We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people”
Review of Wild Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Bear Inn
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great people”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Best ever, Jake awesome, Charlene awesome, Michelle very nice, room clean. Jeff very nice and patience to boot, Blake what can I said he is more than a manager to these people he is just great. What they need to do at this hotel is replace these TV's and make them flat screen. My mother has one that old. I am pancake out. Met some great friends there, we took long walks and had lots of fun. My dog was loved by everyone. Only one problem a clerk needs lots lots of training, I hate it when I ask a question and the response is "I don't know" the proper answer should be "I do not know but I will find out for you" When I checked out no thank you just you will get your receipt in an email. I realize she needs to be trained, but why put her on the AM shift? I am coming back in September and will stay again for 10 days. Sorry for some negative but sometime it is necessary. See you in September.

Room Tip: Please give them a chance they are terrific folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your comments. All feedback is valuable because it lets us know what we are doing right, and how we can improve. Your suggestions will definitely be considered. Thank you so much for the comments on all of our staff. They strive to ensure that every guests stay is a comfortable and pleasant one. We'll see you again in September have a wonderful summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    180
    81
    44
    62
See reviews for
253
161
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I was there 3 nights, and very happy with this hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It was clean and comfortable. Jackie was at the desk most of time, and she is a special person. We felt like we had known her forever. She let us gather in the lobby, and do our needlework. She offered to make us popcorn, and was very cordial. I can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
The lobby at Rodeway Inn is just perfect for gathering with friends, and we're happy you found Jackie to be courteous and helpful during your stay. Thank you for letting us know that you had a wonderful stay and for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech Mountain, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spent two nights at Rodeway while visiting Dollywood. We have stayed before and will stay again. It is very convenient to Dollywood, great pancake breakfast and friendly workers. Courtney stands out in my mind. Very courteous and friendly young lady.
Cyclone Brett

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyclone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Cyclone Brett, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're glad you enjoy the location, the complimentary pancake breakfast, and the staff each time you stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hueytown, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel (last time was in 2001). It was clean then and has been kept cleaner than some newer hotels we've stayed in! This hotel really gives you an amazing deal with a low room rate AND free pancake breakfast! We arrived and was promptly checked in by Jake. It took us a few minutes to figure out where our room was since the third floor of the main building can only be accessed by the back parking lot. We used the stairs, went down the hallway and turned the corner to our room. We got settled in and Jake called to check and make sure everything was ok and it was. Bathroom was spotless! Counter with sink and coffee pot was spotless too! Usually you find hair or dirt in the corners of bathrooms but there wasn't any at this hotel! Housekeeping has an eye for detail as our room was spotless. Bed was comfortable ( not too hard or soft). Pillows could be fluffier and thicker, they are on the thin, hard side but i brought my own and was fine. Hotel is older and a little dated but it is clean and maintained very well. Hallways appeared to be freshly painted, no cobwebs and carpet in hallways swept clean. Nice new ice machine on third floor and all outside lights were on and burning when we came in after dark.

Now if I was on my honeymoon or anniversary I would stay somewhere a little more luxurious. Lots of families, people with their dogs and senior citizens were here this weekend and they all looked pleased with this hotel. This hotel is the BEST value for a quick and cheap weekend getaway with the family! We will definantly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbqgirlforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Welcome back! Thank you for sharing your experience. We're happy to learn that you found Rodeway Inn to be a great value and that you plan to return in the future. Your comments on Jake at the front desk and our housekeeping staff are greatly appreciated. Thank you so much and have a great spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Rodeway Inn was a great place to stay. It was near all of the attractions in Pigeon Forge. It was also a close drive to Glatonburg. When we had problems with our room, we called Jackie at the front desk and she was very accommodating and was able to help us solve the problems we had. Since this was our first time visiting the area, Jackie had suggested some places we can visit in the area that we wouldn't have normally visited. Rodeway Inn has very nice staff and is a good hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Welcome to the Smoky Mountains! We are happy you chose Rodeway Inn and hope you had a great time. We're sorry to learn that you experienced some minor problems upon arrival to your room, please know that these have been addressed to prevent future occurrence. Your compliments on Jackie and her helpfulness are much appreciated. Again thanks for your review and sharing your experience and we hope to see you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, TN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at the Rodeway while visitng Dollywood. It was very inexpentsive and very clean. They also give you free pancakes for breakfast the next day. They also have a very nice receptionist named Joyce. Very Friendly. We WILL stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you Phil C. for taking time to tell us about your great stay at Rodeway Inn, and your trip to Dollywood. Joyce is very helpful and friendly, and we're glad that she added to the enjoyment of your stay. Your comments are appreciated and hopefully we will be seeing you during your next vacation in Pigeon Forge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I visited for the Rod Run, and we had a perfect view. We didn't even have to leave the room! Jackie and Jake at the front desk were sooooooooo helpful! It took about 70 seconds for them to check us in.We really appreciated the free deliciouse pancake breakfast. We have stayed at different hotels throughout the years, but because of Jackie, we will be back to your hotel. I hope Jackie, and Jakes boss appreciate their GREAT attitudes, and hard work! They should be valued employees! Thank you again for making our stay so great. Jennifer Neese

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmokyMountainResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Wild Bear Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Being on the parkway, Rodeway Inn offers a perfect view for the Rod Run. We are glad you enjoyed it! Jackie and Jake are definitely valued employees, and we will make sure to pass along your kind words to them. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay, the complimentary pancake breakfast, and our staff. We hope to see you soon Ms. Neese!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pigeon Forge hotels
1.7 mi away
River Place Inn & Cabins
River Place Inn & Cabins
#70 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creekstone Inn
Creekstone Inn
#29 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smoky Shadows
Smoky Shadows
#69 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
Ramada Pigeon Forge South
#41 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,005 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
Ramada Pigeon Forge North
#24 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
1,808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Pigeon Forge-Emert ST
Super 8 Pigeon Forge-Emert ST
#32 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Bear Inn

Property: Wild Bear Inn
Address: 4236 Parkway, Pigeon Forge, TN 37863-4012 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Sevier County > Pigeon Forge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 92 Hotels in Pigeon Forge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wild Bear Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prime Location, Adjacent to the Beautiful Great Smoky Mountains Wild Bear Inn (formerly Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge, Mountain Skys Lodge) located in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, is a cozy hotel that offers guests comfortable accommodations in the heart of Pigeon Forge, all within minutes of Great Smoky Mountains National Park - the most-visited national park in the United States - as well as Dollywood theme park, Dollywood Splash Country water park and Ripley's Aquarium of the Smokies. In fact, Wild Bear Inn is the closest hotel in Pigeon Forge to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Adventurers, visitors and families find comfort within the newly renovated Wild Bear Inn at a premier mountainside location along the Great Smoky Mountains. Stop in for a one-night stay or vacation all week to enjoy the amenities, including a pool and on-site restaurant, Wild Bear Pancake House, serving breakfast daily. Choose from a variety of rooms, including a spacious three-bedroom unit all the way to a cozy and quaint studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Wild Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Pigeon Forge Hotel Pigeon Forge
Pigeon Forge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing