can't knock it. Each guest received an order of pancakes & a beverage for free. If, however, you wanted to change that order in any way, you got $1 off whatever you ordered instead of the free meal. The pancakes were excellent; the coffee was good. But I have to say that the pancake syrup was more than a little disappointing. Again, though, at just over $35 a night, we still got a super deal, even though we opted to forgo the free breakfast the 2nd morning. My advice: get the free breakfast, but bring your own syrup. Seriously. With a less watery, more flavorful syrup, breakfast would have been a winner.

If you're after a clean quiet basic room, Rodeway Inn is a fabulous bargain. It's also in a great location, almost at the very end of the Parkway as you're headed from Pigeon Forge into Gatlinburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

It pleases us all so very much to hear the kind words you have shared! We all work so very hard to ensure that our guests’ rooms are clean, comfortable and well maintained. We will be sure to share your sentiments with the staff at the Smoky Mountain Pancake House so that they can determine if there needs to be any changes made to the syrup or not. We know that they will be pleased to know that all in all you enjoyed the breakfast because they work just as hard as we do to provide an excellent breakfast for all of their patrons. We hope to see you and your family again in the future and until then, we all wish you a safe and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is in a GREAT location! Near EVERYTHING! But - we could hear any loud vehicle that went by. Didn't bother us - but it may bother others.
We stayed in a pet-friendly room with our 2 small dogs. Room was dated and could really use an update, but it was pretty clean. It was hard to find a pet friendly hotel as part of the Dollywood package we got, so we chose this one as it had the best review among those offered with other packages.
It was clear this was a pet-friendly room - with scratches on the bathroom molding and the curtain was a bit tattered. But, the sheets were clean and we were comfortable. The heater/ac emitted an odor......slight.
Just a note for dog owners -- the grassy area where you can walk your dogs to relieve themselves requires a walk down a STEEP inclined! We are pretty fit, but still were nervous walking down the incline - especially after a rain!
The staff is VERY friendly - including the person who checked us in, and the other who checked us out.
The package we had offered free breakfast in the restaurant on-site.....we got 4 nice pancakes (GOOD!) and a beverage (OJ, coffee or soda).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

On behalf of the entire staff, we’d like to thank you for sharing your experience with us! Our number one goal is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at a reasonable price and it appears that we have done just that for you and your family! One thing we would like to inform you of; there is an area in the back of the hotel for you to walk your little ones and it is less steep and easier to navigate. Also, we are going to be doing some minor repairs and or renovations to a great majority of our rooms over the next several months and your remarks are noted and appreciated. We hope to see you again in the future so that we can get your take on the work done. Have a wonderful day and a safe and joyous New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have stayed here 2-3 Times this year. Although it's an older property, the rooms are very clean, and the customer service is excellent, Julie and Jessica in the office were both so nice and helpful.
We also like the free pancake breakfast, and even have a favourite waitress, Willda, she's the best,
I highly recommend this motel for their well priced accommodations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We sincerely thank you for the kind words you have shared! We all take great pride in providing the very best guest services possible and are tickled to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us! We will be sure to share your sentiments with Wilda and the rest of the staff at the Smoky Mountain Pancake House. Thank you so much for your recommendation and we all wish you a very Merry Christmas and a safe and Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.7 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#71 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#29 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,074 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lazy Bear Inn
Lazy Bear Inn
#78 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Arbors at Island Landing Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Hotel Pigeon Forge
Hotel Pigeon Forge
#69 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Valley Motel
Green Valley Motel
#67 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Bear Inn

Address: 4236 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4012 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range: $55 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wild Bear Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location, Adjacent to the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Wild Bear Inn (formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge, Mountain Skys Lodge) located in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, is a cozy hotel that offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of Pigeon Forge, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park, Dollywood Splash Country water park and Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies. In fact, Wild Bear Inn is the closest hotel in Pigeon Forge to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Adventurers, visitors and families find comfort within the newly renovated Wild Bear Inn at a premier mountainside location along the Great Smoky Mountains. Stop in for a one-night stay or vacation all week to enjoy the amenities, including a pool and on-site restaurant, Wild Bear Pancake House, serving breakfast daily. Choose from a variety of rooms, including a spacious three-bedroom unit all the way to a cozy and quaint studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wild Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing