We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convenient”
Review of Wild Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Bear Inn
Ranked #56 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice and convenient”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our room was very nice. We had the end room upstairs right above the office. There is a big porch with rocking chairs and a fireplace. Shortly after we got in to the room the guy from the desk called to make sure everything was to our liking. Our only problem was the wi-fi. It would sometimes work and sometimes not. Everything else--no complaints. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The two rooms above the office have a great porch with rocking chairs and a fireplace. I would def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Nice and Convenient”



We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Rodeway Inn. We strive to make our guest’s stay clean, comfortable and enjoyable.

We invite you back on your next visit to our area. I apologize you did not receive good reception with our Wifi. We have addressed this issue and it has been resolved.

Again, we would love to have you as our guest when you are in this area and we thank you for your kind words.

Diana Brown

General Manager

Rodeway Inn - Mountain Skys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    176
    81
    43
    57
See reviews for
248
157
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in 2012 during the Spring and just booked reservation for 2013 Spring stay. Loved this place had nothing to complain about. Room was very clean especially the bathroom. Other guests were so friendly we sat on balcony and talked for hours, felt like I was at home. Free breakfast cannot be beat. Staff was excellent. I know my second stay will be as good or better than the first. Thank you RodeWay Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
“Patty I. Going back for second stay”



We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourself on your last stay with us. We look forward to your next visit with us here at the Rodeway Inn this spring.

We want our guests to have a good experience when they stay with us and our satisfaction is when we hear that we have done just that. We strive to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable room on every stay. We truly appreciate you selecting Rodeway Inn as your home away from home. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit!



Diana Brown

General Manager

Rodeway Inn - Mountain Skys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashland, ky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First of all, Jake at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. We had to contact him several times, especially when all our towels fell into the toilet because the towel shelf was falling down. Well,the lady who delivered an entire bag of cream and sugar when we weren't left any for our coffee was accomodating, as well. We were very disappointed that the pancake breakfast was actually down the road, not on site at all. It was clean, but we'd have had a better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtogo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
“Not so Much”



We accommodate many guests each evening and our goal here at Rodeway Inn is to provide dependable service and we are pleased to hear that Jake did just that.

I do apologize that the pancake house on the property was not open at the time of your stay. The pancake house is operating on the winter schedule and will be open full time starting in March for the season. I do hope that you will stay with us again, as we do appreciate our guests and most importantly want you to be satisfied.



Diana Brown

General Manager

Rodeway Inn - Mountain Skys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This has been our 2nd time staying here. We rent out the apartment (3 bedrooms and 2 baths). It is an older place, but it is clean. We have enough space for the 6 adults staying there. This year when we went in, the couch was moved and there was a table for 4, that was really nice. One thing that has been an issue last time and this time is the heating and a/c unit near the attic entrance. it was the one to control for our room, but you either freeze or get too hot. it doesn't turn off like the others. Last year the air would only stay on for a short time and turn off. We did not mention this to the staff, so I dont know how well they would have worked that out. We did have an issue with hot water each night and day. We had to wait a long time for it to come out, I called front desk and they said where it hadn't been rented in a while could be causing. The staff was very polite and took care of you. We will be back next year - - Same time, same place!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, General Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
“Lovely for the price”



Thank you so much for the nice review you posted. We are thankful you chose to stay with us here at the Rodeway Inn and look forward to seeing you on your 3rd trip to our area. We are pleased to hear that your accommodations were satisfying to you. We appreciate all of our guests. Our goal is to make sure our guests receive a clean, comfortable room. We want our guests to feel like this is their home away from home. Again, we are honored that you chose to stay with us.



Diana Brown

General Manager

Rodeway Inn - Mountain Skys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

As we checked in Ethan was wonderful and ready to help.When we got into the hotel and started making sure everything was okay there was hair in the shower and on the floor before it got used.There was also hair on my towels when they seem to to be fresh.At night we had the heater on but it didn't seem to blow out enough heat to cover our small little room. when I went to sleep all I could heard was the city and the cars going by.Which is to be expected but maybe not as much as we could here it.Contential breakfast was just a stack of pancakes(3) or the option of a $1 off your total.It's not really breakfast.The pancake house that was on the hotels land was closed so we had to either walk/drive a couple blocks(bout 1/4 of mile)just to get to our contential breakfast. This was one of the reasons we chose this hotel was because we thought we would actually get a little breakfast that would fill us up without having to pay.We ended up not getting the breakfast and just headed somewhere else the second day because the service was great there either and it was just a stack of pancakes that didn't seem to taste that well.Toward the end of our trip, I called the front desk and asked them if there is any way we could get our second night back because the weather is suppose to be horrible and we were going to leave right then.They said there policy was that it has to be before 11.Wish I knew this before I rented with them.I called at 2 and by that time the weather was getting pretty bad so either we were forced to stay here so we won't lose our money or we left and lost our money.We ended up leaving and we had to basically give them a free night worth because they wouldn't give me a refund on my second night .I dont think ill ever again stay at this hotel.I would rather pay for a better hotel;one that seems like they appreciate their customers and one that has a real contential breakfast.A hotel can make or ruin your trip and unfortunately this experience ruined my friends first trip to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MixedD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback such as yours lets us know what we're doing right and how we can improve. We are disappointed to learn that your stay with us was less than 100% satisfactory and would love to speak with you personally regarding the problems you experienced. Please rest assured that the concerns you have raised about the cleanliness of your room as well as the service you received are being investigated and will be promptly addressed to prevent re-occurrence. Our top priority is providing our guests with clean and comfortable accommodations along with friendly service. We want you to know that this type of situation is not typical of Rodeway Inn and we apologize for any inconvenience. Thanks again and we hope to hear from you soon and perhaps get a second chance at serving your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

As it is stated many times, yes this is an older hotel. Could it use some updating, of course. However, it is clean, nice, great location and pet friendly. I would rather stay here and have more cash to spend on the town itself. The staff is awesome, met "Courtney" this stay and she was wonderful.
The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and you really can't beat the service. It is right at the entrance to Pigeon Forge and you can be in Gatlinburg in a few minutes. Great place to rest at the end of a busy day. If you want everything perfect and modern, then drive down the road and pay two to three times as much......your choice. I like the place and will stay here every time!

Room Tip: I like it on the second floor, you can sit on the balcony and watch the activity and enjoy some wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jb1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
The staff at Rodeway Inn is very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All departments from front desk to housekeeping to maintenance, work very hard to make sure that everyone has a pleasant visit. Courtney said to tell you thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you making Rodeway Inn – Mountain Skys your home away from home and look forward to your next visit with us!





Diana Brown

General Manager

Rodeway Inn - Mountain Skys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is an older hotel which needs updating. Joyce at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Overall, this hotel is a good value. The location is great. Things were clean. The pancakes were fresh, the coffee in the restaurant was great, and the restaurant staff was friendly. The combination of the pancake breakfast, the clean rooms, pleasant staff, and the value price will have our group returning to this location.That being said, this is an older hotel, it's not the Ritz so your expectations need to be value price expectations. We had 3 rooms for our group. The rooms all seriously need updating. The exteriors of the buildings need to be scraped and repainted. The refrigerator freezer in one room was frozen solid. Another room had a LONG wait for hot water. The wireless can be good or bad depending on your location. The hotel also had a shortage of house keeping staff which resulted in one of the 3 rooms not being cleaned at all, while another room had housekeeping hurry over to do what they could before our 4 year old took his nap. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are so glad to hear that your visit with us here at Rodeway Inn - Mountain Skys was such a pleasant one. We do strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms to our guests and like for them to feel like they are at home. Our staff takes pride in helping to provide our guests a relaxing and enjoyable visit. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
0.2 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#28 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,001 reviews
1.7 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#70 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
204 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#23 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
#39 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
972 reviews
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Pigeon Forge
0.1 mi away
Smoky Shadows
Smoky Shadows
#67 of 91 in Pigeon Forge
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Bear Inn

Property: Wild Bear Inn
Address: 4236 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4012 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 91 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wild Bear Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location, Adjacent to the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Wild Bear Inn (formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge, Mountain Skys Lodge) located in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, is a cozy hotel that offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of Pigeon Forge, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park, Dollywood Splash Country water park and Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies. In fact, Wild Bear Inn is the closest hotel in Pigeon Forge to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Adventurers, visitors and families find comfort within the newly renovated Wild Bear Inn at a premier mountainside location along the Great Smoky Mountains. Stop in for a one-night stay or vacation all week to enjoy the amenities, including a pool and on-site restaurant, Wild Bear Pancake House, serving breakfast daily. Choose from a variety of rooms, including a spacious three-bedroom unit all the way to a cozy and quaint studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wild Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing